We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy & Comfy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Historic Pioneer Lodge
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Sebastian
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cozy & Comfy!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our stay was wonderful. The room was beautifully decorated, cozy, comfy and literally just a mile or two from the entrance to Zion National Park. The town is adorable and everything is within walking distance. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SheNowlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alli S, Guest Relations Manager at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are excited to hear that you loved our hotel and we are even more excited to hear you will be returning!

Our hotel location is as good as it gets being that it is so close to a large, popular attraction! We are glad you enjoyed our rooms. We just replaced our televisions, as well as the bedding to give us a more up-to-date feel.

Thank you for taking time to give us your honest opinion of our hotel during your stay. Next time you stay with us, try out our pool, it has a great view! We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Alli
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    479
    183
    58
    45
See reviews for
362
490
61
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A shuttle to the park and a laudromat over the road plus restaurants within walking and shuttle distance = perfect location. Our room was comfortable, clean and well equipped with towels, coffee, frig etc and we had plenty of room to unpack and pack. At first, I was dismayed to have an outlook of a concrete staircase, but honestly, we were out, busy, seeing the park most of the time and the comfort of the room and the bed was what counted. Wifi was efficient, aircon not noisy and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alli S, Guest Relations Manager at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Elizabeth,

We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and all of the activities surrounding our hotel!

We are perfectly located, which makes your vacation easy and convenient. If you are a coffee drinker, you should try the espresso we offer, we hear it's a hit! Also, try out our pool, it has a great view while you enjoy your swim! On a different note, we recently changed our bedding and replaced our televisions to flat screens.

We appreciate you taking time to give such positive feedback about your recent stay. Again, we are truly happy that you enjoyed yourself! We hope to see you again sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Alli
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramona, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at the Pioneer Lodge on the 30th of June and the first of July. The room appeared to be clean the first day, but on the day we checked out there was a big roach walking across the floor (see attached photo). When we booked the hotel, the reservation stated that we had booked a second floor room with a canyon view, when we checked in, I looked around it was two separate buildings, with all room fronts facing the parking lot and each other. The back of the room was the bathroom and shower, so I am not sure how they could say they had rooms with canyon views, unless you stand on the walkway of the second floor and look over the other buildings.

Other than the the roach, the rooms appeared to be clean, although the bedspread had two holes in it.

Outside every non-smoking room was an ashtray, they remained full of cigaret butts the entire time we were there, no one in our room, or the room next to us smoked, so they had to have been there for over two days.

To get into the pool you had to reach through the gate and twist the inside handle (safety first), every towel that we saw had holes in it.

The restaurant was fine for breakfast and as hotel guests we received a 25% discount, but we ate dinner there one night, and it was just okay, the server gave us a 20% off card, not sure if she was just being nice, or if she gave it to all hotel guests, but it didn't make the meal worth it.

We went to check out on the last morning we were there, I started packing at 0530am and went by the office, no one was there, but the sign said open, call someone, it remained until we finally locked our keys in the room and departed at 0830.

Other than the above listed items, the bus system for the town was great, ran from about 0600 each morning until 8pm. Zion park was also great!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alli S, Guest Relations Manager at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Rob,

It is unfortunate that we did not exceed you expectations during your stay!

Our location makes traveling easy and convenient being that we are about a two mile drive to the entrance of Zion Nation Park, a popular tourist spot, with the option to take a shuttle as well! We hope you were able to visit! Also, we are located within walking distance to just about any restaurant in town. We also hope you enjoyed our pool, as the pool offers a great view of the mountains especially at sunset.

Thank you for taking time to leave an honest review regarding your stay at our hotel, we hope you will return soon!

Sincerely,
Alli
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our stay at Pioneer lodge was a great experience. The staff is very welcoming and they go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant experience. The Hotel is only about a mile to the Zion Park entrance but even if the Visitor Center is full, there are plenty of shuttles available. The Hotel Cafe offers a 25% discount for guests which I also highly recommend. Pioneer is right in the middle of town making it very convenient to walk just about everywhere. Pioneers rooms are contemporary rustic (with modern conveniences) but are very clean and the maid service left our room looking fresh each day we returned from hiking.

Room Tip: I like the bottom floor to avoid stairs and somehow you barely know there's people above you so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alli S, Guest Relations Manager at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Ken,

We are please to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

As you said, we are very conveniently located, right in the middle of everything in town. If you have any questions regarding restaurants or local activities, our staff is always happy to make suggestions as well. We are glad that you enjoyed the rustic look of our rooms. We recently replaced our televisions and got new bedding for our beds!

Next time you are in town, please come stay with us again and try out our pool. It has great views of the mountains! Thank you for your feedback, it is always great for us to know what it is that we are doing right, and even wrong, to continue to provide excellent service for each of our guests.

Sincerely,
Alli
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The motel has 2 stories on 2 sides. Our first room was adjacent to a barking dog, we asked to be given a different room - no problems. Our room was spacious, with fridge, coffee making facilities and microwave. We loved the furnishings and the buildings - old west style with all the furniture being made of wood - very rustic. Also a bench to sit on outside and watch the sun setting over the mountains - beautiful!

The motel is located at the edge of Zion National park and there is a free shuttle service which takes you round, with a commentary by the driver. You can get off and on the bus when you like. Note of warning - remember the time change! We arrived late afternoon and hadn't realised this, so nearly missed our tour! :)

The motel has an on site restaurant, pool and laundry facilities. Although we had air con - it didn't work although it had just been fitted 2 days beforehand. Because the rooms were fully booked, we couldn't be moved, instead we were given a discount on the room rates. If you want to stay here, I'd advise you to book well ahead as it's a very popular motel and area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinty_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbank, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Everything was clean, and things were anticipated, and taken care of ahead of time. (security lights, door locks, area cameras were working) I felt safe. A/c working great. They even had a generator hookup for the complex and resturant, just in case. (Ben is a brilliant man) The resturant food was good quality, with good portions. The room had a great pioneer style decor and a comfy bed too.. They even had a propane grill for those who like to cook. Ben is an outstanding hospitality owner/manager! He wants to please his customers, this is a good place.
The front desk workers were on top of everything. Very impressed!

Room Tip: No smoking rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lela429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were excited to get to Zion. We pulled into the hotel about 3:00 and checked in. Dropped off our bags and tried to set the AC control. We thought we changed it from 85 to 68. The room was hot. Went to Zion and did some hiking came back to the room and it was still 85 degrees. We adjusted the system down to 68 and went to dinner. Came back from dinner and room was freezing. Messed with AC for 30 minutes and no luck. AC has a bright blue light which shown in our faces all night. Pillows were terrible and spent most of the night trying to get comfortable where wind was not blowing on our faces and light was not in our eyes. Did not want to turn off the AC because it was 101 degrees during the day and 80 at night. Overall everything was clean, but system set up and AC location made it impossible to sleep. One of the worst experiences I have ever had.

Room Tip: Make sure the AC is not hooked up to the ceiling in a corner of the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyman9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,858 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#13 of 16 in Springdale
738 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Pioneer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Pioneer Lodge

Property: Historic Pioneer Lodge
Address: 838 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
#12 Family Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Pioneer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Pioneer Lodge and Restaurant is centrally located in downtown Springdale near the entrance of Zion National Park. We have 40 beautifully appointed rooms in rustic western decor. There is a jacuzzi suite, a one bedroom apartment and a 3 bedroom apartment. On location we have a full service restaurant, open 7 days a week serving excellent quality meals, an Internet Cafe/Espresso Bar and gift shoppe. There is a outdoor pool and jacuzzi. We have guest laundry facilities. Our property has been totally renovated in 2006. We pride ourself in excellent customer service with a relaxing home away from home attitude. We have a 4 diamond rating with AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Pioneer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Historic Pioneer Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing