We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simplicity, away from the crowds”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of White Wolf Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yosemite National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White Wolf Lodge
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simplicity, away from the crowds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2008

In general not clean, not very comfortable. However the beds in the tent ware clean, good and warm - you need that in the cold nights up there! All very basic.
Be prepared to sleep in a tent and to be lost for a couple of minutes when you had been to the restroom at night.

Fun to see bear scratches in the tree beside the door of the tent.
The family style dinners were OK. Simple, tasty. Don´t forget to reserve!

We enjoyed two nights. And realy noticed the difference after the two nights in the lodge below in the valley.

  • Liked — Simplicity
  • Disliked — No luxury
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    22
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
25
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orono, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2008

White Wolf Lodge is in a lovely setting in Yosemite: lots of trees, beautiful stars, and wildlife. Among the possible wildlife: bears. So, it is mandatory that you use the bear box provided with your tent cabin (you are even required to sign a statement upon registration that you will do so). You can't leave food in your car because the bears will get it (we were told by the registration staff that two days before some visitors had a bear rip a door off a car to get at food). The box is roomy. That's not the problem. The problem is that your box will not lock. We were robbed of the contents of our bear box by the human (not bear) kind of visitor. We would stay at White Wolf again but bring our own lock and use it whether or not the Lodge staff allowed it or thought it was necessary.

  • Liked — The stars
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Orono_MaineHavingfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2008

We decided to splurge and spend a night in one of the tents at the White Wolf Lodge after spending some time backpacking and car camping around Yosemite. However I wish I would have saved my money. For $70, we got a canvas tent with a concrete floor, three metal twin beds with a flimsy mattresses and dirty blankets, a card table and folding chair with a candle and matches for light.
The nicest part of the "cabin" was a woodburning stove. However you only got one box of wood included with your night's stay and since it was snowing that day (even in June!) we woke up in the morning very cold and without wood.
The tents are gathered closely together with the restroom in the center. Despite having a large tent, there isn't much privacy and you can hear everything that happens in the tents near you. During the night our neighbor must have been having bad dreams because we heard him talking and yelling in his sleep all night.
The grounds also turn very muddy when it rains.
Their is a restuarant on site but it was very pricey and we didn't go there. We made our own food but you must be very careful as in all of Yosemite to take bear precautions. The man who checked us in told us that there had been a bear hanging around the trash bin recently and to be on the lookout.
Overall, this was a negative experience and as a previous reviewer commented, this is not a lodge and I don't know how they can call it a lodge. I would definitely recommend for Yosemite visitor to either rough it more and camp and save $50/night, or splurge a little and get a hotel room from one of the many accomodations within the park.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roamingwildly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2007

My family of four (two teenage boys) stayed in the White Wolf Lodge tent cabins. We are accustomed to camping so it was fine. The Tent had four twin size beds (alittle saggy) with decent sheets and warm bedding for when it cooled off at night. There was also a table , four chairs, cement floor, individual rugs for each bed, so when you stepped out of bed you stepped onto the rug not the cement floor. Flash lights are needed if you are arriving late ot to go to the centrally located bathroom/showers. (It is really dark! ) The electricity in the bathrooms goes off at 11pm. There was a bench in front of the tent where my son and I watched the stars in the middle of the night.
There is a pot bellied stove with clean burning fuel and directions for lighting it. Since we only stayed one night and it seemed warm enough when we went to bed we didn't bother to light it. Also provided is a water pitcher, cups, and a towel for each person.
Reservations are required for dinner in the Lodge. Served family style , I liked it very much. Price fixed dinner, they offer beer and wine too. No reservations required for lunch or the hot buffet breakfast,

  • Liked — The location, which was far from the crowded Yosemite Valley
  • Disliked — The beds were a little too saggy
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scoutmom9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2007

My husband and I recently visited Yosemite for the first time and we loved staying in the tent cabins at White Wolf Lodge. We were looking for inexpensive, semi-rustic accommodations that were outside of the hectic Yosemite Valley and the tent cabins at White Wolf were a perfect fit. The tent cabins had everything that we could ever want. They were large with 2 twin beds, 1 double bed, a table and chairs, and a wood-burning stove (it gets cold at night). There were only 36 tent cabins, so it had an intimate feel and I never had to wait in line for anything. The showers were centrally located and had electricity between the hours of 6 am and 11 pm. I appreciated that we had our own bear box located behind our tent cabin and we could pull up our car and park it directly behind the cabin also. I would recommend eating dinner at the lodge at least one night. It is gourmet, family-style, all-you-can-eat goodness. It is served in multple courses of soup/bread, salad, main course, and dessert and is amazing.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hikergirl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2007

Cute little cabins in the High country are available as well as canvas tent cabins. Our cabin had an attached bathroom and shower. The breakfast and dinner were served in an adorable old building with a big fireplace. The service was great, very friendly. Meals are served family style and the food was great. We went on a ranger talk about bears and actually saw a bear on the trail. Only problem was a major bug infestation in our cabin. If you go, bring a can of raid.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank julitita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2006

We stayed at the White Wolf tent cabins for one night in August 2006. There are approximately 25 tent cabins on site. Unlike the Valley where the tent cabins on crowded together, there is sufficient room between each tent cabin. Each cabin is equipped with the obligatory bear box and a park bench in front of the cabin. There is a small restaurant onsite. Reservations for dinner are required. There are a couple of hiking trails that begin near the campground.

I would recommend staying here but with two caveats. First, the electricity on the restrooms are run by a generator. The generator is noisy and runs from 6am – 10pm and the constant drone was rather annoying. Second, consider bringing your own dinner. The restaurant is so-so but rather pricey at flat fee of $25/per person. Otherwise, a low-key place. You would never know that you were in Yosemite!

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
10 Thank Crstrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
18.0 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
19.9 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
18.6 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
15.1 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,656 reviews
23.7 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Wolf Lodge

Property: White Wolf Lodge
Address: Highway 120, White Wolf, Yosemite National Park, CA 95379
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Wolf Lodge offers 24 canvas-tent cabins and four traditional cabins with private baths. Guests gather morning and evening in the central dining room-a rustic wooden building with a porch that's perfect for relaxing and taking in the views. To keep the wildlife wild, guests are not permitted to cook inside or outside their cabin. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Wolf Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing