We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Historic Pioneer Lodge
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Springdale
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We pre booked a nights stay here to be close to The Zion National Park, and when we drove here from las vegas we were not dissapointed. Springdale itself is a lovely oldyworldy place and was exactly what we were expecting. The lodge was quaint and rustic - made us feel like we were in an old cowboy town. Fabulous. The room was spacious and clean, loved the small kitchenette with microwave and fridge - perfect for keeping our water bottles cold for the days in the parks.
Check in was prompt and professional, loved the coffee shop in reception, served great coffee.
The pool was just right, a basic pool with jaquzzi. The views of the mountains astounding from the pool. We couldnt get the kids out of it.
We ate at the pionner restauaunt, service was superb and the food excellent value for money - all four of us (including fussy kids) enjoyed our food.
Fantastic sweet shop in the town - mmm.
All in all fantastic accomadation, fantastic town and fantastically friendly people. We would love to come back here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sukidsntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

909 - 915 of 1,239 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2010

Zion National Park is stunningly beautiful. This little motel is in the center of little Springdale, so you are near cute shops, a laundromat, outfitters and a few restaurants. The rooms are cozy and modern, with wooden accents, but a small fridge and microwave. You open your door to a view of the mountains. The small pool and hot tub has a great view of the mountains as well. You are right on the shuttle line, so you don't need to drive your car once you arrive there.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BluegrassJayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We stayed at the Pioneer Lodge over Father's Day Weekend. Excellent location in Springdale close to everything. Easy access to shuttle stop. The room was small but clean and well appointed. The beds were very comfortable with nice linens. The front desk would not check us in early. We went to the restaurant for breakfast and it was a bit over priced and nothing special. Excellent food at other places, would not waste time at this restaurant. The coffee shop was nice but one morning had a funky smell. I also had to wait for service because there was not a separate coffee bar employee at the time I was there. Went to Mean Bean just up the road, better service. I recommend this hotel for it's great location and quaint rustic decor.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3davisons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Staff at check in & restaurant was friendly. It is in a great location near Zion with great views & all the tourist shops/restaurants within walking distance. I was able to leave my car parked there & take a quick shuttle ride into Zion. Breakfast at the restaurant was ok, but for the money I should've gone elsewhere. A 10% off coupon was given for the restaurant & coffee shop. Room was crowded and I think I got lucky with sound as I was on the top floor & no one was in the room next to me. I could hear outside noise. There was an overwhelming orange air freshener smell that got old after 10 minutes. I could tell they'd invested in some renovations, but the bedding was my big issue. From the pics, some rooms may have new white bedding. Mine didn't. The sheets were worn & I found several hairs on them. The bedspread was stained & it was unclear how clean it was as it was dark red. Until they invest in better linens & cleaning I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LikeToLeave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Pioneer Lodge, which offers comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price for visitors to Zion. It deserves its high rating on Tripadvisor.

We arrived early for check-in as our journey from Las Vegas had been quicker than we anticipated, but received a warm welcome with no comment on our early arrival. Our room was very clean and comfortable with furniture in a rather extreme rustic style which did take up a lot of room! The bed was the most comfortable of our whole trip.

We were unsure about the restaurant having read some previous reviews, but found it quite adequate although I avoided the salad bar with its tired looking items. You don't visit Utah for the food, and our rather low expectations were met at the Pioneer as elsewhere.The seperate coffee shop though had good coffee and baked goods .

Springdale itself is a delightful little town, and we were within walking distance of everything we needed, including the bank, a supermarket, the liquor store, several restaurants, and the free shuttle bus into Zion.

A bonus for us was the humming bird nesting just outside our room (behind the tree), up in the rafters!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Convenient to everything in Springdale and shuttle to Zion Park. Enthusiastic, friendly staff. Excellent coffees and baked goods. Free WiFi a plus!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Stayed here for a night, and found it to be very comfortable.

The rooms were pleasant, with a wooden, rustic feel to them. They were well equipped, had comfy beds, free wi-fi, and very good information on the town and Zion National park. The motel is very centrally located in Springdale, which itself is a beautiful little town overlooked by the red and white mountains.

The hotel also provided a well equipped guest laundry, a great little coffee shop, and a restaurant which was very helpful in accommodating late arriving travellers. The staff were very friendly. Would definitely recommend this place if visiting Zion National Park (which is just breathtaking).

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisP26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
0.8 mi away
Driftwood Lodge
Driftwood Lodge
#8 of 17 in Springdale
813 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
0.6 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#4 of 17 in Springdale
1,959 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#14 of 17 in Springdale
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Pioneer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Pioneer Lodge

Address: 838 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
#12 Family Hotel in Springdale
Price Range: £50 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Pioneer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Pioneer Lodge and Restaurant is centrally located in downtown Springdale near the entrance of Zion National Park. We have 40 beautifully appointed rooms in rustic western decor. There is a jacuzzi suite, a one bedroom apartment and a 3 bedroom apartment. On location we have a full service restaurant, open 7 days a week serving excellent quality meals, an Internet Cafe/Espresso Bar and gift shoppe. There is a outdoor pool and jacuzzi. We have guest laundry facilities. Our property has been totally renovated in 2006. We pride ourself in excellent customer service with a relaxing home away from home attitude. We have a 4 diamond rating with AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Historic Pioneer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Historic Pioneer Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing