We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanyuki Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed at the Ol Pejeta bush camp for 4 nights.
We arrived in Nairobi at 4 in the morning and after only 3 hours drive we were catapulted into the middle of the true and wilderness nature of Africa, the one you read about in books.
Warthogs that run fast with their tail straight (African Express), Zebras crossing the dirt road in front of the Jeep, huge Rhinos who calmly eating grass giving a rhythm to their lives, Giraffes, elegant as anyone, scrutinize visitors perplexed, Lionesses gifts that sly look around and walk with the knowledge that they are the strongest creatures, fast Chitas with a mantle of perfect shapes and colors, Buffalo with the nicest faces I've ever seen, Baboo that run screaming
In a moment is like being in a movie or even better in a dream, in which everything is built with the utmost respect for nature and especially animals.
Nothing in the Bush Camp is artifact! Everything is in complete harmony with the environment!
Unforgettable moments after dusk around the campfire sipping wine, and sitting at the table with people from all parts of the world, while savoring delicious food, in the light of the lanterns.
Alex, James and the team were able to make this corner of the Earth a place by the magic atmosphere and unforgettable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lucia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

As usual my stay at Ol Pejeta Bush Camp was wonderful and comfortable. My thanks to everyone for making it a great 'second home' for me. Back soon. Get the chocolate ready James M.and Peter.
Nice to see my friend James as manager.

Room Tip: All the rooms are on the river, and the only different one is the spacious family tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S, Manager at Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you so much for this review. We had a great time with you here!

Looking forward to you returning shortly and we will make sure the chocolate pudding is ready for you.

Thanks again,

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed at Ol Pejeta Bush Camp with my family (incl 5 children) in July 2014 and we simply had the best time ever. We saw some wonderful wildlife (day and night), ate some really delicious food and loved the setting in the middle of nowhere sleeping and eating in rather sophisticated tents. But what made the stay truly fantastic was the kindness of everybody without exception and the feeling of friendliness throughout the whole camp. Thank you so much to Alex, James, Abdi and everybody else for making this holiday memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank o o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S, Manager at Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review. It was great having you and your family to stay. You guys really livened things up at the Bush Camp! Glad to hear that our new tents were comfortable for you.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and that you come back to visit us soon

Thanks, James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have just had the most wonderful trip to the Bush Camp. We booked spontaneously, looking for a night out of Nairobi and stumbled upon the link to the Camp. We did not know anything about the Conservancy or the Bush Camp and WOW did we have an amazing time. We have experienced a number of lodges and parks in both South Africa and Kenya and our time at the Bush Camp has to be one of the most incredible 24 hours we have ever had. From an amazing location, to tastefully decorated communal areas, extremely beautiful and private riverside tents to the most welcoming and down to earth staff. You truly felt the value of an owner-run camp when meeting Alex, James and the rest of the team not to mention our amazing guide Duma, who delivered lion, cheetah, wild dog, black and white rhino all in less than 24 hours!!
We will most definitely be returning soon and would highly recommend this experience!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatyD16112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S, Manager at Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you so much for this lovely review. We were so pleased with what you guys said that we posted it on our facebook page!

What an amazing 24 hours you had, it's so great that you got to see so much wildlife in such a short space of time. Thank you for booking with us again so soon, we look forward to having you back. The wild dogs have had their pups now and they are just starting to come out and explore so you have something to look forward to!

See you both soon!

James and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed in this camp in July 2014 as a family of four having heard good reports from a local friend.
The camp is small and private and maintains the raw excitement of bush camping whilst is extremely comfortable and well equipped. You experience the camping feeling in a kingside bed with hot water showers,immaculate linen,flush toilets and 5* food and drinks offered.
Alex Hunter is a consummate professional without the usual drivel talked by many 'safari guides' and caters for absolutely everything you might need. As a family with two boys aged 11 and 9 we had the best ever time at this camp and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The ambience is superb, it makes you feel at home, Alex, is there to welcome you, take you around and give insightful info, the meals are great. The tents...... No words can describe it, you have to experience it to really understand.

Room Tip: My tent was by the river, at night the flowing river waters was like a soothing lullaby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S, Manager at Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at camp. We pride ourselves on a having a relaxing and homely feel to the camp so it's great that you appreciated that.

Sorry I wasn't around during your stay as I was taking clients up Mt Kenya but I will pass your kind words onto Alex and the rest of the team.

We hope to see you back soon!

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Previous reviews have said it all already, however I am happy to add my voice to those recommending Ol Pejeta for an authentic bush camp experience. We spotted 26 different species of mammal at this conservancy & it does give you hope that humanity & nature can co-exist. We especially enjoyed the escorted walking safaris that Alex runs. As he describes them " See less, feel more". The night game drive are also a different way to experience Africa. My only advice to other visitors is that Laikipia plateau is cold at night & early in the morning, despite being bang on the Equator, so take a windcheater & microfleece.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Rohug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S, Manager at Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for your kind words, we're glad you enjoyed your stay here and appreciated the diversity of the conservancy. It really is a great conservation story and we feel lucky to be a part of it.

Good advice regarding the cold weather! I definitely wished I had a few more fleeces and jackets whilst up the mountain!

I will pass your kind words onto Alex and the rest of the team and we hope you return soon.

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
17.1 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
0 mi away
Le Rustique
Le Rustique
#4 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
9 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kicheche Laikipia Camp
Kicheche Laikipia Camp
#7 of 56 in Laikipia County
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Moof Africa Organic Hostel / Camp
0 mi away
Sanctuary at Ol Lentille
Sanctuary at Ol Lentille
#9 of 56 in Laikipia County
117 reviews
5 mi away
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
#1 of 8 in Mount Kenya National Park
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Ol Pejeta Conservancy, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality 10400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Nanyuki Town
Hotel Class:4 star — Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the Ewaso Nyiro River in central Kenya's Laikipia region is Alex Hunter's atmospheric Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, the ultimate in Kenyan hospitality and safari excellence. Here you will share your space with the last three surviving northern white rhino in the world. Ol Pejeta's six traditional East African safari tents offer an excellent base from which to explore the secrets of this renowned conservancy - from the pioneering conservation projects that have made it famous to spectacular sightings of black and white rhino and the Big Five. Ol Pejeta is the first choice for discerning safari veterans looking to understand and enjoy the very best of world-leading conservation practice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp Hotel Nanyuki
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa Kenya/Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing