We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abuse of Monopoly Power”
Review of Half Dome Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Half Dome Village
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We ended up at Camp Curry because our first choices at Yosemite weren't available. What a disappointment! Seriously overpriced for the accomodation at $200 plus tax per night. It turned out that the "cabin" was actually a four-plex sharing a single concrete slab. We spent two sleepless nights thanks to walls so thin we could clearly hear what people in neighboring units were saying and doing in their bedrooms and bathrooms. Our bathroom had holes and rips in the linoleum floor, a large crack between the sink and the wall and black mold on the shower curtain. The promised wi-fi in the distant common lounge was rarely accessible, and we all frequently waited in vain to get a connection. Food in the cafeteria was poor and overpriced, and the Peet's Coffee Bar was only open from 7 to 11. The best thing you can say about Curry Village is it offers easy accessability to the shuttle bus which takes you to other valley attractions, restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: You can't choose a good room. Reserve early and try for Yosemite Lodge or the Ahwahnee Lodge, de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RuNanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,214 - 2,220 of 3,791 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed in one of the true cabins on the property. All things considered, it roomy, with a double and twin bed, full bathroom (shower/tub) and closet. Beds were comfortable and the cabin was clean. The cabin area is less crowded than the tent-cabin spaces, so it was peaceful and quiet as well. The location is great, right in the middle of the Valley. It's an easy walk to all the Valley has to offer and you can't beat the views! Curry Village offers dining facilities (cafeteria style or pizza) and also has an on-site grocery. We were there just before Easter weekend, so the crowds weren't at full capacity, but there was always a line (and about 30 minute wait) at the pizza deck. It was worth it as the pizza was great...we did take out and took it up to Tunnel View for a sunset picnic. The cafeteria was just that...marginal food at a high price. We often did frozen food at the store and used their microwave to heat it up. Much more affordable and no waiting. Accomodations in the park are pricey, especially compared to other National Parks, but it is worth it for the convenience of being in the middle of everything. I'm giving a 4 star rating for the location, convenience, overall experience - compared to other National Park accomodations.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Yosemite is a place you must go, more than once. There is so much to see, it is an amazing place to see. It is awe inspiring every time I go. We hike, bike around the valley, go to the shops, gallery, and museum. The drive is also great, and you can see what a fire does to the landscape, very interesting. A bucket list place to go for sure, but even better go as much as you can.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sox10str
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

i spent $38 for an evening at the Curry village tent cabin. Bed was comfortable, bathing and toilet facilities adequate-but way above any campground. A sense of community seemed present at the dining facilities and as always the scenary was sublime. a great Value-A great Experience and I would do it over again tomorrow. If you want luxury The Ahwanee Hotel is available nearby at $471 a night.

Room Tip: Its a bit dark once the sun goes down- I think a room closer to the parking area would be great so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuckeyeDDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed in a non -headed tent #659 near the trailhead parking only 12 yards away. The tent was clean with plenty of blankets to keep you warm. This tent was 32 yards from the bathroom and 57 yards from the showers. They were both clean and had no problems with the hot water. The Curry Village restaurant & store is only 160 yards from the tent. And 150 yards from the Bus terminal #20, 14. We saw multiple people with dogs even in non-pave trails. Do your homework before you book your stay at Curry Village. We brought a light bulb plug adapter and cord to recharge our cameras in our tent. We give this place a 4 star The bed felt like a white goose feather bed along with the pillow both very comfortable. We only have three complains. The showers are too small for someone over 250lbs. People are really noisy even after 10p. Another thing that was disturbing people smoking.

Room Tip: The best place to get cell phone reception is at Mirror Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Khanoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is NOT glamping. The tents aren't glamorous enough... but it is a step above regular camping because you get a proper bed with sheets, blankets and pillows provided. The location itself is just fantastic! The quiet policy was well stuck to by fellow guests on my visit- the noisiest things were the creatures outside, just as it should be!
A bear box is provided and instructions are very clear as to what you have to put in the bear box and why. You might want to bring your own lock though for the bear box as one isn't provided (I didn't bother, but had no problems).
There are plenty of facilities on site and I thought the food options were good value for money given the location. The showers- like a lot of camp sites- are best used just after they've been cleaned at night or first thing in the morning.
A lot is made of the risks of rodent droppings, advice being given to check the floor of the tent for any signs. The only problem is that the floor wasn't clean enough to spot dirt around the edges. Personally, I wouldn't have expected it to be any cleaner though- it's a tent! Blankets and sheets are provided, but the blankets aren't quite big enough to cover the double bed. If you feel the cold, you might want to bring your own.
I do think it's expensive for a tent, but you're paying for the location.

Room Tip: A heated tent if you want a bit more comfort at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kay549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

At $100+ a night, this tent w/ shared baths and showers a walk away is a bit on the pricey side. Also, the 3d party vendor (DNC) needs to up the game when it comes to food and wifi. No wifi and 2 hr waits for pizza and beer is unacceptable considering DNC is raking in over a million dollars a day for the most basic of accommodations. Cooking should be permitted considered the availability of hot food is limited. That said, the location can't be beat, and it's cheaper than any other lodge in the Yosemite Valley. It's also next door to the bike rental which is very convenient. We had an absolutely wonderful time and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick tents around the 400s. They're located near the parking and far enough away (but not too f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.5 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,896 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,654 reviews
18.3 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,184 reviews
17.7 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
526 reviews
18.3 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Dome Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Dome Village

Address: 9010 Curry Village Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389-9907 (Formerly Curry Village)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Price Range: £47 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Half Dome Village 1*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Half Dome Village is made up of a combination of rooms types. We have Hotel Rooms, Cabins with Private Bathroom, Cabins without Private Bathroom, Heated Tents and Unheated Tents. Our operations are seasonal and include 5 Food and Beverage Outlets in the Peak Season. We are located in the Southeast portion of the Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Half Dome Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curry Village Hotel Yosemite National Park
Curry Village Yosemite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing