We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Houblon Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
61
24
9
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
24
9
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsunday lunchbelly porkcooked to perfectionsteak nightexcellent chefquiet villagepuddingthree coursesfull english breakfastgood nights sleepexcellent value for moneynight staygood sizelovely little villagevisited tonightlow ceilings
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Whenever I was in the Grantham region I would stay at the Houblon in Oasby so that a couple of years back I would have ranked this hostelry as five stars. However since it changed ownership early in 2012 the feel, ambiance, and prices have changed; none of them for the better.
Bedrooms desperately need refurbishing. Lunch and evening menus have gone from slightly pricey but interesting to pretentiously expensive. However the beers are still a well kept selection of real ales.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Enjoyed a three course meal of genuine high quality. Proper English ales, good food and great service which cumulated in a friendly, relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere. The steak from the daily specials board was a delight! Whilst many of my friends had the daily pasta dish, or the burger which both received outstanding reviews! The landlord and manageress created a welcoming and open atmosphere, which we found easy to relax in and socialise long into the evening.

Not only have I eaten and drank here, I have also stayed here after a party of a friend, and the room was clean, comfortable and bright.

In conclusion, a high recommendation to anyone wanting to experience good food, cooked well accompanied by great welcoming service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evans287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

It was a real pleasure to discover this lovely pub among small Lincolnshire hamlets. It was packed with friendly locals, had great choice of dishes; the food was fresh, delicious and creative, the service was good and the decor very typically English with its log fire, beams and old oak furniture. We had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Albatros747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

A proper local in every sense of the word, there is great food (the Salmon Gravadlax is superb) with a refreshingly innovative food menu with a comprehensive wine list. The staff are first-rate, both being tentative and friendly. All in all a little gem of a pub in the heart of Lincolnshire.

Looking forward to going back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kungfusal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The Houblon is a breath of fresh air in a county not known for its gourmet credentials. Amongst the dozen times I have eaten here so far I have enjoyed great starters including tempura prawns, tuna crostini, goats cheese salad, spanish charcuterie and delicious mains including chargrilled chicken with white beans and pancetta, cuban burgers and crab linguine. The landlord and staff are extremely affable and I have also enjoyed many a glass of wine perched in the bar here soaking up the atmosphere and having fun with the locals. This is a real jewel in the quiet village of Oasby (and indeed for many miles around) and I can thoroughly recommend a visit. I only haven't stayed here as I am lucky enough to live locally!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Mrs Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews