We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miss the old Jeffrey pine at the summit”
Review of Sentinel Dome

Sentinel Dome
Book In Advance
More Info
US$219.00*
and up
Natural Wonders of Yosemite Tour from San Francisco
More Info
US$419.00*
and up
2-Day Yosemite National Park Tour from San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At 4,150 feet high, this peak offers an extensive view.
Thoiry, France
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Miss the old Jeffrey pine at the summit”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

It remains a nice viewpoint and an easy hike (although parking can be hard in season) on a typical granite dome in Yosemite. I have been there on many occasions but not in the last 25 years so I was sad to find that the beautiful old twisted Jeffrey pine at the summit had died and fell down (or somebody killed it). Too bad since it added a lot to the uniqueness of that summit. Still worth the effort to get there as there were plenty of flowers and animals along the trail and even living on the dome.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AKHCERN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    532
    75
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dont miss this trail when in Yosemite”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We did the Sentinel Dome hike and it was very enjoyable and very doable for average people. i am middle aged and don't consider myself very fit. i did not reach all the way to the top of the dome but i truly believe i could and should've, it's not too difficult but i was a little worried about coming down after reaching the top. i reached half of the dome and decided to come down. The trail has a slow incline about 300 feet and at the end of the trail you reach the dome, it's all rocks and a little steep to climb all the way up. my husband and daughter reached the top very quickly and they loved the view. go there early, we started around 8 am so there weren't too many people there yet. that's the best time to go, you will love the view and enjoy the serenity!
This is our favorite trail in Yosemite.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jyc823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This view is amazing! So much variety around it! We just pulled our lunch out and enjoyed our view! I would love to come back again!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AzDesertGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Best of the best.”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Hike a mile or so on a moderate trail, not extremely strenuous, then climb the last few feet upwards on the top of this granite rock, (very strenuous) and you will be rewarded with what I think is the best spot in the park. It's the second tallest locale (over 7,000 feet) and you get an amazing panoramic view. It's also the place where Ansel Adams took is iconic photo of the pine tree that you see regularly. Alas, the tree is gone (died during a drought a few years ago) but we pretended. Take water, wear sunscreen, do not wear flip flops, sandles, or shoes with shippery soles. This area is rather isolated-it's on the road to Glacier Point, which is where everybody rightly wants to go, but it is truly an wondrous location (God on one of His best days), . Hike from Sentinal Dome to Glacier Point is about 1.5 miles, but it's downhill.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Colbert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Family Hike”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hike to Sentinel Dome was moderate until we got to the dome. I can't say there was much to look at on the way up there. The climb up the dome was quite steep. My family made it to the top and said you could see everything. It was a little scary watching others climb down, and the granite got a bit slippery in the rain.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KLP211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sentinel Dome also viewed

Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to Sentinel Dome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing