We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual, Funky Dining Primarily Outside”
Review of Whiptail Grill

Whiptail Grill
Ranked #8 of 41 Restaurants in Springdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$17
Cuisines: Southwestern, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: A green approach to fine food with a casual atmoshpere and price. Featuring Southwestern, Asian, Burgers, and Vegetarian fare. Everything housemade and prepared fresh daily. Beer and Wine menu available. Enjoy the large covered patio seating and the spectacular surrounding views of Zion National Park.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Casual, Funky Dining Primarily Outside”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Who knew that on old gas station with a tourist trap novelty store in the garage portion would be a good restaurant? We didn't until both a guide on a private tour and the host at our bed and breakfast both raved about the food. They were right. Service is slow due to being understaffed. The wine or beer is better than the sangria which seemed to lack alcohol, but the food is really great. If you go with realistic expectations, it was a gas station and it is very casual, you will enjoy hanging out and having a great meal. We would definitely go there again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EttieneR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    758
    433
    104
    33
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fun place”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Only two staff but worked hard and efficiently. Everyone got a warm welcome. I don't like very spicy food and was given advice on the things to avoid. It was a lovely evening so everyone was outside. It's a fun place (old gas station) that serves excellent fresh food.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tacos”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Really yummy food. We had the tacos. We ate outside nice atmosphere.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank bonnyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“surprising nondescript gem”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I give 5 stars for the fact that this is a converted gas station with laid back atmosphere and charm. Service is on par with above description. While we drank them out of the local IPA the food was a surprise at this joint. FANTASTICally unexpected. Don't miss the "not-your-typical" chile relleno. Perfect ending after a day canyoneering the cliffs with Zion Adventures.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious, unique cuisine!”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Before our trip to the SW, this was the only restaurant that my son and I had decided that we wanted to try. We were not disappointed. The food was delicious. Stuffed avocado salad so good we had it two days in a row. I had squash enchiliadas - so different and delicious!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greengirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whiptail Grill also viewed

 

Been to Whiptail Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing