We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Broken Promises” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Driftwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Driftwood Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Certificate of Excellence
minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Broken Promises”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2008

I made reservations in April for a room with a balcony. When I arrived (in September), they told me that there was a "maintenance" problem with the room and they had to move me. The room they gave me had NO ATMOSPHERE - not even a picture on the wall, NO VIEW but lots of noise from the water sprinklers and it resembled a garage with beds. When I complained, the concierge said: "If you don't like it, leave; find someplace else, and there is no place else in Springdale, everything is booked." Zion National Park is gorgeous, the surrounding area is too, and I planned and anticipated this trip for months. There are so many tourists in that area of Utah that many business owners must feel we are all interchangeable and replaceable. But to remove all kindness and sympathy from your interactions with guests is sad news. I would never stay in the Driftwood again on principle, even if there were no other rooms in Springdale available.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the dismissive attitude of staff and the fact no one made any attempt to rectify the situation
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    208
    43
    14
    8
See reviews for
215
357
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2008

What a disappointment.! The double room where we stayed was dark, dirty, and outdated. Their were large white goopy stains on all three chairs in the room. The light fixtures were full of bugs and within the first ten minutes of our stay we killed four bugs in the bathroom. Yes, the patio has an incredible view but you can't see the patio from the room. You must go out a back door to get to the patio. The room itself only has one window, and it faces the parking lot so you loose your privacy if you leave the curtain open. The reception area is gorgeous and rightly the website takes great care to describe how wonderful it is, but don't be fooled into thinking this is indicative of what your room will look like.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The dark, dirty, outdated room
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytobeoutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2008

Stayed two nights. We really enjoyed this place. Nice pool. The scenery from our patio was very nice. Stayed in the Queen Deluxe rooms.

  • Liked — Location and scenery
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigred0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2008

The good: Rooms / The Very Bad: Service!!

Spacious rooms!! The renovated rooms are very nice but decorated more for an urban setting. I was there for my wedding and all of our guests' rooms were nice and LARGE. Perfect views from the "100" wing!!! Housekeeping staff was great, attentive and friendly, serene setting, pool & river access were great features

Management!! Ultimately I had several issues with my stay 1) my parents were told they would have to change rooms multiple times (and PAY more for the new rooms!) when they had specifically changed their reservation to a smaller room to avoid having to move. 1) I could not show up for the first night, they charged me regardless despite staying four nights and having about 8 rooms in house for my wedding.

The staff were powerless to help me with the issue with my parents, and the manager was insistent that I had upset one of her staff when I tried to see if she could help me "my staff does not have the authority to deal with that, you have to wait until I'm available and come to me!"....hm... so they would rather frustrate guests than empower employees? strike one and two.

After a lot of frustration the manager indignantly corrected the issue with my parents but not after a lot of insistence that I was in the wrong. (despite email confirmations to the contrary) Then she insisted that they had done me a favor by "waving" additional guest charges, implying that I had "snuck" guests into rooms when all of our reservations had been made for the actual number of guests from the beginning. After having my family & guests spend thousands at a hotel, I would prefer not to be made to feel like I'm some sort of delinquent (not to mention this was for my wedding!!)

If you're looking for a simple room with a view, take your chances, but if you expect friendly service or anything close to a "hospitable" experience just call them to make your reservation and you'll see what I'm talking about -- stay away!!

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Attitude!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank intotrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2008

We stayed in a standard room and the room was big and clean. A bit dated and the aircon was really loud.

Nice swimming pool.

The staff, both in the reception and restaurant, were friendly and helpful. We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant which were delicious.

Location is great, right next to Zion and there is a shuttle bus going to the park all day.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Solsikke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, AZ
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2008

We had a pet friendly room with a view out the front window and a view of the Watchman from the back patio (not from the room). This room had not been remodeled and was huge, with 2 beds and a futon. Lots of room. It was clean and comfortable and within easy distance of Zion, which was gorgeous.
The restaurant was a real treat for us. The food was excellent and we were able to sit on the patio with our well behaved dogs under our table.
There were horses and cows in the pastures, and a nice walk down to the Virgin River. We would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — The views.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Member from Surprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2008

The advantage is to be at the entrance of Zion National Park (but there are lots of others hotels there). The room and the serviceare standard. Don't expect more.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — everything was "standard"
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pokyboulle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
1.4 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
1.2 mi away
Flanigan's Inn
Flanigan's Inn
#5 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Lodge

Property: Driftwood Lodge
Address: 1515 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7702
Region: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
#7 Family Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Driftwood Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Driftwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Springdale
Driftwood Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing