We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Springdale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Historic Pioneer Lodge
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Springdale
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Outstanding hotel - very modern rooms/suites, great location to Zion Nat'l park. Zion shuttle is very close - less than 200 ft.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler01450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

886 - 892 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2010

This is the second time we stayed here. We are in room 111 which has "3" bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, livingroom and large kitchen. The beds are very comfortable. There is 4 tv's which is crazy. We loved the pool area and hot tub. There is free wifi.
Service is excellent.
We like this place as our teen aged kids get there own room, there is room to spread out and we can cook our own meals.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canadian-eh777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Unofrtunately we only stayed here for 1 night, we wish we had planned in longer.

Pulled up to the hotel and thought it was another motel. The room size was ok, a nice touch having a fridge. Beds were lovely.
Pool fantastic. We had it to ourselves for a while and couldnt believe we were lying on a lounger looking at such fantastic views.
Shuttle buses to the park stop almost right outside and Springdale itself was a lovely town

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank angie-mc-0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Came down through Zion NP to the next overnight stay at Springdale, what a gem, young desk staff, very helpful and friendly. Rooms were lovely,pool great, had dinner at pioneer restaurant and you got 10% off meal if you stayed at hotel, food was more than generous and staff in there were lovely too. Springdale is a little place with a mixture of shops from arty shops to a lovely bookshop and a well stocked supermarket. Great views from hotel verandah, we were in an upstairs room, from experience always ask for an upstairs room whenever you stop in one these types of motels then you dont hear people walking about above your head. Lovely place to stay would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights, visiting Zion. The only negative I really have to say is they enforced a strict 3pm check in policy [we arrived at 1pm], and the girl was abit rude about it, and not very helpful when I asked about the town. Room was very nice, was a changed to have a different looking room for a change. They have a nice little pool, looking at the mountains, was lovely to sit and admire the view. Only 5-10mins drive to get to the park, the town of Springdale is very cute, I loved it and they had great restaurants [try Oscars]. We had breakfast one morning from the coffee shop, which was nasty. Free parking, though the lot got crowded, coffee maker, fridge and microwave in the room too.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmaxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

It was Thanksgiving weekend 2008 and we ventured from Salt Lake City to Zion National Park for Thanksgiving weekend. The Pioneer Lodge is in an excellent location--it's just outside the entrance of the park. The rooms are enormous, which was so nice. Thank goodness we had a king-size bed because my side of the bed was a foxhole. We laugh about it now, but at the time, it was so unfortunate. I couldn't even turn around at night and so the last two nights I slept in the middle of the bed, which of course, crowded my husband a bit.

The staff was extremely nice and would have moved us to another room if they hadn't been completely booked. Oh well, we're going to try another hotel this next Thanksgiving.

The restaurant, is not exactly "home made cooking at it's finest," as claimed on their website. We had Thanksgiving dinner there and it would have been nice if the pumpkin pie hadn't been served on paper plates. Am I mad? Nahhhh. Just a little surprised. But I suppose it's nice having a restaurant onsite, yet there's still plenty of restaurants around.

Not a bad place overall, but just average. We were dazzled by anything in particular. Give it a shot, if you'd like, but ask about the mattresses.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsBoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

This motel is in an excellent location in Springdale literally 5 minutes from the Zion NP entrance. The Zion shuttle bus stops right outside the hotel as well. A number of shops and restaurants are located immediatley adjacent to the motel.

We stayed here for two nights on 10th and 11th July 2010. On first arriving we were rather disappointed at the appearance of the motel. It is a modern two storey two wing motel - not sure what's historic about it? Anyway the rooms were a nice surprise - they are fitted to a high standard and have rustic and comfortable furniture in them. The rooms were clean. There was a fridge and microwave. The bathroom, sink area was small but we managed even with four in the room. There was free wifi in the rooms too.

One odd thing was that they didn't make up either of our two rooms between our first and second night. The maid - a youngster - asked how many towels we wanted and then left - we expected the room to be made when we were at the park but it wasn't which was rather odd considering the price charged!!

There is a nice outdoor pool and hot pool located at the rear of the property with great views of the Zion mountains all around.

Springdale is absolutely the place to stay when visiting Zion and is an easy drive from Las Vegas.

I'd certainly stay here again and just make sure they make the room up!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewT39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#14 of 17 in Springdale
772 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Montclair
0.8 mi away
Driftwood Lodge
Driftwood Lodge
#8 of 17 in Springdale
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Pioneer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Pioneer Lodge

Address: 838 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
#12 Family Hotel in Springdale
Price Range: £65 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Pioneer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Pioneer Lodge and Restaurant is centrally located in downtown Springdale near the entrance of Zion National Park. We have 40 beautifully appointed rooms in rustic western decor. There is a jacuzzi suite, a one bedroom apartment and a 3 bedroom apartment. On location we have a full service restaurant, open 7 days a week serving excellent quality meals, an Internet Cafe/Espresso Bar and gift shoppe. There is a outdoor pool and jacuzzi. We have guest laundry facilities. Our property has been totally renovated in 2006. We pride ourself in excellent customer service with a relaxing home away from home attitude. We have a 4 diamond rating with AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Historic Pioneer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Historic Pioneer Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing