We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay in zion!”
Review of Under The Eaves

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Under The Eaves
Ranked #5 of 7 Springdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We caught joe and mark just before they were about to leave on their own vacation but they still took the time to get us settled in and show us around the house and our room. The main house is absolutely lovely with lots of cute decor and the gardens fantastic. We spent a lot of time relaxing on their hammock in the garden during the afternoon heat and watching hummingbirds flew around to the feeders. We stayed in the hikers room which was small but we knew this when we booked and it was comfortable and just as it was pictured on their website. I didn't realize the shared fridge and microwave was right outside our room though so next time I would probably choose another room to stay in. Breakfast at oscars was amazing with huge portions. I loved zion and would like to come back to visit and stay here again!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank ling726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
There are newer reviews for Under The Eaves
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

This place could not be better located. On the main drag of Springdale, across the street from a grocery store, half a block from the shuttle bus to Zion, and within walking distance of several eateries. The proprietors, Joe and Mark, are full of helpful information to make your visit to the Springdale area one that you will not forget. True, there is a certain loss of the comradery which one often gets at the communal breakfasts at most B&Bs; but the breakfast vouchers for Oscar's Restaurant, just around the corner, provided us with a wonderful selection for very hearty breakfasts each morning. (Note: Oscar's is worth visiting for dinner as well. Try the ribs! And in the opposite direction, the Bit & Spur restaurant is also walkable and worth dining at.) There is a nice-sized back yard at the inn, complete with hammock and swing chair, where guests enjoy hanging out after a day of exploring Zion.

Room Tip: The Garden Cabin room (#7) in its own building at the back of the yard, while small, has a King bed...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here during a long road trip through the Southwest. After driving through the scenic entrance to Zion National Park, we were already in amazement by the beauty of the place. We were just as amazed by how pretty Under the Eaves was, and how lovely the grounds were. Mark and Joe were as friendly as could be throughout our stay. We stayed in room #2, which is in the main house. Though definitely on the small side, the room was beautiful with some fantastic art pieces, antique furniture, and hardwood floors. It also looked out onto the backyard, which was our favorite part of the inn. After a fun but tiring hike in the park, we loved coming back and watching the sunset over the majestic red mountains, and then later the stars, from the hammock. We also saw lots of birds (including hummingbirds) visit the birdbath while sitting in the comfy swing. Under the Eaves is right in the center of Springdale, which has lots of shops and great restaurants (check out Bit & Spur). The delicious breakfast at Oscar's down the road (comes free with the inn) is definitely a plus. All in all, we loved our trip to Zion and our stay at Under the Eaves.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank minnaneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Joe and Mark offered us an amazing home away from home to enjoy all the splendors of Zion National Park. Under the Eaves was charming, quaint, comfortable, quiet, and well-appointed with all of the things we needed- nice accomodations, easy access to the park, a refuge at the end of the day of hiking (the hammock was one of my favorite things), and expert advice on great restaurants and shops as well as hikes and scenic drives. My only regret is that we didn't stay longer! I hope to return and would unquestionably choose Under the Eaves for our next stay in Zion/Springdale.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage in the back. While the room wasn't huge, it was comfortable for the tw...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Since leaving under the eaves and springdale at easter, my boyfriend and I have been discussing going back. "lets just go back to Springdale". We loved this place. Mark and Joe were very accommodating. Most of the house is open for their guests, with the exception of the kitchen, with hammocks and chairs out the back to enjoy the view and the sunset. Mark and Joe socialise with everyone in the evenings, offer plenty of advice on places to visit, hiking and tips on the area. The atmosphere was so relaxing - sitting out in the evening and chatting with the other guests; we ended up having dinner with another couple one of the nights. In terms of the accommodation, our room on the ground floor was a little on the snug side, and the shower toilet is just a wet room so not ideal if you want space an luxury - however, this is so easily overlooked due to the service and welcome we recieved, the relaxed friendly atmosphere and the location in the heart of springdale - our favourite place of our 3 weeks in utah and arizona. Breakfast at oscars is just a genius idea - amazing food! I'd go back tomorrow. I wonder how much flights are...?

Room Tip: The cheaper queen rooms downstairs are snug, the shower small. The room have very quirky decore, but...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Travel83_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Joe and Mark are both great hosts and gave us plenty tips both for Springdale and exploring Zion. This B&B is very cosy. We had room number 1, which is in the main building. The house is rather old so don't expect it to be totally soundproof. The stairs to the upper floor was located right outside our room so we could hear everytime someone used the stairs, but this was not a problem. The bathroom was really nice and the bed was super comfy. The garden in the back is large, and fitted with a hammock and a comfy sitting group perfect for relaxation after a streneous hike to Angels Landing.

We would highly recommend this B&B to couples seeking a nice, casual and comfortable place to stay!

Room Tip: We had room 1 which was small, but very nice. The two cottages in the garden might be more suitable...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marlenew89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We didn't get a chance to meet Joe or Mark as they were taking a no doubt well-deserved weekend off. However, LaDawn was fantastic. First off Mark & Joe were very accommodating about letting us rent for only one night. Finding a B&B in Springdale that doesn't require a 2 night minimum is rare.

We checked in about four and LaDawn went over the house rules. They're pretty basic and mostly common sense. She showed us to our room which was a bit small but well laid out with a very comfortable bed. Everything was ready for our stay. The house that has been converted into the inn looks like it was probably built in the 20s or 30s when houses typically had only one bathroom. That bathroom is attached to #1. In order to avoid a shared bathroom situation the closet of our bedroom had been converted to a combination shower/toilet area with the sink in the room. It's actually a pretty innovative way to give the room its own private toilet & shower and not anywhere near as odd as it might sound.

The inn consists of three buildings. The house has two rooms on the main floor with a suite under (as the name implies) the eaves in the attic. Additionally the house has a living room and dining room that are common areas as are the front porch, the side patio and the garden/back yard area. Additionally there are rooms in a second cabin in the back and a private cottage at the very back of the lot. Fountains, greenery and flowers are everywhere. There are ample areas to enjoy a bottle of wine and relax as you watch the canyon walls change color with the movement of the sun.

The inn itself doesn't serve your breakfast due to what I'm guessing are simple logistics. The dining room can only accommodate a six person table and when you have 14 guests in 7 rooms that wouldn't work well. Instead you are given a voucher for breakfast at Oscar's Cafe which is maybe a two minute walk from the inn. Breakfasts at Oscars are huge and we could have easily split a breakfast bowl had we known in advance. I barely ate half of the bowl I ordered and unfortunately since we had no way to take it with us the rest went to waste.

Just a couple of thoughts regarding the Under The Eaves. If you have dog allergies, be advised that pets aren't allowed at the Inn however Bella, a short hair dog, monitors the place during the day. Bella is nearly deaf so you have to be aware that she may not know that you're coming. She is trained that she isn't to go into the rooms but that doesn't stop her from trying. One of the rules of the house is that Bella isn't to go in the room and isn't to be fed people food.

Under The Eaves is very conveniently located in Springdale which is a crowded small town this time of year. We decided to check out the town the easy way by hopping on the Springdale Town Shuttle. The Shuttle is a free service operated by the National Park Service to help alleviate what would no doubt be gridlock if everyone that used it tried to drive. We hopped on at the stop right across the street from the inn. We rode it to the east end of town checking out the shops and restaurants, then stayed on the shuttle for its trip to the west end of town then back to our original stop.

Checkout was easy on Sunday morning and we were genuinely sorry to say goodbye to LaDawn and Bella. I would highly recommend Under The Eaves to anyone. I was really torn between 4 and 5 stars with the only reason for going to four being the smallness of our room due in part to the sink being in the room and the functional but quirky toilet/shower closet that may be a turn off to some. Other than that you should love Under The Eaves.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UtahUtes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#4 of 16 in Springdale
1,926 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,170 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Under The Eaves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Under The Eaves

Address: 980 Zion Park Blvd, Box 29, Springdale, UT 84767-7799
Region: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Springdale
Price Range: £70 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springdale’s oldest Inn: Relaxing gardens, Spectacular views. Seven rooms; private baths, eclectic mix of art/antiques. Centrally located to restaurants, shops and Zion Canyon. Breakfast included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Under The Eaves Hotel Springdale
Under The Eaves Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing