We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and beautiful lodge”
Review of Driftwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Driftwood Lodge
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Certificate of Excellence
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very nice and beautiful lodge”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We only stayed one night in this lodge but we had a great experience. We booked this lodge because of the great reviews on TA. The lodge is on a great location near the entrance of the park and some stores.
Rooms are spacious and very clean. We also had a balcony but it was a little bit too cold to sit outside.
I recommend this hotel to couples who want to stay in a romantic location.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelholic80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
driftwoodlodge, Front Office Manager at Driftwood Lodge, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear guest, thank you so much for the lovely comments. We also think that our location is perfect, since we are not in the center of town, but still within easy walking or driving distance of the shops, restaurants and galleries that make Springdale so unique.

We hope that you are able to return to Zion, and that you stay with us again.

The Driftwood Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    221
    44
    14
    11
See reviews for
237
373
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

While we were disappointed not to see Zion and Bryce as we had originally planned due to the government shutdown, we were not disappointed by our stay in Springdale. We found our room to be relaxing and clean. We also had none of the issues reported by other reviewers - the bathroom and its accessories were well situated and I appreciated the small kitchenette (microwave, coffee pot, and refrigerator) that was included in the room. Our room was located on the second floor and view were very nice. I also appreciated the free wi-fi and hot breakfast. Often when a location states that breakfast is included your food choices are limited to toast, cold cereal, and fruit. Here you had the choice of eggs and bacon/sausage and yogurts as well. The staff was very helpful and accommodating on restaurant recommendations and things to do in the area. Additionally, we were quite surprised by the charming nature of Springdale and plan to return in the future. We will definitely stay at the Driftwood Lodge again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Member380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
driftwoodlodge, Front Office Manager at Driftwood Lodge, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear guest, thank you so much for the wonderful review. Although we were disappointed by the government shutdown as well, we did our best to offer alternatives to the national parks. There are many state parks and historic landmarks in the area, and the visitors who stayed here during the "hiatus" saw things that many people don't even know about. It sounds as though you made the best of it, and we hope that your vacation memories are only of good times.

We are also very pleased that you enjoyed the room and its amenities, as well as the breakfast. We hope that you are able to visit the area again, so that you can explore Zion in its entirety. We look forward to seeing you again when you make your next trip!

The Driftwood Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We too ended up here during the govt shutdown. Since we had traveled far, and our next rooms were reserved in Vegas, we determined to make the best of it and explore the area, even if our plans for Zion and Bryce were thwarted. We had a 'suite', a strangely laid out area where there was a nice sitting room and TV, with a counter in between that and the bedroom/bath area, where the sink resided. The hair dryer was located (permanently) above the microwave on the opposite side of the sink. There was a Krups machine in the room, that was a nice touch, but the place is noisy. Fortunately we had a couple about our age above us who rose and went to bed at about the same time as once someone was up, it was over with for sleeping. (My spouse stated, that he wished owners stayed in their own properties from time to time to hear it) The views are really nice of the Zion area from the chairs in the back patios, and we very much enjoyed that. The breakfast was not good, as another reviewer stated, industrial eggs and frozen waffles, frozen bagels, with no change for the three days we were there. We had no trouble with fresh linens and towels, or soap as someone else reported around this same timeframe. But we were in the building just in front of them. If the park had been open we would have been thrilled with the bus stopping right in front of the property.
The staff was very nice and made some very good recommendations on other things to do while the park was shut down. We took their advice and did get to see another condor on our visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank womans2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royse City, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

So this may be a bit of an odd review - due to the government shut down our trip to Zion National Park had to be put on hold. We had reservations at Driftwood Lodge and had to cancel them, so never actually stayed at the hotel! Their normal policy would not have let us get a refund so close to our trip, but they made an exception due to the government shut down and gave us a complete refund! They were so nice and accommodating about it, I felt compelled to leave this review for them.
When we hopefully get to try and do this trip again, we will definitely rebook with them!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NTSwofford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The setting is superb situated between two cliffs. Loved watching the play of light on the rocks both morning and evening from our patio. Added to that is the convenience of easy access to a free shuttle through town and to Zion. In order to enjoy fresh air at night, I had to prop the door open as windows cannot be opened. Amenities in the room were fine but the plumbing fixtures were showing signs of wear and need of some maintenance. Breakfasts were disappointing and my friends and I chose to pass up free breakfast the third morning for something well prepared. How could waffles be nearly impossible to cut through unless way over-microwaved? Staff always pleasant and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Not impressed for the $250 per night that we spent here (includes the hidden fees). We stayed in one of the newer rooms toward the back. For the money I would expect that fresh bathroom towels be offered and new soap be provided. Good thing we had extra with us. Not sure what the maid staff did other than do a poor job of making the bed. We paid in part for the use of a "kitchen." Their idea of a kitchen is a microwave and fridge, which is a good start, but no utensils, plates, cups? So we paid for something that we could not use. We asked to borrow some wine glasses as we were celebrating our get away, nope. Not to be found on the premises. On a more subjective note, I could not stomach the breakfast: "industrial eggs" and frozen waffles are memorable for the wrong reason, but perhaps there are some folks out there who may not be so picky? Seems most of the other establishments are equally priced, but please there is no excuse for poor room service.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RalphVentura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I went to Zion for a hiking trip with four friends. We booked two rooms for three nights. This hotel is a great place to stay. The rooms are spacious, very clean with contemporary décor that matches the atmosphere of Zion National Park.

The Driftwood is on the FREE shuttle route so you can park your car and take the shuttle to the park or to various establishments in town. The shuttle does stop running after 8:30 or 9 pm so if you are into late night dinners, it might not be convenient. However the town is small so you could just walk back and have a nice stroll.

Breakfast is hearty but always the same (scrambled eggs, ham, waffles, potatoes) with yogurt, fruit, cereal and bread selections. Two types of juice, coffee and tea. I agree with other comments that the breakfast was sometimes cold, but I used the microwave to reheat to my preference. We planned two very strenuous and long hikes so having a breakfast such as this one was great. We would have paid at least $15 pp for a heavy breakfast such as this.

Customer service here was superb. Julie and Christian at the front desk were very polite and helpful. They accommodated our request to have the bill for two rooms split 5 ways.

The hot tub was wonderful to come home to after grueling 10 mile hikes each day. The hot tub was very clean and hot!

Rooms had a refrigerator, microwave and K-cup coffee maker, flat screen TV and free Wi-Fi. Every room had a view of the meadow and/or mountains. The frig took about 36 hours to really cool off. They should keep it running or at least turn it up 24 hours prior to guests arrival.

The beds were comfortable with soft linens, two different blankets for cool or warm sleeping and lots of great pillows.

I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a view of the meadow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank speech529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,858 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
1,148 reviews
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Lodge

Property: Driftwood Lodge
Address: 1515 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7702
Region: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
#7 Family Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Driftwood Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Driftwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Springdale
Driftwood Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing