We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Historic Pioneer Lodge
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Rooms were small but tastefully decorated and comfortable. Our window latch was broken and wouldn't lock, but Skeeter devised something to put in the track so that we wouldn't have to change rooms. (We were unpacked and dreaded the thought of packing up again.) The latch seems to be poorly designed so I recommend checking it before you unpack. Our light fixture above the beds did make a shocking type noise (but no actual shock) about every 5th time we touched it. Other than those 2 minor problems everything was great. Location was great, close to the park and restaurants. Skeeter and other staff were pleasant and helpful. The lodge was full at least one night of the 3 we were there, so parking was very tight. Restaurants in town are a little pricey but they have a captive. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bogeysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    471
    174
    56
    45
See reviews for
346
485
60
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

My son and I had rooms at the Pioneer Lodge for three nights and highly recommend it. The rooms were clean, nicely decorated, and well thought out. The service was friendly and great--we left our luggage there early in the day before check-in and our bags were in our rooms (with the correct bags in each room) when we came back later in the day. It's well situated in the center of town, with restaurants, shops, and the shuttle stop just steps away. We had no problem with noise either.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCLieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Everything we wanted in a straightforward motel setting ... and what a setting, the best mother nature provides. Great coffee shop in the guest lounge with free computer access (free wifi throughout). Pioneer restaurant available for takeout if you want to eat in. Great beds, adequate TV service, coffee, frig, great secure pool and hot tub area away from the road. Very pleasant and helpful folks running the place and keeping it serviced. Clean, neat and crisp. A good value.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValueNose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilliard, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Older hotel with updated rooms in the small town of Springdale. Beds were a little on the soft side. Stayed two nights. Close to everything and if not just jump on the free shuttle. Nice sidewalks to walk all over town too. Breakfast at their restaurant was a bit pricey. Parking can be a problem even in a small vehicle. Beautiful view from the porch outside your room.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandmalovestravling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

This is the best hotel we stayed in during our road trip in the Southwest. After visiting the wonderful Zion NP and the ghost town of Grafton (don't miss it, you'll really feel like a pioneer there), we stayed in Springdale at the Pioneer Lodge. The outside has nothing special but the rooms are sooo cute... it is really a traditionnal wooden lodge. The only negative point is that we couldn't sleep because of a huge thunderstorm, and it was really hot because we had to turn off the AC (too loud). We had dinner at the hotel restaurant, which is good but rather classical. There, we saw a real cow-boy (an old man who could pretty well have played in a western movie). The town itself is rich and a little overdone, but nice to stay at.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WonderPoupette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

The Pioneer Lodge is nothing fancy but suited us just fine. It's within walking distance of shops, restaurants and the Springdale shuttle. It was clean, staff were friendly and I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We arrived after a lovely drive via Valley of Fire from Las Vegas check in was very quick even though a hiking group were booking in at the same time, the room was really lovely beds very comfortable and everything very clean. The pool and hot tub were clean and we really enjoyed cooling down after a day of hiking. The shuttle stops just outside and is very convienient. We had breakfast at the restaurant it was very good. I also used the internet at the cafe and found it very quick. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essexoldgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,829 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#13 of 16 in Springdale
721 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Pioneer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Pioneer Lodge

Property: Historic Pioneer Lodge
Address: 838 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Springdale
#12 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Pioneer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Pioneer Lodge and Restaurant is centrally located in downtown Springdale near the entrance of Zion National Park. We have 40 beautifully appointed rooms in rustic western decor. There is a jacuzzi suite, a one bedroom apartment and a 3 bedroom apartment. On location we have a full service restaurant, open 7 days a week serving excellent quality meals, an Internet Cafe/Espresso Bar and gift shoppe. There is a outdoor pool and jacuzzi. We have guest laundry facilities. Our property has been totally renovated in 2006. We pride ourself in excellent customer service with a relaxing home away from home attitude. We have a 4 diamond rating with AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Pioneer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Historic Pioneer Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing