We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for some, not for others”
Review of Wawona Campground

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wawona Campground
utah
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good for some, not for others”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed at #34 Wawona last week for a couple of nights because we couldn't get a site in Yosemite Valley. The good: beautiful, quite, it was on the river and there was a lot of space between the sites across from it and next to it (felt more private than the valley campgrounds). The bad: this site was not flat, a little small -- good for only one medium sized tent, and he bathroom by this site was really old with no shelf to put your things on while using the sink, and no hooks anywhere to hang things on. Also, there was no dish washing station. The staff here were very nice. The camp was beautiful, however, for us, the distance was just too far from the valley and we went to Yosemite to climb. Ok, here's the worst part for me: the drive was one of the most winding roads I've ever experienced. It reminded me of the road to Hana in places. Because I tend to get car sick on windy roads, this was really a drawback for me and I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
4 Thank headin4tsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    40
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
27
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Came here to camp end of May 2012, group camping looks like it would be a great place. The weather was absolutely perfect. Dogs are allowed, we brought our Sharpei dog and she had an amazing time by the creek. The place was quiet during the day & night time, every camper was respectful of each other & the rangers were friendly and helpful.

About a mile away (not recommended for walking) there is a general store (to buy wood, etc), gas station (Chevron) also the Wawona Hotel. Several hikes are also conveniently located there, drive & park your car by the info station. The tour bus is free, also near the general store and takes you all over Yosemite.

Helpful?
10 Thank wanderlust1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We spent last week camped at Wawona Campground in Yosemite National Park - we arrived around lunch time Thursday September 13 and left on Monday morning September 17.

We were in site 32 in loop B and I really liked the site. Every site has a bear locker, picnic table and a fire ring. Most of the sites in loop B looked pretty good, some were a bit more sloped than others. Our site was slightly sloped but not enough to cause a problem. The site was just one site over from the bathrooms - close enough to be convenient but not too close - although people walking past talking at 6 am might bother some.

Personally i think loop B site 34 looks like one of the best in the campground (but it wasnt available).

We booked back in May 2012 for three nights then added another night in July. The cost was $20 per night.

Pros:
Good amenities (but no showers)
Clean bathrooms
Beautiful site in the trees
Across from the river
Lots of cheeky squirrels (dont feed them)
You feel a bit away from all the tourist craziness of the valley
Easy access (1 mile) to Wawona Store if you forget anything
Park Rangers were nice
No cell phone reception

Cons:
The campground sits in a valley, on a bit of a slope, right next to the road, so you do hear road noise. The tree canopy seems to reflect sound, so if you are unfortunate (as we were for two nights) to have noisy neighbours, the sound will be amplified. Some sites are very sloped.
I would NOT recommend Loop A at all and I would definitely select Loop B over Loop C for tent campers as loop C allows RVs so there is more noise, and the space is more open with less trees. Although that being said sites 1-4 in Loop C looked pretty cool.

Remember to follow the rules - always, always lock your food and toiletries in the bear locker (we saw a bear near the campground), don't feed the squirrels, put out your campfire and never leave it unattended (the fine is $380 if the Ranger catches you - and I think this even includes being in your tent when the fire is burning), only dump your dishwater in the troughs provided. Park Rangers always come through at about 8:30 am (that we noticed) checking on everyone.

The distance from Yosemite Valley wasn't bad. I think it took us about 35 minutes to get to Tunnel View. It was less than 15 minutes to Mariposa Grove. We also did a day trip to Tuolumne Meadows and didnt feel it was too far.

Room Tip: Loop B, site 34 is my favourite, followed by any other site in Loop B, then sites 1-4 in Loop C. Bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank Azzrielish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Only stayed one night but could have spent much more. Lovely campground by the river. Boys had great fun swimming and playing in the water which was still very cold even at the end of summer. Nice spaces though with typical end of summer dustiness. Enjoyed the bats at dusk - one even crashed into one of the boys. Close to Mariposa Grove and Wawona village.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boyertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

If you want to be close to the Valley and many popular hikes, Wawona might not be for you. However, if you want a quiet place to camp, then this is the place to go! The campsites are spaced out enough so that you’re not right up against your neighbor, and there are bathrooms & drinking water spouts throughout the loop. The bear lockers are a nice size so everything (food, toiletries, etc.) fit with no problem. You are also able to collect dead/downed wood to use for firewood instead of having to purchase it; our side was right by a creek, and across the creek was a lot of wood that we were able to use.There are also Ranger programs available and small hikes nearby throughout Mariposa Grove. We didn’t do any nearby hikes, since we had longer hikes we wanted to do in the Valley. We did go to a ranger talk in the morning and got some free coffee & hot chocolate!
The drive to the Valley is about an hour, with parking at many trailheads; you can then take the free shuttle (we didn’t do this) around the Valley so you don’t have to worry about parking. We tried to stop in at Curry Village to shower, but couldn’t find a parking space and the traffic was awful so the shuttle might have been a smart idea!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank dubst3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We were lucky enough to get a large shaded spot right next to the river. It was a very warm week sober were in the river every day and found some really nice swimming holes. of course going in August when the Merced is gentle makes this possible so be careful before jumping in earlier in the season!

The Rangers were attentive and friendly. My daughter and I enjoyed the coffee/hot chocolate morning chat.

The first thing that happened however was pretty traunatic and not uncommon for the region so be careful... As we were unpacking we happened to be standing upon a Yellow Jacket (also known as Meat Bee) nest at the base of a small tree. My son and nephew were bitten numerous times. Luckily they both rebounded quickly and the Rangers came and sprayed withing hours. It's an issue at a few sites so keep your eyes open before you settle in!

Some folks have complained about the facilities but my take is you know it going in... No showers... Bathrooms are serviceable and were cleaned daily... But it really is a beautiful campground and ha less of a manic and crowded feel than the Valley sites.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Offertano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Before coming here, we stayed 2 nights at Tuolumne Meadows. It was much warmer here than there. The bathrooms at Wawona were also nicer & cleaner than at Tuolumne Meadows. The downside is that you’re not allowed to allow anything (like soap or toothpaste) to soak into the ground/groundwater, so not knowing that ahead of time, we didn’t plan for the fact that we couldn’t use our portable shower, and we got back too late from hiking to rinse off in the river. No big deal. If we were to stay longer, we’d bring a bucket to stand in to use in our shower b/c you are allowed to rinse your dishes and dump things down a large sink that's provided next to the bathrooms.

Make sure to get on the park website and log in before it's time to book, and be ready to take whatever site you can get. We were lucky to get our site (which was pretty flat), b/c they sold out in 5 minutes (for a Monday night). We talked to some people who had to move sites each night because they couldn't get consecutive nights at the same one.

We didn't see any bears. The rangers had a nice program in the evening that told about the history of the area (natives, how they lived, etc.), which we enjoyed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jenksoccer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
12.1 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
21.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
5.7 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
10.0 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,725 reviews
6.9 mi away
Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals
Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacati...
#4 of 24 in Yosemite National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wawona Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wawona Campground

Property: Wawona Campground
Address: Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Wawona Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wawona Campground Hotel Wawona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing