We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Place to Eat”
Review of Trout Tree

Trout Tree
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Nanyuki Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A wonderful Place to Eat”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I visited the trout tree a few weeks ago and was completely blown away by the restaurant, set up in a tree house surrounded by beautiful forest it was a real hide-away from reality. with a working trout farm within the grounds there was a lot of trout dishes on the menu but as a fish love that wasn't a drama, however they still had some wonderful other options available two of my friends went for fillet steak skewers which came out in their own little oven and smelt and looked spectacular. myself I went for a pan-fried trout which was sublime as it only came from about 20ft under the table you knew it was fresh. and to top the day of the restaurant is also home to a family of monkeys that are always more than willing to come and help you finish off your meal if your struggling. If ever your near Nanyuki I fully recommend you visit the trout tree.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChiptheChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    113
    36
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always Great”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Location and the trout. Excellent combination, it helps that the drive there involves views to the Aberdares on one side and Mt Kenya on the other.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Coimbrathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome awesome awesome!!!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We made an impromptu visit to this restaurant on our way to nanyuki. This place is quite unique. Built around a tree. Fish straight from the fish tank. Super fresh, super tasty. The ambience was great, the service was outstanding and very reasonably priced. The colobus are just an added entertainment while you sip your drink while admiring the way the restaurant had been built. Oh and the beers are chilled naturally in the river water. Kudos to the management!!!

Helpful?
Thank Bhavesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yummy Trout”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I really like this restaurant. Been going there so many times. Service and food has not gone down. The choice on the menu is very good and makes one think which item to choose! Have to be careful about the Colubus monkeys, as they will try to get your food and get a free meal. I did not mind the Colobus, adds some exictement.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Silas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
620 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Tell worth a visit”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I've visited Kenya many times over the past 20+ years and keep returning to the Trout Tree every time I go... Yes it may be a little rough and ready, but The novelty of eating in a huge tree house with amazing ambiance is second to none... Highly recommended and great value for money, it goes without saying that you have got to try the "fresh" trout, but there are numerous other menu options....

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thebates22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trout Tree also viewed

Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality
Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality
 
Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality
 
Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality
Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality
 

Been to Trout Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing