We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm February Weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Warm February Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

With a warmer than normal President's Holiday weekend, I tried out the Cliff Rose for a quick getaway. I booked on their website for a regular double queen room with a balcony, river view.

When I arrived, the lodge was under major construction, something that was not mentioned until check in, not on the web site. Parts of their grounds and the driveway/parking were a real mess and I was told the construction would not continue over the weekend, but some did. Banging and hammering.

Anyway, I was given a large discount off the room price, which was very fair. The staff were helpful and polite.

The room was a very typical, old motel type layout - meaning dark. My room was in one of the older buildings. Some newer buildings have the suites. The rooms had been very nicely remodeled with quite high end finishes, nice bed linens, furniture, granite countertops in the bath. A microwave and small refrigerator, hairdryer, pool towels and robes, coffee maker, flat screen. Very comfortable and quiet.

The grounds were not very nice in the winter and I would love to return and check them out in the spring, summer, or fall when Zion is much nicer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spello2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,340
    346
    50
    10
    6
See reviews for
647
744
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at the Cliffrose for a couple of nights in mid-February when visiting Zion. We were in a one bedroom riverside suite which had a fully equipped kitchen, adequately sized rooms and a gas bbq and furniture outside on the patio overlooking the river and Zion cliffs. We only ever spoke to one member of staff, the girl on the front desk, and she was polite and helpful. Despite the ongoing construction work, it was still very quiet and we did notice that the contractors didn't actually start doing "noisy work" until late morning (I say "noisy" but it was little more than a mini-truck going back and forth through their site!). We made our own breakfasts so didn't utilise the recommended cafe however we did pop out to the front-desk recommended local coffee shop when craving some decent caffeine based beverages - Deep Creek Coffee - fab coffee and fun place! If we ever return to Zion, Cliffrose would definitely be our first choice for accommodation in the area!

Room Tip: Look out for the two cats that were insistently trying to get into the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShonzC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

This place is excellent, the backdrop of zion and people working at cliffrose make this the best spot to stay at- it's steps away from zion brewery great spot to get brews after hiking- and steps from an amazing cafe for breakfast and lunch - you can actually walk into zion from the hotel- place for BBQ and chilling on a back patio - loved it and can't wait to get back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank joe f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. Cliffrose and Zion were a highlight of our US roadtrip.
The location is ideal, manicured gardens lead down to the river and our children loved watching the hummingbirds feeding outside the room. Add to this the spectacular cliffs of Zion catching the sunlight in the evening and you really know you've found a gem.
Initially we were in a room with kitchenette then a family room. Both were great. Although there is no restaurant, we enjoyed earing at the cafe next door and had wonderful breakfasts there. The Thai restaurant over the road although expensive was very good too.
There is a Bbq available and the pool, illuminated at night is also open for an evening dip.The hot tub was hot too- some can be luke warm.
We loved Zion. There is so much to do- we hiked to the Emerald pools, and would have loved to do the Narrows but time ran out.
The staff were helpful and let us hang out til the afternoon as we didn't want yo leave this calm idyll to hit Vegas.
I hope the building work doesn't ruin the charm of this hotel. I would love to return and have recommended to many!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauragee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

The Cliff Rose is literally walking distance to the visitors' center of Zion National Park. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. The staff is extremely accommodating and were very apologetic about the noise, etc. as a result of some renovations/additions taking place at the property. Soon you will be able to get breakfast the hotel (a nice feature since in season the restaurants in Springdale get very crowded) and perhaps a light dinner as well. The grounds are well maintained and the pool and hot tub are nice things to have after a long day of hiking In the park.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the river--quiet and nice views of the canyon walls from the balconies and bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

This was recommended to us whilst travelling through Zion, so we popped in to have a look, they upgraded us to a one bedroom suite, due to the building work that was taking place. We were not disappointed, very comfortable and clean, fab room facilities, everything you need, plus we could sit outside for breakfast and in the evenings, even pop down to the river and sit by a fire, so much better than being trapped in a hotel room. It was much more expensive than we would normally pay, but with the upgrade it was well worth it and I would definitely consider staying if visiting the area again. The supermarket and pub is with walking distance as is the entrance to Zion NP, but checkout the supermarket in Springdale too, just a short drive away. Couple of small points: tables in lounge showing signs of wear and the sofa and armchair need hovering underneath and under the base cushions, only noticed latter when we were checking we had not left anything behind. NB everything else was spotless.

Room Tip: We had room 46 which is downstairs, I don't think anyone was upstairs, so can't comment on n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

If you hate being isolated from the natural world while staying at a hotel, this is the place for you. This is my second visit to Cliffrose, and I will go back again. I have seen the reviews complaining about some of the rooms, which is a concern with all hotels. You should definitely choose the second bank of rooms closer to the river. 130 was beautifully appointed, with its own private deck, with many windows and views to the river and red rock. I would probably not want to stay in the bank of rooms up by the road, and I also think the lower rooms (which I stayed in before), while nice, are too dark for my tastes, though the wonderful gardens are right outside. Sitting down by the river, you really feel as if you're in a rural space. (Inexplicably, the Cable Mountain Lodge next door built a giant parking lot between the rooms and the river, making you feel as if you're at Walmart.) I found the staff friendly and helpful, and I really enjoy being able to walk right into Zion and go on several other nice walks--the Watchman, the Par'us Trail. (Hint: walk through the Watchman camping ground and you can follow the river downstream for over a mile on "Informal" trails.) Three close restaurants of various prices and styles of food, and really, downtown is a half mile, why not walk. For non-Utahns, finding the liquor store is kind of a fun scavenger race event. (The Moab liquor store used to be in half a construction trailer.) I felt the staff was very friendly and helpful.

I would have liked to be able to bring my dog and would have been happy to provide a substantial deposit to guarantee against any damage and guarantee to keep him in a crate while I was not in the room. Driving him back and forth morning and night to a doggie day care doesn't fit into a vacation.

Room Tip: Pick the bank of rooms nearest to the Virgin River. Pick a second floor room. Pick an end room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tseh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springdale
0.1 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#3 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
4.1 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Flanigan's Inn
Flanigan's Inn
#5 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens

Property: Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Address: 281 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7775
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Springdale
#2 Family Hotel in Springdale
#2 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens offers an epic location to experience everything Zion National Park has to offer. Our property literally borders Zion National Park along the Virgin River. Resort amenities include a heated outdoor pool, waterfall hot tub, riverside hot tubs, riverside beach, event space, and 5 acres of manicured grounds. All of our rooms, suites, and villas feature luxurious modern amenities. Outside you will find private outdoor balconies or patios. The Cliffrose is an ideal hotel for couples, families, friends, and solo trips. Just like Zion National Park we are also open all year. More than just a place to spend the night you can unpack once and have an experience of a lifetime. During your stay our friendly and attentive staff are always there to make your experience memorable. Remember that parking, coffee & tea, high speed wireless internet, and 24 hour business center access are complimentary. We do not charge resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens Hotel Springdale
Cliffrose Lodge And Gardens
Cliffrose Hotel Springdale
Cliffrose Hotel And Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing