We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Historic Pioneer Lodge
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
San Marcos, CA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Value and location”
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We stayed at the Pioneer Lodge over Father's Day Weekend. Excellent location in Springdale close to everything. Easy access to shuttle stop. The room was small but clean and well appointed. The beds were very comfortable with nice linens. The front desk would not check us in early. We went to the restaurant for breakfast and it was a bit over priced and nothing special. Excellent food at other places, would not waste time at this restaurant. The coffee shop was nice but one morning had a funky smell. I also had to wait for service because there was not a separate coffee bar employee at the time I was there. Went to Mean Bean just up the road, better service. I recommend this hotel for it's great location and quaint rustic decor.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3davisons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    479
    183
    58
    45
See reviews for
362
490
61
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Staff at check in & restaurant was friendly. It is in a great location near Zion with great views & all the tourist shops/restaurants within walking distance. I was able to leave my car parked there & take a quick shuttle ride into Zion. Breakfast at the restaurant was ok, but for the money I should've gone elsewhere. A 10% off coupon was given for the restaurant & coffee shop. Room was crowded and I think I got lucky with sound as I was on the top floor & no one was in the room next to me. I could hear outside noise. There was an overwhelming orange air freshener smell that got old after 10 minutes. I could tell they'd invested in some renovations, but the bedding was my big issue. From the pics, some rooms may have new white bedding. Mine didn't. The sheets were worn & I found several hairs on them. The bedspread was stained & it was unclear how clean it was as it was dark red. Until they invest in better linens & cleaning I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LikeToLeave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading UK
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Pioneer Lodge, which offers comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price for visitors to Zion. It deserves its high rating on Tripadvisor.

We arrived early for check-in as our journey from Las Vegas had been quicker than we anticipated, but received a warm welcome with no comment on our early arrival. Our room was very clean and comfortable with furniture in a rather extreme rustic style which did take up a lot of room! The bed was the most comfortable of our whole trip.

We were unsure about the restaurant having read some previous reviews, but found it quite adequate although I avoided the salad bar with its tired looking items. You don't visit Utah for the food, and our rather low expectations were met at the Pioneer as elsewhere.The seperate coffee shop though had good coffee and baked goods .

Springdale itself is a delightful little town, and we were within walking distance of everything we needed, including the bank, a supermarket, the liquor store, several restaurants, and the free shuttle bus into Zion.

A bonus for us was the humming bird nesting just outside our room (behind the tree), up in the rafters!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Convenient to everything in Springdale and shuttle to Zion Park. Enthusiastic, friendly staff. Excellent coffees and baked goods. Free WiFi a plus!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Stayed here for a night, and found it to be very comfortable.

The rooms were pleasant, with a wooden, rustic feel to them. They were well equipped, had comfy beds, free wi-fi, and very good information on the town and Zion National park. The motel is very centrally located in Springdale, which itself is a beautiful little town overlooked by the red and white mountains.

The hotel also provided a well equipped guest laundry, a great little coffee shop, and a restaurant which was very helpful in accommodating late arriving travellers. The staff were very friendly. Would definitely recommend this place if visiting Zion National Park (which is just breathtaking).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisP26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

this is a small place with small rooms. clean and fairly comfortable. room had too much furniture for its size. price was competitive for the area but high compared to typical motels of its age and stature. really good baked goods in the lobby coffee shop. internet access is not free and was poor. the separate restaurant was not very good.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank structed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Very pleasant staff and well kept grounds. We visited Zion for our honeymoon and chose this hotel from TripAdvisor.com. We were very pleased at the level of cleanliness and hospitality of the Lodge's staff. We did not have one unpleasant experience during our stay here.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlacik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#4 of 16 in Springdale
1,859 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#13 of 16 in Springdale
738 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Pioneer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Pioneer Lodge

Property: Historic Pioneer Lodge
Address: 838 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Springdale
#12 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Pioneer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Pioneer Lodge and Restaurant is centrally located in downtown Springdale near the entrance of Zion National Park. We have 40 beautifully appointed rooms in rustic western decor. There is a jacuzzi suite, a one bedroom apartment and a 3 bedroom apartment. On location we have a full service restaurant, open 7 days a week serving excellent quality meals, an Internet Cafe/Espresso Bar and gift shoppe. There is a outdoor pool and jacuzzi. We have guest laundry facilities. Our property has been totally renovated in 2006. We pride ourself in excellent customer service with a relaxing home away from home attitude. We have a 4 diamond rating with AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Pioneer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Historic Pioneer Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing