We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the center of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Historic Pioneer Lodge
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Hilliard, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“In the center of town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

Older hotel with updated rooms in the small town of Springdale. Beds were a little on the soft side. Stayed two nights. Close to everything and if not just jump on the free shuttle. Nice sidewalks to walk all over town too. Breakfast at their restaurant was a bit pricey. Parking can be a problem even in a small vehicle. Beautiful view from the porch outside your room.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandmalovestravling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    463
    169
    54
    45
See reviews for
340
476
59
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

This is the best hotel we stayed in during our road trip in the Southwest. After visiting the wonderful Zion NP and the ghost town of Grafton (don't miss it, you'll really feel like a pioneer there), we stayed in Springdale at the Pioneer Lodge. The outside has nothing special but the rooms are sooo cute... it is really a traditionnal wooden lodge. The only negative point is that we couldn't sleep because of a huge thunderstorm, and it was really hot because we had to turn off the AC (too loud). We had dinner at the hotel restaurant, which is good but rather classical. There, we saw a real cow-boy (an old man who could pretty well have played in a western movie). The town itself is rich and a little overdone, but nice to stay at.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WonderPoupette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

The Pioneer Lodge is nothing fancy but suited us just fine. It's within walking distance of shops, restaurants and the Springdale shuttle. It was clean, staff were friendly and I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

We arrived after a lovely drive via Valley of Fire from Las Vegas check in was very quick even though a hiking group were booking in at the same time, the room was really lovely beds very comfortable and everything very clean. The pool and hot tub were clean and we really enjoyed cooling down after a day of hiking. The shuttle stops just outside and is very convienient. We had breakfast at the restaurant it was very good. I also used the internet at the cafe and found it very quick. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essexoldgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
322 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

The rooms are very nice with a log cabin feel to them. Check in / check out was a breeze. The Restaruant that they have on the premises was a nice relaxed kind of place with good food. The rooms were very clean and comfy. The only complaint I have is that the parking spaces are a bit small. I was parked between to big SUVs and had to get out of the back hatch of our rental.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 63impala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

This was a great choice. It is right in the center of town and the bus that takes you to Zion visitors center stops right out front. The rooms were very nicely decorated and the beds were very comfortable. Clean, clean rooms. Pool and hot tub were great too. My only complaint was parking - very tight and no free internet access! They had a great breakfast buffet at their restaurant for $9.99 including juice!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbobgyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
164 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

I recently stayed here for 1 night while on a guided hiking trip in Zion National Park with a small group.

The hotel bills itself as "The Historic Pioneer Lodge Mountain Resort" on its informative web site; however, I would characterize it as typical 2-story motel style construction rather than a lodge.

Pioneer Lodge has 43 well appointed rooms and 2 family apartments. The various accommodations and amenities are described including photos on their web site so I won't rehash all of that here.

I stayed in room 122 and found it to be roomy, clean and comfortable. It contained 2 queen beds, a freestanding wooden closet, a freestanding armoire with TV and additional storage, and a microwave, refrigerator and stocked coffee maker. The bathroom contained a tub with shower and a toilet. The bed was comfortable for me. My only beef with this room was the air conditioner. While billed on their web site as "quiet", I found it quite loud when it cycled on in the night and it woke me up every time it did.

The property includes a restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and a separate Internet cafe/coffee shop that offers baked goods and sandwiches. I used the Internet here and found the connection to be fast - the coffee was good also. I only ate one meal in the restaurant, the breakfast buffet, and I would rate it average.

Springdale is a nice town with many restaurants and shops, and is just minutes from the south entrance to Zion NP. The Springdale Shuttle stops at six locations in Springdale and takes you to the Zion Canyon Visitor Center where you can transfer to the Zion Canyon Shuttle, which stops at eight locations in the park. You may get on and off the shuttles as often as you like and riding the shuttles is free. The shuttles run from April through October. Springdale is an easy 3 hour drive from Las Vegas.

I would stay at Pioneer Lodge again and would not hesitate to recommend it. My individual ratings on the 6 categories averged out to an even 4; therefore the 4 rating overall. If you are visiting Zion NP, it is hard to beat the location and value.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustinWhitewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
0.6 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#12 of 16 in Springdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
0.7 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Pioneer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Pioneer Lodge

Property: Historic Pioneer Lodge
Address: 838 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
#12 Family Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Pioneer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Pioneer Lodge and Restaurant is centrally located in downtown Springdale near the entrance of Zion National Park. We have 40 beautifully appointed rooms in rustic western decor. There is a jacuzzi suite, a one bedroom apartment and a 3 bedroom apartment. On location we have a full service restaurant, open 7 days a week serving excellent quality meals, an Internet Cafe/Espresso Bar and gift shoppe. There is a outdoor pool and jacuzzi. We have guest laundry facilities. Our property has been totally renovated in 2006. We pride ourself in excellent customer service with a relaxing home away from home attitude. We have a 4 diamond rating with AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Historic Pioneer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Historic Pioneer Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing