We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a buffet breakfast”
Review of Spotted Dog Cafe

Spotted Dog Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Spotted Dog Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 41 Restaurants in Springdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Cuisines: American, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for a buffet breakfast”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

$7.95 for buffet breakfast, and delicious coffee was extra - a great deal. The fruit was so fresh and tasty. Plenty of choice. Open early so we could get out on the trails before the sun.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,143
    692
    257
    79
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible choice!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We decided to have dinner here on our first night's arrival into town. We arrived at 5:30pm so we could beat the crowds. We were somewhat greeted by a not so friendly/professional trio of three fairly young individuals at the hostess stand. The three of them stood there and stared at us for a few minutes and I could see them nudging each other. They were either caught talking about us or trying to decide who was going to actually get up off their lazy butts and seat us. Not a great way to make a first impression. We ordered the baked Brie in a pastry with a sauce on it as an appetizer. It had the potential to be something good but was not. It had way too much sauce (my husband and I never complain about too much sauce). The pastry part started to become chewy after about a minute, which makes me think it was microwaved. Shame on them! My husband and I both ordered buffalo burgers that were juicy but absolutely no flavor. Our server did a good job but could be less "robotic" and more sincere. The young man who was removing plates from the table would ask "are you finished?" instead of "May I please remove your plate?". This place was way overpriced for the quality of food and service. We will definitely not be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Noy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomasville
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Above the Rest”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I read the reviews and decided to try it despite it being Friday night during busy hours. We weren't disappointed. We had a group of 5 which should make it harder to seat, but we were greeted and seated within 5 minutes. Waiter arrived and drinks ordered within 10 mins. Menu was as expected and food was great. It was prepared correctly. Dessert menu was limited but adequate. After being here a week, this has to be one of the top two restaurants.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 31792traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Everyone in the family enjoyed their meals- 4 adults & 2 kids. Did not have desserts as meals were filling. Appealing plate presentation and great flavors.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1mar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nothing too special”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Very expensive and it took us nearly an hour to get our food even though we were seated immediately. The food was fine and the staff was friendly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spotted Dog Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Spotted Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing