We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great village and surroundings.”
Review of Half Dome Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Half Dome Village
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in July 2014 in a standard canvas tent.
The tent itself is ok but very pricey for what they are.
Saw plenty of wildlife in curry village which was nice.
Drinks and food very expensive too for what they are but the surroundings make paying the premium worth it.
Wouldn't recommend going in July though, weather too hot to enjoy the bikes and hikes and no water in the major falls.
Would still recommend to friends and family alike though.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MarkScorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,763)
There are newer reviews for Half Dome Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,893 - 1,899 of 3,763 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We were on a national park road trip. Had been to Zion, Yellowstone & Glacier National Parks who were managed by Xanterra. This park was managed by Delaware resorts (?) and it was terrible in comparison. Yosemite itself is amazing and we are so glad we saw it. But the room check in, the room itself, all the meals , and especially the shuttle bus system were all bad. So many people around us were so confused about the shuttles. We were waiting on a shuttle and 2 passed us by ...and they had empty seats on them!!! It was bad! Anyway if they were to get Xanterra in there i think it would be better.... it couldnt get much worse.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cheri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I've had the fortunate experience of being able to travel in all 50 states and 19 countries. I have seen many things. Nothing, in my opinion, compares to Yosemite, California. And it's hard to top the rustic, simple feel of Curry Village. We love it every time, whether in a tent or cabin.

Room Tip: There's no bad place to stay in Curry Village if you're interested in an outdoor-type stay.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here 2 nights with 20 yr old daughter in cozy room with 2 double beds. Wish we had known about this lodging when our 3 kids were toddlers as our 2 room cabin had an adjoining door between the rooms so could be unlocked to accommodate larger families. Beds are comfortable and adequate. It's not the 4 Seasons but you already know that.. It's like camping with a few modern conveniences like a bed, door, and it's own bathroom. Walls are thin and no A/C (which usually you don't need in CA). A table fan and extension cord might be a good idea to bring if you sleep hot and it's 90s during the day. One can hear a few stray partiers off in the distance from the neighboring tent cabins well into the wee hours of the early morning but to be expected- it's camping after all. Location beneath tall pine and fir trees is idealistic. Expensive for what you actually get but you are paying for the location. Within walking distance to everything- restaurant, hiking spots, hybrid shuttle busses and the bike rental place. We are Californians and this was our first overnight trip to the valley. We would stay here again but book several months in advance especially in summer. Yosemite is truly as beautiful as everyone says.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pickytraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and it is easily the best place we gave ever been. We're not campers, so getting back to basics was new for us. The tent was fine for what we needed with toilets and showers a couple of minutes away. You wake up in the middle of the valley with plenty of walks etc to fill your day with. This place really is about location and beautiful scenery. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahcracker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Ready to do it again. Stayed in one of their cabins. Clean, quiet, electrical outlet, close to the bath area. Never had to wait to use any of the bath facilities. Liquid soap and shampoo was provided in the showers.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Definitely not a quiet and secluded experience of Yosemite during the summer months, but despite the crowd, it was actually a very nice place to stay. We were in a cabin with five people, and the accommodation was very comfortable, with excellent bathroom and shower facilities very close by. Many food options are available on site, which were rather expensive, but good quality. Convenience to all the attractions of Yosemite Valley and Glacier Point, along with good WiFi access in the lounge, make it a great option when visiting this area of the park. Staff were all very friendly and helpful as well. We stayed one night here and one night at White Wolf, which was great to get the more peaceful camping experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovinglifeinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.5 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,857 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,621 reviews
16.3 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
17.7 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
497 reviews
18.3 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Dome Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Dome Village

Address: 9010 Curry Village Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389-9907 (Formerly Curry Village)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Price Range: £47 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Half Dome Village 1*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Half Dome Village is made up of a combination of rooms types. We have Hotel Rooms, Cabins with Private Bathroom, Cabins without Private Bathroom, Heated Tents and Unheated Tents. Our operations are seasonal and include 5 Food and Beverage Outlets in the Peak Season. We are located in the Southeast portion of the Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Half Dome Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curry Village Hotel Yosemite National Park
Curry Village Yosemite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing