We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Quality Accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Driftwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Driftwood Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Quality Accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is one of the better properties in Springdale just outside the boundary of Zion National Park. This was our second stay in as many years and will be the hotel of choice if we visit again. It is just a pity that the food quality has deteriorated since our first visit in 2012. Now the restaurant is closed for dinner and only opens for breakfast but the quality of the food is ordinary. Rather go out for breakfast in the town and enjoy a better start to the day. The rooms are good and the views are great! The staff try hard and are friendly all round.

Room Tip: Try the larger newer rooms in the Court Of The Patriachs block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrettMac_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
driftwoodlodge, Front Office Manager at Driftwood Lodge, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear guest, we thank you for staying with us, and are glad to hear that you will continue to choose us whenever you visit Zion.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy the breakfast, however, we must clear up the confusion about one point. There was a restaurant on our property, but it closed in 2012. Since it was leased, we did not, of course, have a say in it's decision to close. Our complimentary breakfast is served during the season, from April through October. The menu evolved during the year, and we did our best to appeal to as many guests as possible. We apologize if you did not find it to your liking, but we will continue to improve in this area, until everyone is happy. That is our ultimate goal, after all.

We are pleased to hear that you were happy with the rest of the property. The new buildings have been a wonderful addition, and we are thrilled with the outcome, and the compliments we have received.

We thank you for taking the time to review us. Praise and criticism are always given equal consideration, and are valuable to any company that wants to grow and improve. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit, so that you can tell us how we are doing!

The Driftwood Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    210
    44
    14
    8
See reviews for
220
359
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
las vegas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

stayed there the last 4 days of October,2013, and was so pleased. We have stayed in high end hotels but wanted to bring the 2 dogs. the room [ 204] was recently renovated as was the rest of the property and was HUGE1 . Lovely place with back patio to 2 pastures and the Virgin River. One block south [walk it if you can] is a park where you can cross the bridge and unleash the dogs for a run or walk on many trails. Be careful if you have small dogs as there are big birds. Hope this helps, room was GREAT! Also,Spotted Dog Café was great food & SERVICE. sWITCHBACK restaurant very good. Hope this helps. I would return for sure.Enjoy!

Room Tip: room 402,if you have pets. Huge room,super clean, patio to wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
driftwoodlodge, Front Office Manager at Driftwood Lodge, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear guest, thank you so much for staying with us! We recently updated that room to make it even more pet-friendly, and we are glad to hear that you liked the changes. We appreciate the tips for other guests traveling with their pets, it is always good to have that information on hand.

We are pleased to accommodate guests who bring their dogs (or cats), and even though we only have a few rooms that are pet-friendly, we are of the opinion that those rooms should not be second-best. We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit, and hope that you return often.

The Driftwood Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay! We had an excellent treatment, staff was friendly, the views were fantastic and the hot tub was great! We stayed in a suite that had a huge bed coffee maker and fridge, it was all so nice!

Room Tip: We were in a suite. In low season is worth getting room with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zand0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
driftwoodlodge, Front Office Manager at Driftwood Lodge, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear guest, thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit, and hope that the rest of your vacation was just as memorable.

The Watchman suites are a great choice for couples. The rooms were recently upgraded, and the views are spectacular. The hot tub is a great way to wind down after hiking in Zion, and we are glad that you took advantage of it.

We are very proud of our lodge, and each employee does their part to ensure that every guest has a wonderful experience. We hope to see you again, on your future visits to Zion and Bryce National Parks.

The Driftwood Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Chek inn, easy, staff helpful. Room very small but the view on the patio was marvelous! The room was not as clean as we would expect for an hotel of that price. They serve breakfast wich was good, but nothing very extraordinary. The hotel is well located and there is shuffle driving you in town and to the park which is awesome! No need to take your car. Restaurants were very good. Hotel quiet, bed good. There was also a fridge and a microwave. There is a other building where you can bring your dog. We will try it the next time we will go with our dog. The restaurant is closed, and it is unfortunate.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cri53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
driftwoodlodge, Front Office Manager at Driftwood Lodge, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear guest, thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate your comments, and the thought you put into them.

The breakfast menu underwent substantial changes over the season, and we hope that everyone found something to their taste. However, due to the fact that we are a small property, and in a somewhat remote location, we are unable to vary the selections without passing on the costs to our guests. Perhaps in the future we may be able to offer different items every day, but unfortunately this is not feasible now.

We do have a few rooms that are pet-friendly, and hope that you can bring your "best friend" with you the next time you visit. We recently renovated those rooms, and the changes have been remarked on very positively by our guests.

We were very sad to see the restaurant close, as well. It was one of the best in the area, but as it was owned separate from the lodge, we had no part in their decision. We are using the space to provide complimentary breakfast (in season), so there is a silver lining to this.

We are pleased that you liked your room, and the amenities, and hope that you will choose to stay here again.

The Driftwood Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed at Driftwood in April 2013 as part of our National Park tour we did for our Honeymoon. This was by far the best place we stayed, and have since recommended this to other people who have also stayed and loved it there. The staff there was great, the room was large, quiet - amazing. The shuttle into Zion was right at the entrance of the hotel and we could get into the park or up the road to get dinner very easily. All in all it was perfect. We will definitely go back there and continue to recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Court of the Patriarchs" building(s), upstairs. It was a King Patio Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
driftwoodlodge, Front Office Manager at Driftwood Lodge, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear guest, thank you so much for the lovely comments. We are thrilled that you made us a part of your honeymoon trip, and hope that you come back for your anniversary celebrations! There is no higher compliment than your recommendations to others, and we are pleased to know that we have met or exceeded all expectations.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in the Court of the Patriarchs building. After a long day of hiking, these rooms are wonderful to relax in, and just take in the stunning views. We hope that you will choose to stay with us whenever you return to Zion.

The Driftwood Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Bear City, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

When we arrived at the Driftwood Lodge it was immediately evident that we had stumbled onto a gem! The lodge is located just outside of Zion National Park and has nice curb appeal. The lobby is very European in décor and inviting and spacious! The staff was professional, courteous and friendly. In short: We were off to a great start!

The good vibs kept on coming when we opened to door to our room. The décor was impressive just as in the common areas and the room MASSIVE! The beds were very plush as were all the linens. The room was clean, tidy and the furnishings in very good condition! The room came equipped with a fridge, microwave and large TV. The balcony/deck at the rear of the room looked onto a very nice yard... and views all around to die for!

I've written some bad reviews in the past, but this time I am pleased to report that I was literally blown-away! My friend from N. GA and I will definitely stay again upon our next return to S. Utah! A+++ and then some!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
driftwoodlodge, Front Office Manager at Driftwood Lodge, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear guest, where do we begin to thank you for the wonderful review? People like you make our jobs so easy! First impressions are always important, and the owners have done an amazing job of making the lobby feel comfortable and inviting. This carries over to the rooms, where they have put their unique stamp on the decor there as well. We are not part of a chain, and we want to stand out, in every respect.

We do our very best to make each person feel welcome. This takes a concerted effort on the part of all our staff. We all want to help make memories that are so amazing, you will come back year after year. We hope that your experience keeps getting better with every visit, and that you return often.

Thank you so much for staying with us.

The Driftwood Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

From the moment we checked in, we were pleased with the friendliness of the staff. We stayed on a ground level room in The Watchman. It was very clean and modern and I slept great. We were grateful for the fridge, coffee maker and microwave in our room, very handy!!! It was wonderful to wake-up and watch the sunrise over the mountains with a cup of coffee, from our patio. Our stay was during October and the temperature did allow for open windows, however the only operable window was in the bathroom. After hiking we would come back and prop the door open for a nice breeze but I soon found out that we were also inviting big spiders into our room for a stay in my shoes. :( I think the only thing that would make the room better is a couple more high sill, operable windows to let more natural light in and allow for fresh air.

The hot tub was nice and HOT which was wonderful after a strenuous hike. The grounds are really beautiful and the buildings are positioned perfectly on the site to allow for maximum views of the beautiful scenery and create privacy from your own personal patio/balcony.

There is a hot breakfast buffet but eating it 2 days in a row was enough. Pretty bland & tasteless eggs and potatoes. I chose the nice yogurts, fruits and bagels they had to offer instead.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sundaymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
driftwoodlodge, Front Office Manager at Driftwood Lodge, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear guest, thank you so much for staying with us. October is such a lovely time to visit Zion, since the worst of the summer heat is usually over. Watching the sun rise and set are two job perks that I really appreciate, and I am glad that you were able to catch them as well. We also wish that the Watchman building had more windows that could be opened to catch the breeze. Unfortunately, it is an older building, and it would be prohibitively expensive to remodel it. We hope to replace it with something that is more guest-friendly in the future.

We apologize for the spiders that took up residence in your shoes. I am sure they were looking for a dark inviting home, but it still must have come as a shock when you found them! The wildlife around Zion is usually much less invasive, and we do a great job of keeping them at arm's length.

We are pleased that you found something to your liking at breakfast. We expanded it over the course of the season so that there was a variety of hot and cold items. Although we could not change the menu due to cost and transportation issues, we did our best to please as many palates as possible. Over the winter, we will look for ways to improve breakfast, so that when next season comes around, it will be even better.

We appreciate your comments, and the time you took to review us. We hope to see you the next time you visit Zion and Bryce.

The Driftwood Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
1.5 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#12 of 16 in Springdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Lodge

Property: Driftwood Lodge
Address: 1515 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7702
Region: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
#7 Family Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Driftwood Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Driftwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Springdale
Driftwood Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing