We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Not the Ritz...National Parks Should Be Rustic”
Review of Half Dome Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Half Dome Village
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed in one of the true cabins on the property. All things considered, it roomy, with a double and twin bed, full bathroom (shower/tub) and closet. Beds were comfortable and the cabin was clean. The cabin area is less crowded than the tent-cabin spaces, so it was peaceful and quiet as well. The location is great, right in the middle of the Valley. It's an easy walk to all the Valley has to offer and you can't beat the views! Curry Village offers dining facilities (cafeteria style or pizza) and also has an on-site grocery. We were there just before Easter weekend, so the crowds weren't at full capacity, but there was always a line (and about 30 minute wait) at the pizza deck. It was worth it as the pizza was great...we did take out and took it up to Tunnel View for a sunset picnic. The cafeteria was just that...marginal food at a high price. We often did frozen food at the store and used their microwave to heat it up. Much more affordable and no waiting. Accomodations in the park are pricey, especially compared to other National Parks, but it is worth it for the convenience of being in the middle of everything. I'm giving a 4 star rating for the location, convenience, overall experience - compared to other National Park accomodations.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,818)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,239 - 2,245 of 3,818 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

Yosemite is a place you must go, more than once. There is so much to see, it is an amazing place to see. It is awe inspiring every time I go. We hike, bike around the valley, go to the shops, gallery, and museum. The drive is also great, and you can see what a fire does to the landscape, very interesting. A bucket list place to go for sure, but even better go as much as you can.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sox10str
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

i spent $38 for an evening at the Curry village tent cabin. Bed was comfortable, bathing and toilet facilities adequate-but way above any campground. A sense of community seemed present at the dining facilities and as always the scenary was sublime. a great Value-A great Experience and I would do it over again tomorrow. If you want luxury The Ahwanee Hotel is available nearby at $471 a night.

Room Tip: Its a bit dark once the sun goes down- I think a room closer to the parking area would be great so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuckeyeDDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed in a non -headed tent #659 near the trailhead parking only 12 yards away. The tent was clean with plenty of blankets to keep you warm. This tent was 32 yards from the bathroom and 57 yards from the showers. They were both clean and had no problems with the hot water. The Curry Village restaurant & store is only 160 yards from the tent. And 150 yards from the Bus terminal #20, 14. We saw multiple people with dogs even in non-pave trails. Do your homework before you book your stay at Curry Village. We brought a light bulb plug adapter and cord to recharge our cameras in our tent. We give this place a 4 star The bed felt like a white goose feather bed along with the pillow both very comfortable. We only have three complains. The showers are too small for someone over 250lbs. People are really noisy even after 10p. Another thing that was disturbing people smoking.

Room Tip: The best place to get cell phone reception is at Mirror Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Khanoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is NOT glamping. The tents aren't glamorous enough... but it is a step above regular camping because you get a proper bed with sheets, blankets and pillows provided. The location itself is just fantastic! The quiet policy was well stuck to by fellow guests on my visit- the noisiest things were the creatures outside, just as it should be!
A bear box is provided and instructions are very clear as to what you have to put in the bear box and why. You might want to bring your own lock though for the bear box as one isn't provided (I didn't bother, but had no problems).
There are plenty of facilities on site and I thought the food options were good value for money given the location. The showers- like a lot of camp sites- are best used just after they've been cleaned at night or first thing in the morning.
A lot is made of the risks of rodent droppings, advice being given to check the floor of the tent for any signs. The only problem is that the floor wasn't clean enough to spot dirt around the edges. Personally, I wouldn't have expected it to be any cleaner though- it's a tent! Blankets and sheets are provided, but the blankets aren't quite big enough to cover the double bed. If you feel the cold, you might want to bring your own.
I do think it's expensive for a tent, but you're paying for the location.

Room Tip: A heated tent if you want a bit more comfort at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kay549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

At $100+ a night, this tent w/ shared baths and showers a walk away is a bit on the pricey side. Also, the 3d party vendor (DNC) needs to up the game when it comes to food and wifi. No wifi and 2 hr waits for pizza and beer is unacceptable considering DNC is raking in over a million dollars a day for the most basic of accommodations. Cooking should be permitted considered the availability of hot food is limited. That said, the location can't be beat, and it's cheaper than any other lodge in the Yosemite Valley. It's also next door to the bike rental which is very convenient. We had an absolutely wonderful time and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick tents around the 400s. They're located near the parking and far enough away (but not too f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We liked the rustic setting, proximity to the main attractions in the Valley and the free shuttle and its relative affordability (paid $95 including breakfast and tax for a heated tent). Relative here means in comparison with other Yosemite lodgings e.g. Ahwahnee.

The tent was simple and small, but enough to put your stuff and crash for the night (surely you wouldn't want to stay in bed beyond necessary in such a beautiful place!). Apart from the beds and heater, there's a tall set of racks and a safety box inside the tent. There's little space in between these items. Clean linen and towels were provided. No door lock for the tent; we secured the room by latching an ordinary lock (a bit bigger than you would typically have for your suitcase). Outside, there's a bear-proof metal box for storing food and toiletries - they took wandering bears really seriously here. The check in process included 'bear aware' induction and form signing, and the reception area had this repeated bear video message.

However, the mattresses were rather basic and too springy. Every movement was amplified, so no one could sleep until the other one settled down. There's one coarse and rather thin blanket per bed, which you could put on top of the linen. The heater worked fine, but fluctuating outside temperature made it too cold in the wee hours (with setting tuned to the night temperature). So my partner woke up with cold feet early morning and had to adjust the temperature. It wasn't the best quality of sleep we ever had.

Another issue was the distance from the tent to the restrooms that we needed to cover in the pitch dark at night (bad luck for those with multiple toilet needs at night!). There's minimum lighting, so you better bring a torch or a smartphone with torch app. And probably grab another (willing) person if you're concerned about bumping into hungry bears in the dark!

There were plenty of toilet and shower booths that we never needed to queue to use them. The design was thoughtful - there's another curtain separating the shower booth and changing area within the personal cubicle. No hairdryer, but some people used hand dryers to dry their hair. It was reasonably clean, except for some really nasty toilet behaviour sighted once before the cleaning time (during which time it was closed for an hour and half or so at night - other restrooms further out were still made available). There's also heated swimming pool somewhere there, though we never used it.

We didn't try the pizza patio, but it looked relatively affordable for freshly prepared food. Booking breakfast in advance was a good idea, as we found out. $15 voucher was worth $30, and the breakfast items were not so cheap. We made out with 2 bacon and egg toast, 2 bananas, 1 yogurt cup, a glass of coffee and chai tea.

We made use of the wifi and fireplace warmth in the guest lounge. The lounge was crowded at night, to the point that people were competing for empty seats. I guess this is because everyone needed someplace nice to do something, with no TV and internet (and maybe heater) in the tent! It was closed at 10 pm, and afterwards the whole place fell silent because there's no other thing to do except to sleep (besides, it's already their quiet hour).

We liked the free shuttle bus also. There were 3 stops just for Curry Village, including stops at reception and tent area. Having used this facility, it was apparent that the management did a very good job running visitor services. We made an extensive use of the shuttle although we drove a car, as it's practical (linking all lodgings, amenities and main attractions in the Valley), frequent (10 - 15 minutes) and recommended (minimise traffic and emissions). But even without the shuttle, a short walk from the tent would take you to strategic spots to view the Half Dome and Yosemite Falls.

There's plenty of parking space; we were able to find one nearest to our tent. Check in process took a bit long, as there's plenty of steps to complete e.g. bear aware induction, map of the village, shuttle bus schedule, car park and breakfast voucher. Accordingly, we waited some 15 mins in queue before being attended to. There's at least free hot beverage to be had while waiting in line. The staff was friendly and attentive, so it was a good experience overall. The check out process was instant.

Conclusion is, I'd come back again if I had the opportunity - except if I struck a lottery and had top dollars to spare for Ahwahnee, that is!

Room Tip: Closest to the restrooms, so you don't need to walk in the dark too far at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HahaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
18.3 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
1.5 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,968 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,230 reviews
17.7 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
581 reviews
11.2 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Dome Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Dome Village

Address: 9010 Curry Village Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389-9907 (Formerly Curry Village)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Price Range: £124 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Half Dome Village 1*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Half Dome Village is made up of a combination of rooms types. We have Hotel Rooms, Cabins with Private Bathroom, Cabins without Private Bathroom, Heated Tents and Unheated Tents. Our operations are seasonal and include 5 Food and Beverage Outlets in the Peak Season. We are located in the Southeast portion of the Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Half Dome Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curry Village Hotel Yosemite National Park
Curry Village Yosemite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing