We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Cheap,but worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cable Mountain Lodge
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Certificate of Excellence
crewe
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not Cheap,but worth the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

My wife and I stayed for 1 night in a Parkside Luxury suite on the 2nd floor.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable with a huge king bed (width and height, it must be three feet off the floor!!) full kitchen, large LCD TV in both the main room and bedroom also good free WiFi in room.
The room had a wrap round balcony with small bench looking out over the Virgin river to the mountains beyond (wonderful at night to sit outside with a beer watching the sun go down and the camp fires being lit on the other side of the river,BLISS!!).
As other reviewers have said it is a little dark inside and the furniture has a distressed look which doesn’t really match the modern look, but these are minor points.
The staff are very friendly and helpful (they have most of the menus for the restaurants in Springdale) they even left some chocolates and a nice card in our room for our anniversary.
The lodge is perfectly placed for Zion/Springdale with the visitors centre and buses into the park and into Springdale just a short walk over the Virgin River Bridge.
There is a small supermarket and deli next to the lodge and also the wide screen cinema, for which you get complimentary tickets.

Other general points to note are if you do stay here book a Parkside view and ask for a 2nd floor room (nice balcony) as some rooms on the other side face a large (and I do mean large) mound of earth thrown up when they built the lodge.
If you arrive early go to reception and ask for a parking pass so you can park up and go off into the park (reception is in one of the rooms on the ground floor facing the river).
Pool accessed with room key,plenty of clean towels by pool.
Also if you take a picnic into Zion, and I am not joking about this, watch out for Squirrels they can be very aggressive when food is on offer and are not afraid of humans.

Room Tip: Parkside room,2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parsley1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    200
    33
    7
    2
See reviews for
415
513
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

I had read the reviews on Cable Mountain Lodge but was even more delighted when I stayed there. At night, with the windows by the bed open, I fell asleep listening to the wind in the cottonwood trees and the gurgling of the Virgin River. When I awakened in the morning, I looked out of my window (our room was facing the river, on the second floor) to see the towering canyon walls. The chirping of birds heralded the morning. We made breakfast each day in the kitchen, which I recommend. The hotel does not serve breakfast, and EVERYTHING in Springdale is expensive. I suggest getting a styrofoam cooler as soon as you leave the airport and stock up on milk, orange juice, cereal, and lunch items. There are several grocery stores in Springdale, but the price increase on most items is from 25-40%. You have to go miles off the main road to get to Springdale, and the town is at the entrance to the park, i.e., captive audience. We actually stopped at a Kmart in Provo on the drive south and got supplies. Springdale itself is interesting, and there is a free shuttle bus throughout the town. You can park your car at the hotel and leave it there! A few hundred yards gets you to Zion National Park, and the town shuttle is right around the corner. Also, when you stay at the hotel, you receive a free movie pass to a movie on Zion. When we were there, they were playing Rio, a children's movie, and I believe they have discount tickets for that as well. The amenities at the hotel are great, and I loved the soft water in the shower....plus the fantastic water pressure. We didn't use the pool, but plenty of people did. The outdoor jacuzzi was particularly popular. Imagine sitting there at sunset with the gorgeous canyon walls in front of you! We used our balcony for that. The hotel has a barbecue grill down by the river, and although we didn't use it, it would be a great way to picnic or flip a few steaks for dinner. We ate at several restaurants, most of which were fair and overpriced. The Thai restaurant next to the hotel served amazing dishes, and we did enjoy that tremendously. As I recall, they only accepted cash, so be prepared for that. The staff of the hotel was delightful. Whenever I went in there, they addressed me by name. In addition, when we left my husband's jacket in the closet, we called and asked Jennifer if she would mail it to us and charge it to our credit card. It was there when we got home! Great experience....great hotel! Rooms within the courtyard have a lovelyu, but limited view, so get a suite if you can, overlook the parking lot and look up to the hills. You'll have a wonderful time!

Room Tip: Ask for second story room on river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schneewitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Ontario
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

Can confirm the many positive reviews on Tripadvisor. We just returned from a wonderful stay. Cabke Moutain Lodge is everything the many positive reviews say that it is. As for the complaints on Tripadvisor about "dark'' rooms, I simply don't understand. There are heavy blinds on the windows but they can be easily opened. In any case, why would anyone stay in their room during the day at Zion? If they would just like to stay in their room and either read or watch TV, they should have stayed at home.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muntz40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

I just returned home from a great stay at Cable Mountain Lodge. We had a 2nd floor courtyard view luxury room and it was very spacious. I can see why people think the rooms are a little dark, but we opened up the blinds and it was plenty of light for us. The staff was very nice and the check-in was very smooth. The best part of the hotel is the proximity to the park entrance. We walked to the park everyday (probably a 5 minute walk-max). The lodge did not have any vacancy, but I never flelt like there were too many people around and the hot tub was always available at night to soak our sore legs :) The staff was great and I know that we will be returning in the future!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smh7007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Cable Mountain Lodge is very convenient to the shuttle bus into Zion National Park, it's within walking distance which was great. It's not the cheapest option in Springdale but for the location and spacious rooms it was worth it. The Lodge rooms are very comfortable with a separate lounge and kitchen which allowed us to cook meals - a nice change to eating out all the time when on holidays. We didn't use the pool but saw others making the most of it. If possible ask for an upstairs room as there was some noise from above but this didn't particularly bother us. Springdale is a lovely location and we recommend this lodge for location to the park. When entering the park be sure to say if you will be driving through later as they will give you the right entry fee etc. Zion is fantastic and we enjoyed the hikes although The Narrows is closed at this time of year so check this before going.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thejourneysofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Ut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

Just got home from a relaxing weekend at Cable Mountain Lodge. Stayed in a classic suite on the second floor. Had a balcony that faced the entrance of the park that was nice for hanging out on. Bed was really tall and comfy as well as the living room furniture. Didn't get in the pool but put my hand in and it felt nice. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank spinnergrl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

We have stayed here twice now. It is right outside the entrance to Zion, about a two minute walk. The rooms are large and well equipped. The beds are wonderfully comfortable and towels, sheets and bedding are all top notch.

You can walk across the parking lot and get to a decent sized grocery store.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ganymebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springdale
0.1 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,770 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
4.1 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Flanigan's Inn
Flanigan's Inn
#5 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cable Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cable Mountain Lodge

Property: Cable Mountain Lodge
Address: 147 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7775
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
#3 Family Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cable Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cable Mountain Lodge is nestled near the cliffs of Zion National Park, yet shopping, dining, and entertainment venues are conveniently nearby. The rooms offer a distinctively warm atmosphere and the caring staff is happy to share their knowledge and local perspective to help enhance your stay. This is a lodging experience to complement your discovery (or continuing re-discovery) of Zion National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cable Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cable Mountain Hotel Springdale
Hotel Cable Mountain
Cable Mountain Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing