We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, wonderful hiking trails nearby!”
Review of White Wolf Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yosemite National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White Wolf Lodge
Yorkville, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff, wonderful hiking trails nearby!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

First visited here over 30 years ago - loved it then and loved it now! This completely avoids the crowds and traffic of Yosemite Valley and gets you as close to nature as possible while still being comfortable and having someone else prepare good dinners.

They expect to be closed for renovations in 2015 but we will make our reservations for 2016 as soon as possible.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbgoodhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    22
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
25
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

O.K. this may not be for everyone, but for me and my family, including two boys, ages 10 and 15, this was a great stay, something a little different during our two week trip in Northern California! As accommodations are hard to come by, I was quite happy to score two days "glamping" at the White Wolf Lodge in the High Sierra's in Yosemite. Any of the hotels located outside of the park are SO far away, I would have hated to have stayed anywhere that was not located in Yosemite, after a long day of sightseeing! the roads are all windy and hotels outside are a TRECK outside the park!! Granted, The White Wolf is about 45 minutes away from the Valley but it was a nice drive and at least we were in the park. As for White Wolf itself, you need to bring a few things, which I did (I read reviews so I was prepared)...a type of lantern (we had an LED fold up one which was perfect to put in our suitcase) as the lighting in the tent was not that great. The tent did have a small lantern but it wasn't too bright. And some warmer clothes as it can be considerably cooler up in the 'high country" at night even in mid July. There isn't anything to eat or drink either other than the food they prepare at the "lodge' which is quite expensive to buy for every meal. I brought along a small cooler similar to a carry on and brought that with us, which we used for some drinks and breakfast foods, like yoghurt, butter, jam. We had stopped beforehand at a grocery store to buy the other things needed for breakfast and snacks. The only real hassle though, was that we had to put EVERYTHING and I mean everything in the bear locker which was behind our tent. Even our toiletries had to go in there as bears will smell these things if they are in your tent and possibly come for a 'visit' while you are sleeping! You can't even leave things in your car as the bears will actually pull the doors off to get in if there is any type of food in there. This was, to be honest, a hassle. My husband had forgotten his 'nose strips' in his toiletry bag and had to go out in the pitch black (we also brought flashlights which are absolutely necessary), go out to the bear box and get his toiletry bag out to get the strips! UGH! there is a whole system to get into the box too so it's not just open it and get in...there are a series of bolts, pins, etc! I brought a combination lock too as I wanted to lock our stuff in the bear box while we were out in case any human predators decided to help themselves to our stuff! Also buy extra fire starter (and a lighter) too as the camp does provide some but not enough to keep your fire in the small 'oven' going during the night. There's an iron stove in your tent for heat which is cozy but you'll have to start the fire and keep it going if it gets cold during the night (which you will). The camp provides the fire wood and newspaper. The shower house and baths are fine...they were clean and it is only shared amongst the White Wolf campers (there's a small campground nearby for people who bring their own tents, but they are not authorized to use the shower house and toilets) so there was no problem finding a shower or having a toilet available. Other than these factors, the tent was cozy! It comes with a table and 4 chairs, 4 cots with a heavy wool blanket and big comforter with clean linens. there's a book shelve to put your 'dinner wear", cups, some clothes, etc. and some hangers. they also provide towels. At night, they shut off the lights so it's quite dark so you can really see all the stars! And the kids had fun at the nearby 'fire pit' where they roasted marshmallows (we brought them and put them in the bear box!) at night. We did have the dinner one night but didn't reserve a spot at the communal table because we had just arrived and didn't know we had to reserve a spot and had to eat in our tent which was a little strange (we had to cut steak with a plastic knife!!). The cook did prepare the food at the last minute which was nice (it was actually good...a steak, baked potato and asparagus) so I can't complain too much. the kids were starving so we had no other choice that night. On subsequent nights, we stopped at the grocery store in Yosemite Valley and bought a rotisserie chicken or ate before we got to the campsite. All in all, it was an experience we will never forget! That's what vacationing is about, isn't it? We stayed in nice hotels and vacation rentals for the remainder of our trip so in the end, we had a variety of places to experience. I liked being directly in nature and the scenery and setting is something special so the White Wolf was fine for me (I don't think I'd want to do it for a long period of time but for two or three days, it was good). Plus this is away from all the crowds down in the Valley. I'd recommend it for anyone wanting something a bit different and not fancy!

Room Tip: There are only 24 tents and all of them are the same...though some have better parking spots for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachelletenace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Went there in the end of July and just stayed a night. We loved it! This is our 4 or 5th visit to Yosemite, and we've always stayed in the valley before (usually Curry Village). Staying at White wolf was a completely different experience! Its small (only 24 tent cabins), and very isolated which means that you aren't in the middle of a lot of visitors. Common facilities are the dining rooms and the showers. There's no electricity, a generator only powers the restrooms and the dining room. They turn off the generator at night, so there's no light except for you tent lantern after 11pm!

The tent cabins are great. We had a spacious one, with 4 beds (1 double, 2 single), and a wood burning stove. They give you a nights worth of firewood and kindling as well!

Would highly recommend this place - it's a great location on Tioga road, and a great experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperRestless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmdale, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

All the necessary comforts for a pleasant stay in the wilderness are provided within clean tent cabins. Rustic, and yet the camp beds and linens are warm and comfortable. There is coffee at the lodge in the morning. Meals are available for < $60/day. They have made it easy to be comfortable in spectacular nature with minimal planning, and packing. Don't miss the stars. Service is excellent because you are left to yourself unless you seek out staff.

Room Tip: All tent cabins are good. You won't be spending much time in your room other than sleeping or ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alimurmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Peaceful oasis up on the Tioga road, about 50 minutes away from the crowds of the valley. Spacious tents on cement platforms, 2 twin cots and one double cot in ours. Linens, blankets and towels are included. The tent cabin also included a folding table, 4 chairs, a bookshelf, a hanging mirror and a lantern. The wood stove is good for chilly evenings, although they supply fire starter and matches, bring fatwood and long matches to get the huge logs going!

We brought sleeping bags and food for lunch; the bear box is right behind the tent. We ate at the lodge for breakfast and dinner, breakfasts were great, dinners varied widely, one member of our group found a steel tack in her steak at one dinner. The manager was shocked too and comped her meal, but no one felt much like eating after that. Ask for the a la carte dinner, less expensive, doesn't include soup or dessert.

We used headlamps in the evening, but we had a full moon to light our way to the restroom at night!

Room Tip: Ask for a tent far from the bathrooms...the doors slam as they close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berkeleygirl q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Any trip to California should include Yosemite and it should include White Wolf lodge. It gets you away from the main crowds. It is fun and safe and friendly, and at the meal times you meet other lodgers, which heightens the experience. Some families stay for several days as it is a good centre for walking and the beautiful lakes in the upper part of the Eastern park entrance.

The food is great and the tent stoves provide real heat- when and if it is necessary. It also allows you to provide your own food and picnic provsions- subject to locking them in the bear safe overnight! The beds are very comfortbale.

Do it!

Jonathan

Perth - Western Australia

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

If you're expecting any luxury at all do not stay here. I see several reviews from unhappy people because for the price they were expecting something much less rustic. They're tent cabins, not luxurious Safari cabins. Running these camps is quite expensive and the costs are passed on. For me they're worth every penny.

White Wolf is out of the hubbub of Yosemite Valley and the much busier Tuolumne Meadows area. Being remote, there are few services and you're tied to eating in the dining room, which is not cheap. But, once again to me it's worth it. The food is universally good and occasionally excellent, and definitely plentiful.

The hum of the generator is an issue, but not for sleeping, as they turn it off an night. During the day I'm mostly off hiking anyway.

There really should be a little training about how load the wood burning stove and making it last the night. They give you just enough wood to do that, but I think many burn it up too fast and then it's cold in the morning. Usually I'm way more successful after the first night.

I'll say it again: White Wolf is rustic, if that's not your style there's always the Ahwahnee down in the valley.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott_D_Oakalnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
4.6 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,578 reviews
18.6 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
415 reviews
19.9 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
23.3 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
15.1 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Wolf Lodge

Property: White Wolf Lodge
Address: Highway 120, White Wolf, Yosemite National Park, CA 95379
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Wolf Lodge offers 24 canvas-tent cabins and four traditional cabins with private baths. Guests gather morning and evening in the central dining room-a rustic wooden building with a porch that's perfect for relaxing and taking in the views. To keep the wildlife wild, guests are not permitted to cook inside or outside their cabin. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Wolf Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing