We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked the location, not the smell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Historic Pioneer Lodge
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The good: Great location in main business district of Springdale, so an easy walk to restaurants and shops, quiet, open all year (we went in February) and very close to beautiful Zion. We got a good deal on Priceline.
Not so good: Very smelly bowl of potpourri air freshener stunk up the whole room. Yuck! Good thing I don't have allergies. Oily stains on the bedspreads, although the room appeared clean otherwise.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glaciergirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

734 - 740 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2013

The price was great. The room was nice and clean. But...
The internet was very sporadic. I was able to connect only about 1/3 of the time I tried. This normally isn't a problem for me on vacation. But a storm was rolling in and I wanted to keep up on the forecast and road conditions.
The hot tub was closed, even though it said it was open.
Parking spaces are very narrow. Look for one in the corners.
Also, even the the literature in the room says the lobby is open at 6:30 in the winter, it's not. It opens at 7:30.
I would probably stay here again, because internet access is usually nice but necessary for me. But I'll probably try another option next time.

Room Tip: Room 118 is sandwiched between two buildings and doesn't seem to have neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JERRY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I had two great nights' sleep here, with a comfy bed in a quiet location.

The free wifi worked well, with my only real problem that the room was quite dark. The decor is dim to start with, then there's not much lighting.

Really, the location is what makes the place. Zion NP is beautiful and this is your gateway.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

A very average motel for a reasonable off season rate. Older decor...dark and dingy with low ceilings. Mostly clean and comfortable. Internet was spotty. Check in guy was not overly friendly. Beds were OK; pillows awful. Overall good enough for a cheap night's stay close to an amazing national park.

If you are looking for a budget motel with convenient access to Zion Nat'l Park you will get what you pay for here. We were a little taken aback by the many very laudatory reviews here on TripAdvisor. They seem a little more enthusiastic than we would expect for this motel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tsaileus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

Having a family we were keen to have a place where the children could feel safe and relaxed. The reviews I had suggested that the Pioneer lodge might be the place for this and in no way did this disappoint. A very warm (or should that be cool) welcome after a long drive from Yosemite. Very friendly and a lovely 2 room overlooking the cancan. That was before they found out about the free snack bar which meant they were constantly harassing the very patient reception staff. Room was good and did just the job for us and the parking (a real bonus) and location were fantastic. Highly recommend this place if you stating in LA.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coolguyboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

It's not elegant and it doesn't have nicely landscaped grounds. It does provide a very comfortable room with an updated bathroom. The bed is great. The log furniture provides a nice touch of atmosphere. It was easy to get onto the wi-fi and to find a plug for the computer.

It was a bit chilly the evening I arrived. I checked in and then went to dinner. By the time I got to my room, a staff member had turned on a portable heater to take the chill off the room. I thought that was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

This is a great hotel. Decor is rustic, but not in the way that "rustic" is sometimes code for "old and dirty." Everything was very clean and well-though out. My room was very spacious, with plenty of power outlets, and even a coat rack. Bathroom was very clean and all the fixtures looked brand new and worked perfectly. The free WiFi was flawless. Ben at the front desk was very friendly, addressing me by name, and even making me a very good mocha in the morning at the in-house coffee shop (not included in the room rate of course, but reasonably priced). Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Driftwood Lodge
Driftwood Lodge
#8 of 16 in Springdale
815 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#14 of 16 in Springdale
777 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#4 of 16 in Springdale
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Pioneer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Pioneer Lodge

Address: 838 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Springdale
#12 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
Price Range: £57 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Pioneer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Pioneer Lodge and Restaurant is centrally located in downtown Springdale near the entrance of Zion National Park. We have 40 beautifully appointed rooms in rustic western decor. There is a jacuzzi suite, a one bedroom apartment and a 3 bedroom apartment. On location we have a full service restaurant, open 7 days a week serving excellent quality meals, an Internet Cafe/Espresso Bar and gift shoppe. There is a outdoor pool and jacuzzi. We have guest laundry facilities. Our property has been totally renovated in 2006. We pride ourself in excellent customer service with a relaxing home away from home attitude. We have a 4 diamond rating with AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Historic Pioneer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Historic Pioneer Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing