We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I ever stayed in...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Terrace Brook Lodge
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Free Wifi....doesn't work.
Cable TV....cable doesn't work and no local channels.
Green liquid filled pool.
Exposed electrical outlet.
Very rude owner at the front desk. I had a reservation with printed confirmation for two queen beds on the second floor. He tried to give me a first floor one queen bed room with no discount. Had to argue with him to get what I reserved and paid for.
Dead bolt didn't line up with doorway. Had to literally lift the door in order to get it to fit into the door.
Curtains let in every ounce of light. Not the regular room darkening curtains.
Only good thing was the view and a comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WandererDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

If you are looking at this hotel, it's probably because you are not rich- and my wife and I certainly are not. I came to Zion to be in awe of nature, not the cheapest hotel in Springdale! Our rate was almost 1/2 what the next cheapest rate was in town. The room had a flat screen tv and a fridge. The view was spectacular and every shop was a short walk away. The owner is very pleasant- he let us check in at noon for no extra money. We were so tired, we had to sleep before going to the park. I had a very pleasant evening sitting on the porch. All in all, the best place to crash in Springdale if you live modestly. I give the overall experience very good marks because we got to stay a mile from Zion for the Price of a nice dinner for 2. We will stay here again- guaranteed!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmcrae8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed... Read reviews, thought they were superficial comments- until I slipped on the floor, between the room and the bathroom sink, due to leaking sink, tv remote visibly grungy, pool empty and non-functioning, no water around property, only empty, pipe exposed, water ways. Price is ok, be careful though, hazards may exist! We are moving rooms to the la Quinta for the extra $20 per night. We are typically understanding of minor lodging issues, here, there were just too many issues to look the other way.
AC cooled very well, BUT it pulled in cigarette smoke from the outside. :(
Pluses : Good location. Bed comfortable.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank The4goods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Very basic, and as was quite cold outside during the night we had the heat on, but we were happy that we had a bug dufflebag to put in front of the door as there was a rather big gap under the door. The electronic locks were driving us crazy, it could easily take 10 tries to open the door. There was plenty of hot water though and the beds were comfortable, but the view was just fantastic and the location is good for the park, shopping and dining. The complimentary breakfast was very basic, but it was nice to have ít.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPHDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights on a trip. Wish we had read reviews before booking. Check-in took forever since there were two couples in front of us. Very, very slow.

The room smelled something nasty. I never saw cockroaches but did have to escort two big spiders out of our room. We were unfortunately booked in a lower level room and it sounded like a herd of elephants up there in the room above us. I think the people who stayed above us didn't get enough hiking in at the end of the day because it was constant walking around from them. You could easily hear conversations from your neighbors and don't expect them to have common courtesy. Our first morning our neighbor was up very early talking loud and locking/honking their SUV multiple times("no hunny the other button...no the other one! You're gonna wake everyone up" "OH WELL! Lol!"). For the love of all that's holy, if you stay on an upper level at this place, keep your hiking, hopping, twerking to a minimum for the people below you.

If you're not woken up by your rude neighbors early you will by the bright sunlight coming from the window(there is no light blocking curtains here like at every hotel). Definitely wear socks when walking on the carpet, or anywhere. The beds were surprisingly comfortable. Not a ton of hot water for showering but I did notice that when we would shower during off times of the day(NOT in the morning or at night) we would have plenty for the both of us. There is NO hair dryer - the only freaking trip I don't bring one and there isn't one in this place. One thing I found completely unacceptable was our beds had hair in them from the previous guests. There was also hair in the shower.

I can get past a few things in a cheap hotel(loud neighbors, lack of hot water, spiders) but not having clean sheets and a clean shower is unacceptable to me.

We didn't even attempt trying to get breakfast but from reviews you are way better off going elsewhere for breakfast.

The only good thing is the view and the location which was walking distance to our favorite restaurant Oscars. Highly recommend that place for good food.

Would never stay here again. Would honestly rather sleep in my car.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Awheelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

"You get what you pay for" definitely applies here. It's very inexpensive for being so close to Zion National Park. The person running the front desk wasn't particularly friendly, and he informed us that "our room was broken" and tried to change us to a room with a single bed (instead of the two queens that we had reserved). I insisted on two beds, and he reluctantly gave us the room.

It definitely feels like a cheap motel. One of the power outlet covers in the room was held to the wall by packing tape. However, the beds were decent and the room was pretty clean. The thing that bothered me the most was the lack of soundproofing. We could clearly hear the conversations of the people next door as well as the footsteps of the room above us. The voices made it hard to fall asleep, and the footsteps woke us up early in the morning.

Breakfast wasn't worthwhile... coffee/tea, a box of grocery store mini donuts, and bread with jam and squeeze bottle spread.

Room Tip: Request a top floor room if you don't want to be bothered by footsteps above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank graycodekitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had a great time at the Terrace Brook lodge! The bed was very comfy, and we had a nice large flatscreen TV. For the price and location it was perfect! We hoped to check in early but as stated on the website and on the office door we had to wait until 3. The bathroom was nothing spectacular but in Zion national park who spends time in the room?

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
0.2 mi away
Historic Pioneer Lodge
Historic Pioneer Lodge
#15 of 16 in Springdale
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#13 of 16 in Springdale
758 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#4 of 16 in Springdale
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Brook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Brook Lodge

Address: 990 Zion Park Blvd, P.O. Box 217, Springdale, UT 84767-7799
Region: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Price Range: £94 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Terrace Brook Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrace Brook Lodge, Utah is located only one mile from the south entrance to Zion National Park on Highway SR9. The beautiful setting of the Lodge offers a park-like atmosphere and panoramic views of Zion Canyon. The Lodge is with easy driving distance to mountain skiing, Las Vegas gaming, year-round golfing, water skiing and some of the most spectacular geological attractions in the world. Make Terrace Brook Lodge your home base to see Zion National Park, Bryce Canyon National Park, North Rim Grand Canyon and Lake Powell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Terrace Brook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace Brook Hotel Springdale
Terrace Brook Motel
Terrace Brook Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing