We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome Respite”
Review of Driftwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Driftwood Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Certificate of Excellence
Conifer, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Welcome Respite”
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We stayed at the Driftwood Lodge after camping for two days in Zion National Park. After looking in on a hellhole down the road we pulled up to the Driftwood and upon first glance looked like a nice hotel. We were offered one of two choices at a discounted rate so we took the upgraded offer and stayed in room #112. What a lovely room! Living room with tv and table and chairs. Great place to put our feet up off of a balcony with two adirondak chairs facing the stunning cliffs of Zion, ever changing in the waning sunlight. The bed and bedding were simply divine after sleeping on the ground for two nights. Adequate shower and bathroom facilities with mini fridge and microwave. The restaurant attached to the hotel with the only renowned chef in Zion looked amazing with an outside patio taking advantage of the views. We felt like mexican food so didnt have dinner here. We took the recommendations from the front desk and went to Bit and Spur where we enjoyed a great Margarita and some interesting and delicious southwestern cuisine. We would recommend the Driftwood as a great option in the choices of budget hotels in the area.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tropictripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    217
    44
    14
    9
See reviews for
225
365
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WA State
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

We made a rapid tour of Utah's five national parks, flying in to Las Vegas mid-day Sunday and flying out mid-day Thursday. So, we didn't linger at any of the four hotels we stayed at.

The Driftwood was our first stop. We stayed on the ground floor of the newer (1991) two-story building on the west side of the property. This building was handsomely built of brick and stained/varnished wood that is in very good condition; there was not a speck of peeling exterior paint, and the varnished wood looks great. The overall appearance as you enter the property from the highway is fine.

The Driftwood property fronts the main street / highway, as most of the hotels in town generally appear to do. A stop for the free in-town shuttle bus is located just in front of the property. This doesn’t present any particular noise issues as the shuttle busses have quiet braking systems, and rooms seem to be well-insulated. The rest of the traffic is just “rolling through” this area of town at a moderate speed without stopping.

The grounds (mainly lawn) appear to be well irrigated and were very green in early September in this very hot, dry climate. They are generally well-maintained, though the lawn appears to be largely comprised of a lot of carefully-mowed weeds. There is a small central pool facility that we didn’t use.

Our room (king-bed) was medium-sized, clean, and fairly typically appointed for a modern mid-range hotel property. It had a newer bed with a decent mattress and matching furniture with the currently-fashionable very-dark-finish. There weren’t any evident dings, dents or scratches in the furniture. There was a small table with two rather upright upholstered chairs that don’t invite any lounging. We had to pull one of the chairs over to the side of the king bed to make up for the lack of a second night-stand; that felt a bit chintzy.

There was a standard mini-fridge located below a closet rod across from the single sink set in a wide countertop in a partitioned-off area. Electrical outlets are modern and conveniently located. Writing this five days later, the toilet/shower area was not at all memorable, which is probably a good thing as that generally means it was fine.

We had a small partitioned-off “patio” area adjoining the room on a concrete slab outside the room with two Adirondack chairs, a little outdoor table, and a view of the pool area and the mountains beyond to the northeast. The upper floor rooms in this building appear the have the same setup on their level. On our level, the outdoor area is open to the grounds, so it’s not at all private. However, this isn’t a mega-property with a lot of guests, and we very much enjoyed quietly sitting and taking in the view there.

In common with most hotel rooms, I’d hate to be stuck indoors for any length of time due to the lack of comfortable seating. Hotel chairs generally seem to be selected based on price and/or fashion as the primary criterions, with comfort a very-very distant third. The hospitality industry continually touts how comfortable you will be at their properties. I continue to believe that they could provide much better chairs at a reasonable cost if they simply demanded it of their interior designers.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Civilguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

The owners are friendly, stay out of your way and provide great rooms. Rooms are very modern, nice tele for relaxing at end of day, very nice beds, lots of pillows. Everything is first rate. Nice decks, with great chairs for relaxing and enjoying the views of Zion right outside your room. River swimming and a rope swing just a short walk at back of property. Horses on the grounds that the younger one enjoyed. Easy and short drive to local restaurants and shops. Right on the Springdale shuttle route to zion. This place is amazing. First class restaurant in lobby with a magnificent view.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renelloburlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mpls, MN
Level Contributor
135 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

Nice hotel, newly updated rooms, very good in house coffee. Small rooms, great view.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLD2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, Ca
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

Friendly staff, great views, great stop on a motorcycle trip through Utah.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmscuba27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora CO
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2009

We were looking for a pet firendly place for two nights. This was the only place available, but the on-line rates shown were way out of our budget. I thought I'd call, anyway, and was quoted about half the shown rate. The room was very large, but very drab, except for the loud bedspread. The pluses to this place were, good parking, nice dog walking area. There's a place by the river that's nice to sit, but you see all their maintenance equipment. It seems that the other rooms (not pet friendly ones) were quite nice, though. I guess I would recommend this only if you didn't stay in the rooms where they allowed pets.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UsTwoCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

My wife and I stayed there for two nights in May. The reviews from this site were a little off on both sides of the line. We stayed in a King suite. Let me tell you. Thats the way to go. The room was Excellent. You walk in to a sitting area with a couch and table as well as a flat screen TV and a door to your balcony with excellent views of the grounds and the red sandstone cliffs in the distance. Then you have a door that goes to your sleeping quarters, and that was great. The bathroom is in the room with the sleeping quarters. There was a mini Fridge and microwave as well as a coffee maker. The rate was very reasonable for a room this size. The whole set up could have passed for a 1 bedroom apartment. The rate we got was $183 a night. Well worth it. If you pic this room with your stay you will not be disappointed...

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wskrobak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
1.5 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#12 of 16 in Springdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Lodge

Property: Driftwood Lodge
Address: 1515 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7702
Region: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
#7 Family Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Driftwood Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Driftwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Springdale
Driftwood Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing