We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Houblon Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$132
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$84
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eden House Hotel(Grantham)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Grantham A1(Grantham)(Great Value!)
US$54
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$74
US$70
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoke Rochford Hall(Stoke Rochford)
US$105
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
61
24
9
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
24
9
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsunday lunchbelly porkcooked to perfectionsteak nightexcellent chefquiet villagepuddingthree coursesfull english breakfastgood nights sleepexcellent value for moneynight staygood sizelovely little villagevisited tonightlow ceilings
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We visited here to celebrate a family birthday. We didn't stay over night as we live locally. There were 7 of us so we pre booked in advance. The pub is olde worlde and feels very homely. We received a warm welcome and were asked if we would like to go straight to our table. I had prawns to start, they were delicious, I was told the duck and the soup were also equally as tasty. All home cooked. Everyone in our party enjoyed their main courses, make sure you leave room for pudding, they are to die for !!
Would recommend and will visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

lovely old inn set in a very pretty quiet village.. warm friendly service staff could not do enough. fabulous food thanks to john chef/proprieter. Great value too. definately looking forward to returning.

Elizabeth Chapman

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizziechapman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at The Houblon Inn last night, Tuesday April 22nd.The rooms are separate from the hotel and our room was very spacious with comfortable beds and pillows. The pub itself has a great atmosphere and John, the chef and owner of the business, creates beautiful meals. The Houblon Inn is a quaint little pub in the incredibly beautiful little village of Oasby. John was very friendly and helped us out with a problem we had with our sat nav which was refusing to work. We would highly recommend The Houblon Inn as a relaxing place to stay and definitely eat John's delicious and well presented meals.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Went for an early bird meal with friends.
Very enjoyable evening with good straightforward pub food from a menu that should cater for everyone.
Good selection of wines and beers
Attentive service, but not intrusive!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank arthurh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I am writing on behalf of my parents who stayed at this establishment this weekend just gone (21st to 23rd March)

When they arrived at 5.45 the pub was closed, but the owner had just arrived as they got there, they were shown to there room and asked what time they wanted breakfast, but also told that they would have to pay and extra £8.25 per head extra for an English breakfast, however having said that they did enjoy the breakfast.

The bed linen was ripped down the seams and had no proper fastenings at the bottom, there was a satin bed spread which looked very nice but was not practical as it slipped of the bed when you moved in it.

Once they had settled in, they had a look around the room and there were several things that were not up to scratch. The wall paper on the ceiling around the access to the attic was coming off the walls, the shower was generally quite dirty, including the grouting in the shower and the shower tray.

There was no glass for cleaning teeth, and the towels were quite small and very thin, there was only a small amount of toilet paper when they arrived and no spare rolls, so they had to ask another guest for a replacement as the main building was still locked at 8.30am, this was also when they were wanting to go for breakfast.

When the beds were made in the morning the tea and coffee facility were not replenished.

They had one evening meal during there stay and it was excellent, but they found the portions sizing a bit small.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews