We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanyuki Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The safari was incredible, we saw every animal we could have wished for, and the guides were very informative and great company. The biggest surprise for me was the food, as a very picky eater I was shocked to find that everything I took a bite of was fantastic. The tents were incredibly comfortable and perfect for the venue. I had a great time and am very thankful to our hosts for making it the best it could be.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S, Manager at Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you kindly for your review, it was great having you guys here and we were very impressed with all the good work you were doing in Nairobi. I will pass on your compliments to our head chef James.

Alex and I really enjoyed having you here and our dinner time debates! We really hope you all come back to Kenya and to Bush Camp.

James and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is exactly what it says it is: a camp in the bush that makes a visitor feel a thousand miles from anywhere. In reality, it's within easy reach of Nanyuki and Nairobi, but you'd never know it.
The "tents" are comfortable and well equipped - en suite bathrooms with hot water delivered to order. And yes, 22 litres is plenty to sluice off the dust and sweat of a day out on the plains. Comfortable beds, clean linen, drinking water in glass bottles with glasses for drinking (no plastic nb) and thoughtful touches such as flips-flops for inside and gum boots for muddy mornings. The tent walls roll up for through breezes and zip tight shut if the night is cold. Drinks around the camp fire in the early morning or evening; excellent food for breakfast, lunch and dinner; everything is made in the camp kitchen (including bread, cakes and biscuits) and it's self serve and generous.
Attention to detail means the chief guide and naturalist is a man who could spot a twitching ear in dense bush at 200m and know how to manouevre so that animals and their visitors are both happy. His thoughtful attitude is typical of all staff - a mum with a sleeping 4-year-old on her lap at the campfire is offered an extra blanket to wrap him - and all are professional, great at their jobs and happy to ensure safety, comfort and a good time.
As has been mentioned by others, there is a bit of a problem with an elderly buffalo and his pal who've worked out that being on the inside of the electric fence of the camp perimeter at night is the way to avoid predators. It does mean staff watch them like hawks and either drive you or walk you to your tent. So far efforts by rangers and staff to persuade the squatters to move on haven't worked. But it is their territory and you have to admire their smarts. Being woken up at 3 in the morning by munching, pooing and farting is one of life's more amazing experiences. By my second night i slept right through it.
The Conservancy is doing a remarkable job of preserving, guarding and enhancing the local wildlife as well as working with local communities. We didn't go out with demands and a list of must-sees and the relaxed explorations of the range proved thrilling and unexpected by turn. In three days we saw sights we never dreamed of - a buffalo birth, a cheetah teaching her cub to kill, a oride of 14 lion, a family of warthogs popping out of their burrow like uncorked champagne and every permutation of critter in between. Just seeing the mountain in al her glory at dawn was an inspiration as was a mother elephant strolling up to check us out as we waited quietly in the Land Cruiser.
Downside: our wonderful guide having to stop from time to time to retrieve litter discarded by other visitors (there is one lodge in the Conservancy whose guests are notorious for this, we learned).
Upside: unique camp, life enhancing experience and a reminder that life is richer for putting away the mobile, the internet and the luxuries now associated with holidays when the real luxury is all around.

Room Tip: All tents are strung out along the river bank and are private. No1 is closer to the dining tent and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elleron540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I spent a few days here a couple of weeks ago, and had a great time. The camp, situated fairly deep into Ol Pejeta sits of a lovely series of bends in the river. Tents are well separated and spacious. I tried two different ones - the newer smarter one with indoor shower, and the older more resident focussed ones where you can bathe while staring at the sky/stars. Both lovely with nice blankets, kikoys, water in glass bottles (yay to a place not so in thrall to plastic).

This is not a camp that has chosen to adopt the frills and fripperies now prevalent in so many other places, and for that it is a standout. Fresh good food, friendly staff, simple but very functional tents are the hallmarks here along with expert knowledge from the boss - another rarity - an owner run camp. Dinners involve all guests eating together which made for plenty interesting conversations with some really nice people.

Saw good amounts of game, went on an ace walk, and watched elephants meandering on the other side of the river from camp. The buffalo do make it into camp daily which does mean being accompanied, but its the bush. Ol Pejeta itself is a well run conservancy with lots of animals and the staff have plenty knowledge of where to go and what to see. The chimp sanctuary is also worth a visit.

Can't wait to see the progression of the little house with the incredible views. This is a lovely laid back place to come on safari and cut yourself off from the world.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunderam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed 5 nights here last week, with 2 small children, and loved it. It is fantastically located, with large and very comfortable tents (easily taking 2 adults and 2 children, with a built-in bathroom), and truly outstanding catering (all food and drink is included in the price - and there was plenty of both). The staff were incredibly kind and friendly, and our driver, who took us around the conservancy on the 4 days, was outstanding - his knowledge of the birds and wildlife was encyclopaedic, and his eyes were truly incredible, spotting movement which we would have missed, and deducing exactly what animals were causing it and where they must be. We saw just about every animal there is to see in that part of Africa. The camp is small enough that it has a family feel, and we made good friends also with other guests staying there (as well as with some of the staff) - an added bonus. In the interests of complete honesty: the only negative issue to note is the problem they have with buffalo breaking into the camp at night. This results in having to be walked back to your tent after dark by a pair of torch-equipped escorts. Once in the tent you are quite safe, but one must be prepared to be disturbed at night if the buffalo choose to rub against the tent frame or nearby trees. All the other positive factors about the camp (and there are many of them, more than I have mentioned) completely outweigh this issue, and we would return here without hesitation. Our children, who are well travelled, declared it their all-time favourite. As a final note - we looked at quite a lot of other possible places to stay, and the Ol Pejeta Bush Camp was far better priced than most, and I really do not believe there is a more friendly place to stay in Kenya.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archie1590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have just returned from spending three nights at Ol Pejeta Tent Lodging. The word "tent" is misguided because we had a very comfy king bed with bathroom and shower and tile flooring. But the walls were canvas which allowed, in the most pleasant of ways, the sounds of birds and other animals to be heard. The food buffet style meals were quite excellent and the staff very friendly and accommodating. We have been to many, and even more fancy places in Kenya, but Ol Pajeta has become our favorite. Very dreamy with beautiful views and plentiful wildlife, with watering holes were right outside the encampment their presence was constant.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gilSedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Ol Pejeta and Ol Pejeta Bush Camp really highlight the best that Kenya has to offer. The camp was clean and well maintained and sleeping under canvas is the way to go. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We visited the camp with two little ones and the staff were very accommodating and really enjoyed the kids. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

After visiting for the fourth time [last in 2010] the facilities have been kept up-to-date and Alex's team are performing brilliantly, whether it be guiding, cooking or generally making this unique experience a pleasure. While we heard leopard, lion and hyena every night, we actually saw four of the big five within ten minutes of driving out of camp......the elusive African dogs took a little longer. Notably, unlike the Mara, we only occasionally saw another visitor while out on game drives and could enjoy watching the wildlife in peace.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunger4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
0 mi away
Town & Country Guesthouse
Town & Country Guesthouse
#3 of 8 in Nanyuki Town
4 reviews
17.1 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
0 mi away
Maxoil Hotel
Maxoil Hotel
#4 of 8 in Nanyuki Town
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Olepangi Farm
Olepangi Farm
#1 of 16 in Laikipia County
63 reviews
0 mi away
Moof Africa Organic Hostel / Camp
3.4 mi away
Kicheche Laikipia Camp
Kicheche Laikipia Camp
#7 of 58 in Laikipia County
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Ol Pejeta Conservancy, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality 10400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Nanyuki Town
Hotel Class:4 star — Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the Ewaso Nyiro River in central Kenya's Laikipia region is Alex Hunter's atmospheric Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, the ultimate in Kenyan hospitality and safari excellence. Here you will share your space with the last three surviving northern white rhino in the world. Ol Pejeta's six traditional East African safari tents offer an excellent base from which to explore the secrets of this renowned conservancy - from the pioneering conservation projects that have made it famous to spectacular sightings of black and white rhino and the Big Five. Ol Pejeta is the first choice for discerning safari veterans looking to understand and enjoy the very best of world-leading conservation practice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp Hotel Nanyuki
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa Kenya/Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing