We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for viewing and hiking and fresh air....”
Review of Sentinel Dome

Sentinel Dome
Book In Advance
More Info
US$219.00*
and up
Natural Wonders of Yosemite Tour from San Francisco
More Info
US$419.00*
and up
2-Day Yosemite National Park Tour from San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At 4,150 feet high, this peak offers an extensive view.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great spot for viewing and hiking and fresh air....”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hike is apart from the Yosemite valley and is perhaps the easiest way to see a large overview of the rock wonders of the popular and crowded valley in a somewhat quieter way. Truly amazing views and breezes if you want to get out and enjoy vistas from the high side.
I must say I am surprised at how so many people repeat how easy the hike is. Although my wife and I are middle-aged, we are in shape and experienced hikers. We found this hike is definitely more work than just a quick jump out of the car. Part of this trail is steep and in hot sun... and when we were on it... we saw quite few elderly and overweight types who were taking breaks and not sure they could make it. I am not saying it's VERY difficult or that you shouldn't go... just be aware that it will require some time and good shoes. Sunscreen and water are also recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lance K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    534
    75
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin TX
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“I did it.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I do have a silly fear of heights, but I did conquer it on this hike. Very do-able and the view from on top is nuts. So worth it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kayakutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing almost 360 view! ”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Don't miss this on your visit to yosemite. A short hike of easier nature gets you there. A good one to see in conjunction with Taft point which is also wonderful.

Helpful?
1 Thank wausau2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
473 reviews
259 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Small Effort, Big Reward”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Sentinel Dome is probably the easiest dome hike in Yosemite. A short hike from the main trail head, a little further from Glacier Point. The views up here extend beautifully in 360 degrees. The glacial geology of the dome is also interesting.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSpeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great views, and you don't have to be "conditioned".”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I'm not conditioned, don't hike much, but am fairly active so this hike was a nice one. Not used to the altitudes so I had to stop a few times when I was pushing upward and starting to suck wind. Plenty of places to stop and rest for that, easy to find shade. The view from the top of the dome was definitely worth it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank InTheHollow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sentinel Dome also viewed

Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to Sentinel Dome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing