We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel in the center of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Historic Pioneer Lodge
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Springdale
Reviewed 18 October 2011

The room was very clean, quiet and comfortable. The front desk staff was very accomodating and treated me with great service. The hotel offers a spectacular view of Zion park. The town shuttle stop is very close so you can do everything you need to do without driving. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnyday1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

842 - 848 of 1,239 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed 2 nights. Never did establish what was historic about it, but it is a good little hotel/motel in the nice little Zion gateway town of Springdale. Room was fine, clean and in a nice quiet corner. Old school TV and cable channels. Coffee over in reception and breakfast in the attached restaurant very handy. Wi-fi was down as they had been struck by lightening the week before, but there is an internet cafe in reception. Nice clean pool at the back, with stunning views. Virtually everything in Springdale is within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeandallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

The lodge is hardly a mile away from Zion national park entrance. The rooms are cozy & have all the necessary amenities. And most importantly the manager (Chad Omar) & his family were really hospitable. They treated me & my whole family with exceptional service & provided everything that we needed & more. They all were really helpful & always cheerful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who plans to visit Zion. I would certainly stay here when I visit the park again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RahulPednekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Based on reviews on trip advisor and availability options at the time of our stay (late September) we chose the Pioneer Lodge. The room was nice and very clean with adequate space, plenty of towels and comfortable beds. We spent 3 nights and were pleased with convenience of shuttle to Zion. We appreciated the number of options right in town. The on sight laundry was a plus too although if it had been full we could have easily gone across the stree to a nice laudromat also. We would definitely stay at the Pioneer again. Our only complaints were problems with internet which eventually were resolved. Tip: The mexicn restaurant right across the street has good food at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: We liked the 2nd floor. We find it is always quieter in a 2nd floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I really felt let down by tripadvisor on this one, which gave it solid reviews. I was greeted rather rudely uppn arrival and asked to prove i had paid expedia for the room-an issue between expedia and the hotel. This is an old school motel with room doors that lead directly outside so you hear everything happening in the parking lot ect. The price for was way too high-even when you take into account the easy accessto zion np. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamill67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

- great location with direct shuttle connection to the park
- good quality accomodation
- very friendly and helpful staff
- breakfast facilities in restaurant (10% off) and coffee shop
- internet access via lobby computer
- free coffee maker upon request
- nice pool
In summary: everything was fine and I would like to stay there again one day.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hansjürgen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We made the unfortunate mistake of booking the Pioneer Lodge based on reviews from this site and another popular travel site. If you read our other reviews, you'll see we are not negative people. That being said, after checking into our room, there was no way that we were going to stay here. I don't see how anyone could recommend this place. The carpet was dirty, had water stains, and cigarette burns. The Air Conditioner did not work (it had been a 94-degree day) and we were told to take the cover off the A/C unit and try resetting it. What?!?! I have to do this? When they couldn't get it to work (supposedly they were having electrical problems) they told us that they would bring us a fan and we could open the window. This is completely unacceptable. The manager tried to make it up by saying that he would give us 2 free nights at a future visit...but that I would still have to stay and pay for the current night. I told him I could not do that. He then offered for us to stay at a "sister property" down the road. I didn't want to chance that it would be in the same condition, so I again said no. I told him that all we wanted was our money back and that we would move on to somewhere else. I will admit that he was very accomodating and did not argue the refund, which was greatly appreciated. We ended up driving to St. George, UT and spending a lot less money at a much nicer (and newer) hotel. Unfortunately we had to skip Zion as a stop along our Southwest road trip.

We had no real issues at all with the staff. Our disappointment is with the property itself. If they replace the carpets, freshen up the room decor, and have working A/C units, it probably would not be that bad a place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
0.8 mi away
Driftwood Lodge
Driftwood Lodge
#8 of 17 in Springdale
813 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
0.6 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#4 of 17 in Springdale
1,959 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#14 of 17 in Springdale
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Pioneer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Pioneer Lodge

Address: 838 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Springdale
#12 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
Price Range: £50 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Pioneer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Pioneer Lodge and Restaurant is centrally located in downtown Springdale near the entrance of Zion National Park. We have 40 beautifully appointed rooms in rustic western decor. There is a jacuzzi suite, a one bedroom apartment and a 3 bedroom apartment. On location we have a full service restaurant, open 7 days a week serving excellent quality meals, an Internet Cafe/Espresso Bar and gift shoppe. There is a outdoor pool and jacuzzi. We have guest laundry facilities. Our property has been totally renovated in 2006. We pride ourself in excellent customer service with a relaxing home away from home attitude. We have a 4 diamond rating with AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Historic Pioneer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Historic Pioneer Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing