We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly back to nature (with a little helping hand)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanyuki Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Truly back to nature (with a little helping hand)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We really felt like we were in the middle of a very wild adventure.
A once in a life time stay. Alex the manager and owner of
the site made our stay all the more stuff of legends with his
deep understanding of the ecosystem around us, and was
able to wrap this up into a charismatic almost sometimes almost
fable like stories across the campfire that burnt late into the night.
Staff were on hand pretty much 24/7 to make this back to basics
'glamping' experience run seamlessly.

A truly enchanting and Inspiring stay, nice work guys.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
50
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Another wonderful safari at Bush Camp. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the camp staff and the food is excellent. Great service lots of wildlife and birdlife. The conservancy staff are friendly and helpful, some are really good friends now.
I wish I could stay forever.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I stayed at Bush Camp for two nights in February 2014 with two friends. It is a wonderfully rustic experience where you are truly staying at the heart of the bush but you are looked after incredibly well. There was no request that was too much trouble. The candle lit dinners and bush breakfast were lovely experiences and the drivers and guides showed amazing knowledge and skill.
Would definitely go again.

Room Tip: We stayed in tent 6.... but all of the tents offer the same quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Commendable Safari, Wildlife and Hospitality. Staff leader Moses, Diver/Guide Duma and Manager Suzanne was excellent. To get the spicy food which was booked well in advance was a problem. Staying in the midst of wildlife was an exceptional experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshlyJacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

The name of this lodge is an apt description of what it is. This is as rustic as you can get while still enjoying some luxury to make it all worth the trip out here. The location is away from the bigger camps and on the bank of a river, giving one a great opportunity to see game and experience the wonderful bird life. Food is great, the staff leaves one feeling indebted to them and the wildlife can get real close. Though the camp has an electric fence all around it, we had two buffalo walk within the camp on the first night and one even sleep just outside our tent. The one thing I thought that needs improving is the bush showers. I couldn't get used to the idea that I couldn't take a shower unless I got the staff to bring warm water to the tent and hoist it up. All in all this was a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kisumu, Kenya
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

An excellent 2 night safari in Ol Pejeta Conservancy. We have been to several safari-type places around Kenya, and we tend to prefer smaller places that are located in the bush. This one definitely fits the bill. Alex and Suzanne were excellent hosts. Their 5-tent camp is located in a very quit area in the middle of the bush in Ol Pejeta overlooking a river. At night, you see nothing but stars and hear nothing but the sounds of wildlife all around. When we were there, a buffalo was in camp, and elephants were nearby (so we got escorts, sometimes even by vehicle, to our tents at night).

The tents are very nice, with flush toilets, sinks that use the hot water that they bring by, and bush showers, which are normal showers inside the tent but the water comes from the 20 liters of hot water that they fill it with upon request. The camp is very Eco-friendly. No swimming pool or unnecessary concrete.

The food was consistently fantastic. Dinners start with appetizers and drinks around the fire and then move into the dining tent, where everyone shares a table.

We were there with our 2 kids, ages 2 and 4. They really took good care of us with the kids, arranging to have early meals for them and accommodating our ayah at a reasonable rate.

Game drives were scheduled at our convenience. We saw lions with cubs, a pack of 21 wild dogs that we were able to follow for quite some time (major highlight for us), and we got very close to black and white rhinos and to 4 of the 7 remaining Northern White rhinos in the world.

Wildlife are abundant, albeit perhaps a bit harder to spot than in the Mara plains when the grass is short there, but I can't imagine anything more abundant than that. There are far fewer vehicles, making for a much more pleasant experience. Since it is a conservancy, night drives and bush walks or runs are available.

We found their resident rates to be competitive, and the conservancy and camp are an easy drive from Nairobi.

Overall, this was really a great place. Alex owns and manages the place, which i think is a major perk, as it really helps to ensure top-notch personalized service. We would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting a small but really nice place in the bush (not for those who want a giant hotel with a pool) and would be glad to go back!

Room Tip: If you have kids, tents 1 and 2 are closer to the dining area and may be more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Verdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Team Finland visited Ol Pejeta Bush Camp in October 2013. We were a group of different ages, others very experienced travellers, and the Camp managed to please us all. Our trip was well organised and the programme peaceful but diverse. The drive to the Camp from Nairobi is scenic and mostly on excellent roads; you can easily visit the camp over a long weekend.

The whole Camp including the vehicles and the tents resemble "the real deal" -- everything is simple but elegant. We enjoyed a hot shower every morning. And each night we found a hot water bottle in our beds -- very nice touch in the cool nights of Nanyuki. The staff -- drivers, chef, managers, all -- is professional, friendly, and fun to be with. In the evening, Alex had no hurry and took time to sit with us around the fire, and over the inspiring dinner-time conversations.

Team Finland highly recommends you to visit the Camp. And we would not mind returning soon ourselves, too!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teamfinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
17.1 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
9.5 mi away
Porini Rhino Camp
Porini Rhino Camp
#3 of 35 in Nanyuki Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
#1 of 9 in Mount Kenya National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Laikipia Wilderness Camp
Laikipia Wilderness Camp
#6 of 35 in Nanyuki Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
12.6 mi away
Sere Enkang House
Sere Enkang House
#3 of 12 in Nanyuki Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mt. Kenya Royal Cottages
Mt. Kenya Royal Cottages
#19 of 35 in Nanyuki Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Ol Pejeta Conservancy, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality 10400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Nanyuki Town
Hotel Class:4 star — Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the Ewaso Nyiro River in central Kenya's Laikipia region is Alex Hunter's atmospheric Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, the ultimate in Kenyan hospitality and safari excellence. Here you will share your space with the last three surviving northern white rhino in the world. Ol Pejeta's six traditional East African safari tents offer an excellent base from which to explore the secrets of this renowned conservancy - from the pioneering conservation projects that have made it famous to spectacular sightings of black and white rhino and the Big Five. Ol Pejeta is the first choice for discerning safari veterans looking to understand and enjoy the very best of world-leading conservation practice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp Hotel Nanyuki
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa Kenya/Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing