We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, At the door of the Park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cable Mountain Lodge
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place, At the door of the Park”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Have been to Zion several times -this was first stay at Cable Mountain Lodge. Really happy with it. As has been mentioned by others, Cable Mountain Lodge is at the gates of the park - and with the shuttles, we did not use our car during the 2 days we stayed at CML.

It is close to a lot of parking lots and busyness for entrance to Zion NP, but the way they have it tucked back along the river, staring at the canyon walls, with a little courtyard amongst the buildings gives you feeling of being away from it all.

Pool area is nice too.

We have stayed at other places in Zion - including Flanigan and Desert Pearl (actually, we stayed at Desert Pearl a few days of this trip also- we were unable to secure accommodations at one hotel the entire time). They all have their plusses and minuses - mostly plusses. Cable Mountain Lodge has a separate bedroom which is nice. The kitchen is really useful considering the Sol market is next door. The market is fairly priced, considering 20% discount to CML guests.

We'd come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    207
    36
    7
    2
See reviews for
447
545
31
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband and I just returned from a four-day stay in Zion. We had a suite on the second floor, and everything was perfect. We had plenty of space, the kitchen had all of the amenities we wanted (and some we didn't even use), and the staff we spoke with couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. For example, when we checked out, we asked if we could keep our car in the lot for a bit while we ran over to the Zion gift shop. The front desk rep said that we were welcome to keep our car there all day if we needed to.

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for a second floor room or suite to get a better view of the gorgeous surro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We drove in from Las Vegas, about 2.45 with the road construction. Arrived at Cable Mountain Lodge. The staff was very friendly and informative. They gave us information to walk into the park and to take the drive through the 1 mile tunnel towards the eastern entrance. The layers of sandstone are amazing on the drive. Because of timing we drove about 30 minutes and turned around. Must be much more to see beyond what we saw.
We stayed in room 415 which was one of the rooms in the back of the property. Was not a problem with us cause we were in the room only at night so we would've never been able to take advantage of any views. The room is very clean with a wonderful pillow top bed. Granite counter top, Modern decor, Microwave and Mini refrigerator. Everything you need for a weekend or a week’s stay.
They have no problem parking your car at their property after you check out.
5 bubbles for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dt51654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonee Falls, WI
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Our family of four (including 3yo. and 6yo.) spent three nights at Cable Mountain Lodge in June of 2014. We absolutely loved the place. The one bedroom suite on an upper floor overlooked Mountains in Zion and the Virgin river. Rooms were clean and comfortable - there was plenty of room for all four of us with the pull out couch. Front desk staff were excellent at answering questions, offering suggestions, and responding to small needs. The property has direct access to a small beach along the Virgin river, and our kids had a blast in the river. The pool area was also clean and well maintained.

Access to Zion via a footbridge was a very short walk (close and easy), as was access to free shuttles into Springdale that run frequently. You really don't need to get in a car if you are planning on spending your time in Zion or exclusively in Springdale. You will be given discount coupons for the Brew Pub (next door... we didn't use as well had discounts for other restaurants in town), as well as discounts at the gift shop nearby if you show them your room key. You also get coupons for a free movie about Zion at the adjacent large screen theatre.

A side note... this was hands down the best wifi we have ever had at a hotel... free, fast, and reliable... great for texting/email pictures from the trip to family and friends!

The only thing I would recommend is adding a simple continental breakfast option to add to the value of the overall cost.... but that's not enough for me to not give it a 5/5 rating. All in all, worth every cent in terms of quality, service, and proximity to Zion and the town of Springdale.

Room Tip: Ask for the 100 (building A?) rooms for close access to park and city shuttle).... Ask for 500 rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Our family of four stayed three nights in June 2014. Our suite had a wallbed in the great room and a separate bedroom. The accommodations far exceeded my expectations. The great room had a very comfortable sitting area with a TV on a mount that allowed viewing from anywhere in the room (there was another TV in the bedroom). Both rooms had ceiling fans and central a/c. The kitchen area was well equipped with everything you would expect - a table with four chairs, pots, pans, utensils, coffee maker, dishwasher, stove, huge fridge, and an unexpected, but appreciated, toaster. The bath was supplied with a ton of towels and a range of toiletries - housekeeping was very accommodating about supplying extra toiletries on request. The entire suite seemed very new and spacious. We were on the first floor and while we did hear the folks above us moving their furniture around one night - the intrusion lasted about 30 seconds. The front desk staff was also very accommodating. We were towing a pop-up trailer - we had been promised a spot to park it, we were delighted that the spot they saved for us was within steps of our room.

One of the best aspects of the Cable Mountain Lodge is the location. Think of it as being at a ski in/ski out resort. The entrance to the park is just across the parking lot, the shuttle into town stops in the parking lot, the outfitter that rents the gear to hike the Narrows is across the parking lot, the pub with the great local brews is next to the outfitter. You NEVER need to move your vehicle until you're ready to leave Zion. We took the shuttle into town - several local artists and restaurants - and walked back twice (though you can catch the shuttle back as well).

While we love camping, and normally want to stay "in" a National Park, we all agreed, returning to Cable Mountain Lodge after days spent hiking the Narrows and Angels Landing was a real treat. When visiting Zion, Cable Mountain Lodge combines all the benefits of being in the park with the benefits of being in a boutique resort.

Room Tip: If you have any special requirements, let them know - they are very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in June 2014 and our only disappointment was that we hadn't booked to stay here longer. We stayed in a Hillside Classic Suite and it was brilliant. The bed was huge and very comfy, the bathroom was lovely and the spacious living/kitchen area was really nice. We made use of the kitchen to prepare our own breakfasts which was really handy. The scenery around the lodge is breathtaking and I could have happily spent hours sat outside just staring at it. The pool looked lovely but we were so busy exploring Zion itslef that we didn't have time to make use of it.
The lodge could not be in a better location. The Park is just across a small footbridge which means you don't have to faff about with your car at all. Once you are there you can just relax and use the free shuttle to get about. There is a pub, a supermarket and an outfitting shop next door and you get discounts at all of these as an added bonus.
If we returned to this area we wouldn't hesitate in staying at Cable Mountain Lodge again and we would be sure to stay longer as there is so much to do in this area and this is the perfect place to base yourself whilst you are here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here in June 2014 and had a great experience. The staff at the front desk is very friendly and check-in was smooth. Our room was very clean and spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. Our room didn't have a great view (bottom floor at the back of the hotel) but we hadn't asked for a view or paid for a view specifically. Our opinion was that we'd rather enjoy the view outside anyway. The rooms are a little dark as other reviewers have said but, again, we would rather be out of the room enjoying the park anyway and it made it nice when we were sleeping. The best part of this hotel is how close it is to the park--it seemed to be the last accommodation option on the main road in Springdale. You can walk to the visitor center and catch the shuttle (takes only five minutes and that's if you're walking slowly). They also partner with a brewpub right next door which was a tasty option for dinner and we got 20% off our meal. The pool has a nice view of the mountains and the grounds are peaceful and beautiful. Overall, we had a really great stay and would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: If you care about having a view, make sure you ask for one when you reserve because not all rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfreak777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springdale
0.1 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#4 of 16 in Springdale
1,858 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
4.1 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
1,977 reviews
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cable Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cable Mountain Lodge

Property: Cable Mountain Lodge
Address: 147 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7775
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Springdale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cable Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cable Mountain Lodge is nestled near the cliffs of Zion National Park, yet shopping, dining, and entertainment venues are conveniently nearby. The rooms offer a distinctively warm atmosphere and the caring staff is happy to share their knowledge and local perspective to help enhance your stay. This is a lodging experience to complement your discovery (or continuing re-discovery) of Zion National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cable Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cable Mountain Hotel Springdale
Hotel Cable Mountain
Cable Mountain Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing