We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They even laid on an eclipse for us...”
Review of Driftwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Driftwood Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Certificate of Excellence
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“They even laid on an eclipse for us...”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We'd been recommended the Best Western hotel in Springdale by a friend, but as circumstance would have it (and retrospectively, luck), they were full.

This was around halfway through our west coast tour, and it was only by chance that we realised that when we reached Zion, we would be right at the centre of the ring of fire eclipse. Our journey from Death Valley to Zion was therefore fraught with worries about whether we'd make it in time, and even what time the eclipse was. Coming from California, Pacific Time, we'd not realised that crossing into Utah took us forward one hour, so suddenly we had an hour less to do everything.

I hurriedly checked into the lodge, as it seemed that our makeshift pinhole camera was indicating that the eclipse had started, and as luck would have it, right outside our room, where I'd parked the Chelsea Tractor (for two of us, it really was HUGE), I was able to set up my camera on it's tripod, and follow the eclipse. I won't bore you with eclipse details on what is supposed to be a hotel review, except to say that for the journey from San Francisco to Springdale, and mention of eclipse glasses was met with a look of disdain, and a "what do you want THOSE for"? But at Springdale, suddenly there was a recognition of how valuable these were, and during the eclipse, Jeff, the head chef, came over, lent us his glasses, and had a really nice chat with us.

OK, eclipse, and chat with Jeff over for now, we checked out our lodge. It was lovely and spacious, with a large seating area & TV, and a large round table for using laptops etc. This large area was connected by a narrow kitchen-like area, to the main bedroom, which itself was connected to the bath/shower & toilet by a sliding door. My only fault with these rooms was that to wash your hands after using the look, you either had to bend down and use the bath taps, or go back through the sliding door to use the kitchen area. I found the lack of a washbasin odd, and moreso, when you realised that this meant you had to shave in the kitchen.

Apart from that, this was a beautiful place. We went to the restaurant, had a magnificent couple of steaks, and Jeff came out and spoke to us once more, checking that everything was to our satisfaction. It certainly was, and for the second time on this trip, I began to realise that one night was not long enough here.

All-in-all, I utterly recommend this place - we'd definitely go back. And their placement of the eclipse could not have been better (it 'set' behind the hills a little after totality - see my pics) ! ;-)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sexyjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    218
    44
    14
    9
See reviews for
227
366
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My husband and I have eaten at the Driftwood several times. They have outside seating surround by views of Zion National Park along with green meadows and trees. It is peaceful enough to see deer come in to have a meal of their own. The inside seating is in a room surround by windows on three sides which give you some of the same views. We have had meals for the two of us and meals for large groups, they have all been wonderful. Good place to add to you vacation!

Room Tip: We live in the area so I really can't rate anything except the dinning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Great views from every room. Rooms are very large for the price. Very clean, good beds and rooms are designed well, even the least priced room. Good office staff. The only poor thing is that the air conditioner is a wall unit and it doesn't always cool the room adequately since the blanket is quite heavy. The A/C had to be on all night and was quite noisy. If heat doesn't bother you, then the A/C won't be an issue, but we seem to like the room colder than most. Bus to Zion is right across the street. Refrigerator, coffee maker, and microwave in the room.
I highly recommend this inn.

Room Tip: All locations are good. The ones on the north side offer the best view, but they are more expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 732simisue732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ortisei, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

If you want to relax, feel real good and enjoy Zion National Park I do recommend the Driftwood Lodge; it is situated perfectly: in a large very quite green area with very well kept gardens all around the various buildings that house the rooms, and right where the Park bus stops, therefore making it very easy to reach both the town's center and the Zion Park's bus. The rooms are great and clean either with a terrace or a balcony, the owner and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I was there in May 2012 with two friends and as we felt so well there we decided to extend our stay. We are convinced that it is the best STAY one can get in Springdale and surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
114 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

To-date I have not been impressed with Springdale hotels given the prices charged. Driftwood Lodge is the best so far. I was very happy with the decor of our suite, the views, the big garden, access to the river, big windows that opened, the pool, and the location,

The bedroom in our King suite was perfect - beautifully decorated with a lovely view from the big window. However, the layout of the suite was not good. The living room was small. The kitchen area (microwave, frig) was in the bedroom. If I was up early I could not use the kitchen without disturbing my partner. The kitchen area had the bathroom sink but the bathroom itself was on the other side of the bedroom. The bathroom was small but sufficient.

Staff were friendly but not exceptional. When we went to dinner the hostess was in the restaurant having a chat so it was alkward situation. The bar staff did not engage in letting us know what to do - wait until the hostess came back or find our own table.

The restaurant was ambitious in its menu but the results were not so great. I can't recommend the food but we loved sitting outside looking across the field at the moon rising over the Zion cliffs.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryBorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shillington pa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Stayed at the Driftwood Lodge for 4 nights May 19-23rd. First let me say that my mother passed away unexpectedly in April, we had this trip planned for a while and decided to go, although I was a little hesitant. The Driftwood Lodge was such a wonderful surprise. We were in room 302 King Room, with a beautiful view. I found such peace in Zion and the Driftwood. I will admit, I am a bit fussy about accomodations but there is not one thing I could complain about. The room and bathroom was very nice, and updated with a wonderful style, quiet, peaceful, and our room was taken care of daily. We had a microwave and fridge in our room which were brand new. I just can't say enough about this place. We had planned 2 nights in Las Vegas, we had never been there, but thought we should experience it, what a mistake, we really wished we could have stayed the 2 additional nights at the Driftwood, what a gem!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachGal2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Great welcome upon check in.
Rooms are great, nicely decorated with taste, modern feel like with nice color scheme Stunning view of Zion Canyon
Top notch bedding with great pillow set.Towels size are too small, no bathrobe.
Erratic wifi that constantly drop ....

Lovely garden, a pool is set in the middle, pool chairs are not comfortable no mattress whatsoever you lay directly on the plastic with one small towel ...

Dinner experience is nice, you are told by the staff that this is the best restaurant in the region competing with Vegas.
They give you a coupon for a free starter if you order 2 entrees.... tacky marketing to me.
hmmmm they should take their chef to Vegas for a few meals

Setting is stunning !
Menu selection is not large, no daily specials every dish ordered was good but nothing to write home about.
We did try the spotted dog in town which was packed, less pretentious with better quality food great wine selection so overall a far better culinary experience.

Went for breakfast the following morning, and this was a huge disappointment.

menu is poor, no danish,pastries, croissants no freshly squeezed juices, no homemade jam, decent butter.
Tea selection is poor, eggs benefits took 25 mn to reach us and service is the worst I have experienced in years for breakfast.
The evening dinner team should do a proper training there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordonray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,829 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
1,115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Montclair
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Lodge

Property: Driftwood Lodge
Address: 1515 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7702
Region: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
#7 Family Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Driftwood Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Driftwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Springdale
Driftwood Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing