We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I could have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Historic Pioneer Lodge
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Springdale
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The beds in this place are evil, they make you want to sleep in longer than you should. Nice rustic feel. Everything was well maintained. If you have a larger SUV or truck you may not fit in their parking lot.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alli S, Guest Relations Manager at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear James,

We encourage you to sleep longer while you are on vacation staying with us! A little extra sleep in our beds is never a bad thing, it gives you more energy to explore more of Springdale, perhaps Zion National Park! We share the same liking for the rustic feel of the property, I always feel more at home with rustic decor. If you ever run into a problem with parking a large vehicle, just speak with our manager, Ben, and he would be happy to point you in the direction of better SUV parking. We do have a few spots right in front of the lodge that may be preferable as well.

I am really happy you had the chance to stay with us during your travels. You should consider coming back again soon! There are a lot of events that happen in the city in the coming months like the music festival in September or Octoberfest in October.We also offer 25% breakfast at the Pioneer Restaurant, a great bargain!

We appreciate your kind comments about your stay. We like to know that our guests enjoyed themselves on their vacations. We hope that we will see you soon!

Sincerely,
Alli
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 1,239 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

We spent one night and had two rooms: a double and a suite. The rooms were large, and the suite had two bathrooms and a kitchen. The suite had a slightly strange smell which, I think, came from the aircon. This is a nice clean hotel and is really well located for a visit to Zion Park. The breakfast was good and there are shops close by. The hotel should probably update its website as it does not do it justice. We really enjoyed our stay here, and Zion Park is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 13Screen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alli S, Guest Relations Manager at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I hope that you and your family had a great time at Zion National Park! Thankfully for guests such as you and your family, we are just a short drive from the entrance. Another cool, convenient thing about staying with us is the option to go to breakfast at the Pioneer Restaurant where we give our guests 25% off! Hopefully you and your family ate a big breakfast before exploring the park!

Since we replaced our TVs and bedding not too long ago, we are working on updating our website photos to reflect our beautiful property! Thank you so very much for taking a moment to share your awesome experience with us and giving a spot on review of our hotel. We hope your time with us will encourage you and you family to come back again soon, maybe for the art festival at Zion in November! We hope to see you on your next trip through Springdale!

Sincerely,
Alli
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I love the set up of the 3 bedroom suite. It was perfect for our family. There is a reasonably sized kitchen and a small living area, but that worked for us since there were three separate bedrooms with tvs and doors. The two bathrooms were great! The kitchen is missing a few things, but overall pleased with what it did have. The set up allowed for shared time when we wanted it and privacy when we didn't.

One of the bathrooms shows the sign of some significant water damage between the sink and the shower - which was considered too small by the men in our group. Housekeeping's dryer was out, so they monopolized the dryers in the small laundry room. Instead of making one of the dryers available to us, the front office suggested we use the laundromat across the street- which in hindsight may have been a kindness since it was much more efficient, but didn't feel like great customer service at the time. The wifi was temperamental, but we were there for the outdoors, so this wasn't a major issue.
On one day, housekeeping took money that was left out for my son to get lunch. We had told them previously that we didn't need service, but perhaps the message didn't get to the right person. I guess they thought the money was a tip.

The pool door was not working correctly and we had to reach through to unlock the door to enter the pool area - which was fine, but when the door wouldn't open for those of us in the pool area, we were trapped - which was not fine.

Room Tip: I can only recommend the three bedroom suite and that comes with some reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingmom605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed in the large room right above the registration area. It had a kitchenette, two queen beds and a living room area. The best part was having two bathrooms, as the one attached to the bedroom is very small and outdated.
Upon entering the room we immediately noticed a stench that smelled unclean. The furniture in the room seemed as if it may have been from a 2nd hand store. The carpet.....needs to be changed for sure!! I did not want to walk on the carpet with my bare feet. The towels are all thread bare and need replacing.
Overall, it is just an old motel...."Historic" is too charming of a description. The housekeeping service seemed on task and we have no complaints there. But This hotel is very "tired" and would do well to renovate their rooms.

Room Tip: Room above office has windows to street and it can be a bit noisier as well as not enough privacy. L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SusanWPetaluma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had a nice, large and clean room with fridge & microwave. Friendly and carefull reception.
Also good restaurant with nice food and Coffee shop next to the reception. Very good location to take shuttle bus to Zion.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The people at this quaint motel are friendly and helpful, and it has a definite small-town feel to it. Our room was clean and comfortable, although it was fairly small. The view from the balcony just outside the rooms of the cliffs of Zion canyon are amazing.

While we were there, a small shower came through, leaving behind a full double rainbow over the cliffs, perfectly framing the large tree in the parking lot. I've attached a pic shot from my phone, but it was much more impressive to the eye--a full double rainbow.

That parking lot is very tight, so be very careful maneuvering in and out and parking. There is enough room, but no extra.

The pool and jacuzzi are very nice after a day of hiking at Zion or Bryce.

We did not discover until we were about to leave after four days that there were denser pillows in the cabinet, that would have been more comfortable than the foam pillows on the bed.

We were very happy to stay at this wonderful place, and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the "canyon view" rooms. You'll be glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BrianGroover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our stay was wonderful. The room was beautifully decorated, cozy, comfy and literally just a mile or two from the entrance to Zion National Park. The town is adorable and everything is within walking distance. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SheNowlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alli S, Guest Relations Manager at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are excited to hear that you loved our hotel and we are even more excited to hear you will be returning!

Our hotel location is as good as it gets being that it is so close to a large, popular attraction! We are glad you enjoyed our rooms. We just replaced our televisions, as well as the bedding to give us a more up-to-date feel.

Thank you for taking time to give us your honest opinion of our hotel during your stay. Next time you stay with us, try out our pool, it has a great view! We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Alli
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
0.8 mi away
Driftwood Lodge
Driftwood Lodge
#8 of 17 in Springdale
814 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
0.6 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#4 of 17 in Springdale
1,959 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#14 of 17 in Springdale
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Pioneer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Pioneer Lodge

Address: 838 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Springdale
#12 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
Price Range: £50 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Pioneer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Pioneer Lodge and Restaurant is centrally located in downtown Springdale near the entrance of Zion National Park. We have 40 beautifully appointed rooms in rustic western decor. There is a jacuzzi suite, a one bedroom apartment and a 3 bedroom apartment. On location we have a full service restaurant, open 7 days a week serving excellent quality meals, an Internet Cafe/Espresso Bar and gift shoppe. There is a outdoor pool and jacuzzi. We have guest laundry facilities. Our property has been totally renovated in 2006. We pride ourself in excellent customer service with a relaxing home away from home attitude. We have a 4 diamond rating with AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Historic Pioneer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Historic Pioneer Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing