We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistency is the key”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Rock HomeStay
Ranked #1 of 3 Kunchithanny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Consistency is the key”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, booking from Fort Cochin.

The room was wow. Big bed with air con, clean bathroom, tv and a great balcony to sit out on.

The surrounding view is amazing looking right over the river.

Mr and Mrs Verghese are great hosts and the food was really good.

The key ingredient to be excellent in my book needs to be consistency.

Some days the shower wasn't that hot. The wifi was very patchy. I wonder if another router is needed for the building with the rooms.

The food was really good but some days were a bit basic compared to others. Once you serve really good food for 1 meal it needs to be the standard for the rest of the time.

Overall I would recommend this place if you have a driver. If not Mr Verghese can arrange one for the day in advance.


Tips: walk out the entrance and turn left to reach the village. At the fork in the road head uphill and there are plenty of shops there to get some drinks and maybe beers. If not Munnar has a beer shop.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnRoseJnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    18
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
61
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barto, PA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

The Vargeses are excellent hosts, preparing traditional South Indian fare for breakfast and dinner, and lunch as well if needed. Interesting curries had us guessing at the ingredients. This is a good base for various adventures, reached by taxi or bus. But we enjoyed simply walking along a riverside path, then taking a back road up into the hills. We took the single stand-alone room with its superb view from wide windows and a private balcony. Coffee shrubs were just coming into full bloom, and the gardenia-like scent was nearly overpowering. (Be advised that the curiously tuneless whistling each sunup is not Mr. Vargese going about his chores. I investigated one morning, trying to find him, then noticed that the sound was coming from overhead-- a black, nondescript bird.)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We syayed here for two nights in December 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed it. Mr & Mrs Vergheze are excellent hosts and made us extremely welcome. Mrs V. is a very good cook and the food was first class. I am a confirmed carnivore but still found the vegetarian fare delicious.
The room we had was clean and beautifully furnished. The views from the windows and balcony were breathtaking.
The one problem we had was with the shower which only gave a trickle of cold and a dribble of hot. When I raised the issue with Mr Vergheze he seemed to think it was normal.I know it would take a bit of work, but if the header tank was raised the problem would be solved and the place would indeed become pradise.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms available. We were in the higher one, perhaps the lower one has a better sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rovingoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We enjoyed our stay here very much. Excellent view, nice and clean room with a balcony, and altogether we were taken very good care of. The hosts, a wonderful couple, made delicious food to us. We had some good conversations about india and the area. This is homestay we can highly recommend if you are traveling to Munnar. The Best, Mads and Lotte + two kids!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nyboerieper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at River Rock for 3 nights and loved it. We stayed in one of the newly built rooms with a great balcony. The room is big and tidy, and the bathroom is huge with hot water shower. Wifi is fast but switched off at night. Mr and mrs Verghese are very friendly and extremely helpful with organizing sightseeing, transportation and giving tips on local events. The food is good, traditional food which they will adjust to your preferred level of spice. They will serve your food literally on your plate and only eat after you have finished, which may seem odd to some but is the traditional way in India. There is a back garden towards the river where they grow spices, bananas, and even the coffee you are served for breakfast! The homestay is about 30 mins drive from Munnar, but the drive up is very beautiful past tea plantations, so didn't feel long at all. A taxi to Munnar cost us 400-500 rs. We felt the room was very good value for money and the view from the balcony (and the bed!) was absolutely stunning.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MsSobremesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrockhomes12iduk, Owner at River Rock HomeStay, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you very much for the encouraging comments and understanding us. We have made some arrangements to avoid WIFI power cut off during the night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Beautiful spot, like paradise! View from the beautiful and spacious room into nature. A peaceful place and the owners are great hosts and food was delicious too. Can highly recommend if you look for a relaxing place surrounded by nature.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panchita_suiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kargil, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Its a life time experience excellent rooms one of our friend from fort kochi recommended us to stay here and I must say that I will never forget this experience in my life. I love the room, and the location

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank zairtkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kunchithanny
1.3 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 13 in Chithirapuram
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rivulet Resort
Rivulet Resort
#16 of 96 in Munnar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
2.3 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#1 of 13 in Chithirapuram
5.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Fog Resort & Spa
The Fog Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
1.9 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Rock HomeStay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Rock HomeStay

Property: River Rock HomeStay
Address: Anachal - Kunchithanny Rd | Parayil House, Kunchithanny 685565, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kunchithanny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kunchithanny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Rock Homes is in a village 15 km away from Munnar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your River Rock HomeStay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing