We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Historic Pioneer Lodge
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Roseville, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Picturesque”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

What a wonderful little motel! Friendly staff. The log room was decorated nicely. Included a mini kitchen with a fridge and microwave. Nice size bathroom. Comfortable bed. There is a restaurant on site, but since I didn't eat there I cannot comment. The motel is located near the bus stop where the bus takes you into the park. I especially enjoyed the HOT tub after a day of hiking. Beautiful views from the motel parking lot.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delsolseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    471
    174
    56
    45
See reviews for
346
484
60
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Pleasant dog friendly Lodge/motel. The Pioneer is in a terrific location. It is only a short distance to Zion entrance. Many dining options and shopping within walking distance. Free shuttle service stops within minute walk. Room was comfortable and clean. Parking lot is small, but with shuttle service I never drove my car while there. Staff was very friendly. We will definitely be back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LV-Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryanna V, Guest Relations Manager at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,


We thank you for staying with us. We are extremely glad to hear your stay was comfortable. Our location is very convienent for our guests. As there is both a restaurant and cafe on sight, and shuttle stops are only a few minutes away. We encourage our guests to bring their pets with them, as they should share the experiences with you.

Once again thank you for staying with us and we are pleased to hear you will be returning.

Please contact the front desk (435)772-3233 or visit www.pioneerlodge.com to book your next stay. We look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Bryanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I was very pleased with my experience here. From the clean and comfortable rooms, to the amazing view of Zion from the door, it was an all around good experience. Management is friendly and easy to deal with and they have delicious cookies in the front store as well!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Skyler R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stopped in at the cafe to use the internet and ended up staying the night. Julia was on duty that evening and was very helpful. We found that the lodge had excellent rates and was exactly what we were looking for. It's very close to the park in a lively part of town with plenty of restaurants and shops.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. Our only complaints would be the heater/ac unit was a little weird and the parking lot is very tight. I wouldn't recommend parking oversized/large vehicles in their lot.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DumpyTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryanna V, Guest Relations Manager at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for staying with us. We greatly appreciate your honest feedback. Thank you for acknowledging our front desk staff. I will be sure to share your kind words with her. We apologize for the limited parking, and wish that we could expand, however the surrounding landscape does not permit. We thank you for choosing Pioneer Lodge, and hope that you will choose us again on your next visit to Springdale.

Sincerely,

Bryanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Pioneer lodge is an older remodeled property with improvements on going. The room was charming with log furnishings and a very old fashioned homey bed cover. The rooms are on the small side but not so much that you feel cramped. The AC was VERY quiet. Beds were on the soft side but comfortable. The bath was updated to modern hotel standards. No tea bags with the coffee pot, and $1.00 per bag at the desk so if this matters to you, bring your own. This motel is very conveniently located in the heart of Springdale for going through galleries and shops. A very short walk to Wild Willie's for a great dinner too. There is a pool and hot tub with nice red rock views.

Room Tip: Try to get a second floor room on the west side for views of the red rock surrounding town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KB6CLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryanna V, Guest Relations Manager at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We strive to provide each guest with excellent services and are glad to know we reached your expectations. We are conveniently located near the National Park entrance and other local shops. We are always working towards improving our lodge. We have ordered new bedding, and will be replacing the photos hung in the rooms for majestic photos of our neighboring park.

Please contact our General Manager Ben at (435) 772-3233 for your future trip to the park, he will take great care of you. We look forward to seeing you again.


Sincerely,

Bryanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Pleasant surprise for a roadside motel. Completely remodeled with tasteful furniture and surfaces. Cozy. Next to the shuttle stop, so easy access to Zion National Park up the road a mile or so. I'd stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryanna V, Guest Relations Manager at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Nick,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review. We greatly appreciate your feedback. We are so glad that we were able to make your stay pleasant and comfortable. We hope that you will stay with us again very soon on your next visit to Springdale.

Sincerely,

Bryanna V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We had 2 nights in this hotel to explore Zion NP. Springdale is an attractive little place with easy access to Zion.

Check in was strictly 3pm with no chance of getting in early. First, the good points - clean, good wifi in room, full sized fridge, microwave, safety deposit (although we had to ask them to change the battery to get it to work), kitchen roll provided (a nice touch), good swimming pool.

What we personally did not like was the decor of the room. Dark rust red bed spreads, coupled with the dark paint on the walls made the room very gloomy. Awful faux wooden western cabin type furniture and even worse, plastic flower arrangements - dust gatherers! As outlined its a personal choice but we think bedding should be white or pale coloured to ensure clealiness. Also, the carpeting up the stairs to the second floor was torn, tatty, dirty and in need of repair

This was a quite a pricey hotel but sadly that high price did not include a complimentary breakfast, so we can't comment on the food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkspuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryanna V, Guest Relations Manager at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us. We have ordered new bedding material as well as pillows. We are also replacing the photos in the room with photos of our photographer of Zion National Park. We look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Bryanna V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,827 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#13 of 16 in Springdale
719 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Pioneer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Pioneer Lodge

Property: Historic Pioneer Lodge
Address: 838 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
#12 Family Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Pioneer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Pioneer Lodge and Restaurant is centrally located in downtown Springdale near the entrance of Zion National Park. We have 40 beautifully appointed rooms in rustic western decor. There is a jacuzzi suite, a one bedroom apartment and a 3 bedroom apartment. On location we have a full service restaurant, open 7 days a week serving excellent quality meals, an Internet Cafe/Espresso Bar and gift shoppe. There is a outdoor pool and jacuzzi. We have guest laundry facilities. Our property has been totally renovated in 2006. We pride ourself in excellent customer service with a relaxing home away from home attitude. We have a 4 diamond rating with AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Historic Pioneer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Historic Pioneer Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing