We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch here!”

Wawona Hotel Dining Room
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We stopped here for lunch enroute to Yosemite. We had a salad and pasta. Very good. A historical place for sure. Check out the dining room ceiling shades. Maybe they were hand painted? Beautiful. And the scenery looking out of the dining room windows was priceless. We had a brief lecture/info session on the property, etc. Big Trees is a commercial name and not the original name.

1  Thank solotraveler42302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 137 of 834 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Most folks visit the Valley Floor and don’t make the hour drive to Wawona. There is good hiking down in Wawona , it’s not for that that I wrote this review . It’s for the porch sitting, dining room and night time piano playing with tales of Old Yosemite that I write this review. The closest thing to this throw back to the late 19th century is sitting in Adirondack chairs having a pop over on the lawn at Arcadia National
Park in Maine. While the dining room has modernized in the past ten years and no longer sports white linen table clothes , the pot roast remains as good and the veranda is still
The best place in the Park to enjoy a cocktail
before dinner. It’s a drive but after days of hiking , it’s sheer pleasure.

Date of visit: October 2017
3  Thank dpanagore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

It was fun to have dinner in the dining room of this old historic hotel. The food and service were another matter. Let's start with the food. It was generally terrible. The signature pot roast is horrific. Our fish dish had rice on the side that was hard as a rock. Service was generally terrible. We had to ask several times for water and wine that we had ordered. About the only good thing about the dinner was the quality of the bread and butter. We had breakfast as well and that was bad too. Best item was the french toast. The omelet was bad and so was the coffee.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank jwobkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Historic and rustic hotel. Not as fancy as the Majestic but nevertheless nice. Food was good. Service felt rushed. I recommend you tour the hotel and stop by the visitors center next door.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank DanMontero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

We drove past Big Trees on our way to Yosemite West and we were immediately intrigued by its vintage charm. We decided to have an early dinner there on a Friday night and avoid the crowds. The old fashioned ambiance was as we expected. Our waitress, Jill, who had worked in Yosemite for most of her career, was attentive, knowledgeable and a good story teller. We would have liked to talk with her longer but the restaurant became quite full while we were there. Menu offered a wide range of options and everyone in our group of 5 was satisfied. Good range of cocktails to choose from as well.

4  Thank ngospo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wawona Hotel Dining Room also viewed

 
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to Wawona Hotel Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.