We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smashing place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eaton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mill House Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My family and I stayed here for a long weekend getaway (and for my hubby's birthday).
The cottage was lovely with all the household items you need when away.
The hot-tub was a real hit, spending time after our long walks relaxing in the bubbling water while the dogs were worn out and crashed out.
The area, cottage and owner, Ursula, were all smashing. Ursula was extremely helpful and lovely.
So much to do and so little time...but night time walks with torches were great for our inquisitive girls.
We will retreat here again for a break as a family ... and maybe without the family...lol :)

Room Tip: All the rooms of the cottage we stayed in were lovely and clean with the sound of silence
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunnylaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

So lovely to get away from the hullaballoo into the beautiful vale of Belvoir countryside, Great comfortable accomodation with superb wildlife all around especially a lovely little friendly duck who came into our lives.
Good pubs and pub grub a walk away. Really friendly atmosphere. Ursula was very helpful and a mine of information about local goodies. She even looked after our dogs whilst we were at the pub.
We have booked again for the spring.

Room Tip: Belvoir cottage has four poster bed and lovely roll top bath - really romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rikki317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We rented all 3 cottages for a family get together and had a wonderful time. Weather helped and we were able to sit outside by the stream, great walks around the area and the food at the pub was high quality and friendly (though high end food rather than pub grub). With both his children and grandchildren there, Dad had a wonderful 80th birthday long weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYN3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

just came back from staying here for a weekend, we had a great time the rooms are lovely very clean n tidy spaceous as well. the location is beautiful with a babbling brook and fields to walk round, the two pubs are also lovely there both warm and friendly the food was very nice. there are quiet a few dogs but we were told before arrival and by the end of our stay we were in love with one perticular puppy and now he has a new home with us.we would highly reccomend staying here and are hopefuly returning in july thankyou for a lovely weekend.
mr barnes and mrs barnes

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Despite arriving early, a warm welcome was extended by the owner Ursula. We were promptly shown around our cottage and provided with information on the surrounding area. We found our cottage's equipment, covered basic use for our weekend visit.

The icing on the cake was the hot tub, clean and hot ready for immediate use. We had taken our own plastic glasses to use in the hot tub. There was garden furniture provided and we were able to have our breakfast by the babbling brook. We really enjoyed the surroundings and the peace and quiet.

The cottage is very secluded but within 15 minutes either way there are two pubs. One in the throws of being renovated but very friendly good for a pint. The other The Wheel Inn, you walk across the fields. We had Sunday lunch, food was brilliant, do book it gets very busy.

Would we stay again yes.

by ehazel stayed with 3 friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehazel6570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

What a shame as the location is idyllic and the cottages are beautiful....from the outside! Step inside and it won't take you long to realise that cleanliness is not high on the list of importance. Our cottage, Rutland Cottage, was filthy. It was full of cobwebs and spiders in the wardrobes, behind beds and furniture, in the fire place, kitchen cupboards, everywhere. The grill tray had dripping grease on it, the toaster full of burnt breadcrumbs, and the wood/tile floors were in dire need of a good hoover and mopping. The removable covers on the sofabeds's were disgusting, full of stains and animal hairs. Our bedroom door was hanging off it's hinges and the panels in it had cracks at least 1/4" wide so our children could see us in our bedroom through them. There were only 2 mugs in the kitchen cupboard, 1 long stem glass, 1 small tumbler, and NO tin opener. The shower tray filled with water when we had a shower plus the window opposite the shower was not frosted, it was clear glass with no curtain or blind etc and it was directly opposite the main house so anyone looking could get a full view of anyone standing in the raised shower tray!! To top it all, we couldn't get a single channel on the so called 'freeview' TV. So, would be stay there again? Not on your life. Would we recommend anyone to stay there? Erm....Not on your life. Sad really.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Martyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyday190791, Owner at Mill House Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Mrs O was advised to book Belvoir Cottage with 2 bedrooms 1/d and 1/twin as it would be more suitable for her daughter and son ie; Rutland Cottage had 1/d/bed and 1/d/sofabed.
My Cottages are cleaned on a regular basis and are in good condition they have just been painted, you are welcome to inspect anytime!
The kitchen was fully equiped for 4 persons only ie; not for the large amount of people visiting throught the days that Mrs O occupied Rutland Cottage.
On 29th May 2013 changes to Waltham TV transmitter including Freeview Channel TV retune alert MORE THAN 800000 HOUSEHOLDS IN EAST MIDLANDS ARE WARNED THEIR TV MAY BE AFFECTED BY WORK TO UPGRADE TV REPAIR hence TV OUT OF ACTION!!not my fault.
I asked Mr and Mrs O if everything was fine in Cottage they replied YES! I told them to come to the house if they required anything.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I booked all three cottages for my birthday weekend. 12 of us stayed in the three cottages comfortably and had a great time! The hot tub was a lovely addition and the cottage was surrounded by beautiful countryside. I would highly recommend mill house cottages to anyone looking for a relaxing break. It is situated near some great pubs serving great food. We found the cottages to be very clean and tidy and the owner was very friendly and helpful. The only negative would have to be there was no phone signal. However, there was wifi access.. Overall I can't fault it and would definitely consider going again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mill House Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House Holiday Cottages

Address: Old Mill House 1 Branston Road | Eaton, Eaton NG32 1EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Eaton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Eaton
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing