We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifully appointed cottage in idyllic settings”
other travellers have booked this property
Ranch Entrance to Cottage seen from Ranch Headquarters
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ranch Entrance to Cottage seen from Ranch Headquarters
RoundHat Ranch Entrance to Cottage Ranch Setting w/ Parking to left
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
Ranch Entrance to Cottage seen from Ranch Headquarters
RoundHat Ranch Entrance to Cottage
Ranch Setting w/ Parking to left
Cottage at Night
Cottage Arbor Patio w/ Outdoor Shower
Cottage Arbors
Ranch Views
Ranch Stallion 'Bear'
Ranch Fall
Mini Donkeys w/ Gayle
'Wisteria Lane'  @ Cottage
Cottage
Finura saying Hi
Ranch Fall
Front of Cottage
Cottage Yard
Yosemite Valley 47 scenic miles from ranch
Cottage Setting in Summer
Covered Patio off Bedroom w/ Arbor, Swing, & Fountain
Cottage Porch Summer Morning
Sign @ Old Hwy & RoundHat ranch road- turn down ranch road to RoundHat Entrance .4 milee
Entrance to Ranch Road off Old Highway
Road to RoundHat Ranch
Ranch Cottage Rd. inside Ranch - Sign at Left
Front Gate to Cottage
View of Ranch Entrance
Big Oak Swings and Views
There are 2 miles of walking trails about the ranch
Ranch Walking Trail
Ranch Walking Trail
View toward RoundHat Ranch
Ranch views
Ranch Views
Ranch Sunset
Abby and Panda say Hi
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Yosemite National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Anne1087
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautifully appointed cottage in idyllic settings”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband organized a trip for us to Roundhat Ranch and Yosemite National Park as a gift, and this place absolutely did not disappoint!

The property is absolutely stunning: the cottage is nestled in green hills covered with wildflowers, with 25+ horses and donkeys a short walk away. While the ranch doesn't offer horseback riding for guests we were welcome to pet and interact with the animals. We were particularly fond of the donkeys, which loved being scratched behind the ears and followed us along the fenceline like puppies! The owners encouraged us to walk the property and we loved strolling around the ranch, listening to the wild birds sing and watching wild turkeys strutting between the rocks and trees.

The cottage itself is even nicer than we imagined. It's squeaky clean and manages to feel rustic and homey while also offering up-to-date amenities. There's a TV and free WiFi as well as a washer/dryer, kitchenette, living room, bedroom, and bathroom (with an awesome rain shower head). There are also two outdoor patios with outdoor seating, a super comfy porch swing, and a very nice propane grill.

If you're staying here to also visit Yosemite (as we were) be aware that you will be doing some driving. It took us about an hour and a half door-to-door to get to the Yosemite Valley Visitor's Center (as a reference point). However, the drive is so scenic we really didn't mind. The drive also took us through the nearby small town of Mariposa, where we went out for dinner one night and also picked up some groceries so we could make a few meals at the cottage.

The owners of the cottage were very friendly and accommodating, and they offered us great tips on how to get around Yosemite and what to do in the area. They were even kind about us accidentally overstaying our visit by several hours past the 11:00am checkout time - oops! We greatly appreciated their hospitality and we can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!!!
Liked least: Nothing!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mohammad...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Un Forgettable vacation.”
Reviewed 19 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Spent two wonderful nights with my girlfriend. The cottage was really amazing, very clean, neat and private. Stephen was very helpful and he is such a lovely guy who helped us by expaining everg single detail of the cottage besides the most important touristic places in the area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bozion
Atascadero, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything was great”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed 2 nights and everything was better than expected. Everyone was friendly , including the horses. Would stay there again if looking to go back to yosemite

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miorsy
Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful place in the countryside-4.5/5”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We just stayed here a couple of weeks ago and as soon as we drove in my wife and I knew we had found the right place. We wanted a place to stay near Yosemite without paying the crazy Yosemite prices,plus my wife loves horses! The accommodations are superb, there is a bedroom and kitchen living room, and a bathroom. There is tons of space for a couple in there. Outside there is a bbq, running fountain, and plenty of outdoor furniture. There is even a outside shower.

The hosts are amazing as well, they provided us with lots and lots of information on the area. The only thing keeping it from five out of five was that it is a bit furthermof a drive from the park then we expected. After a 12 mile hike the drive seems a bit longer although it is beautiful. Highly recommend this to anyone and will eventually return here one day!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arzelya A
1 review
“The best place for spending the honeymoon,10 from 10”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We are a new married couple and we spent unforgettable days in this range. The owners Stephen and his wife are very kind and nice people.The house is so pretty it has everything necessary and even more:barbecue , little fountain, beatiful swing and amazing terrace.It is one hour ride from yosemite but it well worth visiting. The owners have a lot of horses all over the range they are gorgeous. The house of the owners is really close so what ever we needed they were there for us. Will definitely come back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica M
1 review
“UNBELIEVABLE”
Reviewed 6 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Amazing, incredible, fabulous retreat where you can hear the hummingbird's wings! The hosts are fantastic people who understand how to facilitate the most restorative R&R. Great cottage with every imaginable amenity. Romantic, comfortable and a bargain for the price. The drive is about 45 minutes to an hour into Yosemite but we enjoyed being outside of the tourist chaos. Stay for at least 3 days!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being on a working horse ranch. Abundance of birds.
Liked least: Lighting on the outside porch
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing