We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Camp 4
Nearby Hotels
US$121
Evergreen Lodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rush Creek Lodge(Groveland)
US$441
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lake View Lodge(Lee Vining)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$249
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Big Trees Lodge(Yosemite National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Yosemite Valley Lodge(Yosemite National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel(Yosemite National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
14
12
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
12
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspark rangerfirst served basisupper yosemite fallsfire ringgeneral storeeasy accessgeartoiletssiteslockerswifiparksvillagelodgehikinghalf
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Camp 4 requires no reservations and it's located in Yosemite Valley, really good value.

Camp 4 offers a camp site with food storages and a picnic table. The toilets have fresh running water but no showers, they are located elsewhere in the valley.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris_eno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Purely amazing! It's amazing you can camp right in yosemite valley for so cheap. You just have to make sure you can get there in the morning early enough to wait in line to get a campsite. I got there around 7:30 and was one of the last ones in line. They pass out cards 1-75 each person who wants to camp needs to be inline! No place holders! And as long as you get a # you get a spot. I wasn't checked in until about 10:30...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank clayton c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We used Camp 4, 16 years ago and used it again July 2013. We love Camp 4 because it requires no reservations and it's located in Yosemite Valley. Camp 4 offers a camp site with food storages and a picnic table. It has restrooms with running water and sinks to clean up, in addition it has an area where one can fill up water for cooking or drinking. Showers are located across the street at Yosemite Lodge for $5 or use Housekeeping (located in Curry Village) for free. It's $5 per person per night to stay at Camp 4 and everyone seems to be friendly.

**Strongly recommend to arrive way before 5 A.M. to secure a camp site. We arrived at 4:15 A.M. and there were already 5 people infront of us. By 7:30 A.M. there were about 25 people behind us. Though Winter time I doubt it's busy but it's better safe than sorry**

I saw campers of all ages, families with children and it's safe. The Park Ranger Lori was informative and provided us with a map of Yosemite Village and suggested we use the free shuttle bus to get around to prevent us from being stuff in traffic. The only time we used our cars we to drive to Housekeeping for showers. Twice we walked across the street to have drinks at the bar located at the hotel. Overall it was and still is a perfect place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank EL_GQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I like camping in cold weather and was at Camp Four this past Christmas. A snow storm blew through as soon as we set up camp but we only got about 3-4 inches in the following 18 hours. This was my first experience at Camp Four, but I discovered it is a great place to winter camp.

Pros:
- The bathroom was semi-heated
- The sink water was luke warm (rather than frigid cold like most other taps)
- Camp Four gets much more sun than Upper Pines (the other open campground on the Valley floor) and so is warmer during the day
- No reservations (perhaps a con in the summer)... and not needed in winter...only 4 other tents around!
- Just a few minutes walk to Yosemite Lodge for supplies or hot meal if you need
- Cheaper than Upper Pines if fewer than 4 people

Cons:
- You have to park in a parking lot and walk in (distance depends on which site you choose)
- No individual sites - you'd have to share grill and space when it gets crowded

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank BAHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Note: this is now called Camp 4 campground

Located right in the valley, a 5 minute walk to Yosemite Lodge, 15 minutes to Lower Yosemite Falls, across the street from a shuttle stop and at the beginning of trail to Upper Yosemite Falls. Predominantly serves as a staging point for serious hikers and rock climbers, it is a walk in campground with space for 210 people (35 campsites, each campsite is for 6 people, expect to share a campsite with others!)

My wife and I camped here for 4 nights with our two young daughters, our primary goal was securing a space without a reservation that allowed us to easily access the valley. Camp 4 was perfect. If you are camping during the tourist season, make sure you are in line before 7 am and expecte to wait for at least 2 hours to get your spce. If traveling with a large group and you want to all be located next to each other, make sure you get there even earlier and get one of the first spots available.

The campground itself is fine, running water, flush toilets, fire pits. Because the campground is predominantly used by hikers and climbers, most people staying at the campground are either solo or two people. We stayed for 4 nights, over the course of the 4 nights we shared for two nights each with two different groups of two. Only drawback is that cars must be parked in the general lot for the campground, so all equipment and baggage must be carriers to the site, which deeding on the site can be a bit of a walk. Major pluses are that it is located in the middle of the valley, reservations are not required (not even accepted), and it is tent only camping! Will definitely use again in th future.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Xiotzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews