We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rundown but not the worst place ever”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nanyuki Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Sportsman's Arms Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Nanyuki Town
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Sportmans in the only place in its price range in the area. The value isn't great but there's not much competition. Rooms are drab and rundown. Bathroom was okay, bed comforter and furnishings were dated. Overall, room was just basic and old. No wi-fi in the rooms. Have to go the public area to get access. It's a place to sleep; not much else.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrettB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2012

This hotel is one among 2-3 options to stay in Nanyuki, as this is cheaper than other 2 good hotels ( 5 star hotel). Sportsman's Arms give different impression from outside but when you enter inside, experience is totally different.
Service is okay. Food was bad especially lunch, which is offered in buffet. Breakfast still have few option to eat. During my stay Dorman’s Coffee shop in town was best place to eat. The Hotel has a beautiful sitting area outside.
The rooms are in need of a complete makeover and the bathrooms are pretty poor with broken unit and cracked tiles.
Hotel need a proper trained staff and on top of that a good manager. One need be very careful with them as staff can cheat you. Staffs were not able to talk in English and very rude.

LOCATION: near to Nanyuki town, Nanyuki mall, Ol pageta conservancy, Mt Kenya, Mt Kenya National Park

ROOMS: normal & cottage.

SERVICE: average, in fact slightly below average.

AMENITIES: Restaurant & Bar, Disco, Swimming pool and a mini store

Pro:
• Little bit economical than other options.
• Good landscape and beautiful area.

Cons:
• Food is bad
• Untrained and rude hotel staff with poor management.
• Rooms need makeover.

Room Tip: Please try to aviod food, bar & disco at this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashisdaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I really would not recommend The Sportsman's Arms. Not only is it sadly in need of an upgrade (our tired room had mouldy ceilings and a filthy old bathroom), the service we received was abysmal to say the least.
My husband and I were recently in Nanyuki on business. When we arrived at the "hotel", we were unsure of how many nights we would need to stay in Nanyuki and were discussing whether to book one night or three. As we were required to pay up front, the receptionist told us that we could book for three nights and then request a refund if our plans changed and we did not need to stay the full time. Based on that information, we booked 3 nights.
The next day however, after we decided we did not want to stay the extra two nights, we were told that the hotel does not give refunds. After numerous conversations with receptionists and a junior manager, we were taken into the Manager's office. We were repeatedly told that they have a no-refunds policy and that they did not believe us that we were told it would be possible. The receptionist was brought in and lied outright about our conversation with her. We asked to see their refunds policy but they refused to produce it so it became our word against theirs.
The manager and junior manager were both outright rude to us and as the conversation went on the manager got very angry and started yelling at us. We were intent on seeing the conversation through and getting our money back but he called the police to remove us from the property. All we wanted to do was for them to tell us why they were unable to refund our money! Evenutally we left without any resolution as we felt very threatened by his behaviour.
I wouldn't stay there again if someone paid me! For a much nicer place and kind staff, head to The Old House instead.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ColHol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

As a Mzungu (white Caucasian) you do not feel welcome all over Africa, for obvious reasons; but at the Sportsman's Arms you only meet discriminatory room rates (residents pay about 20% less for accommodation than non-residents). It is of course regrettable that this policy remains for many if not almost all hotels in East Africa, and for what reason?? are native people less worth than the Wazungu?? This was the second time I stayed at the Sportsman's Arms. It was just for one night but I har a good time enjoying both the restaurant and the bar, where British soldiers (not in uniform) were enjoying their off duty evening. In the morning the pool which has a sufficient size for proper swimming, was open at 7h30; the swim was a good start for the journey back to Nairobi.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Svend K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Sportsman's arms has remained to be the highlight of Nanyuki mid-range hotels(i.e. if not looking for the 5* facilities well offered by Mt Kenya safari club, sweetwaters etc))with its rich history and fame. Having stayed here severally, on work and holiday basis, I am of the opinion that the Hotel needs a thorough re-make especially in attitude,service and quality.
Being the only hotel of renown in the area has kept it going but there is need for competition to spur this fine hotel to a new level. The rooms and services are generally basic and ok. What keeps me coming back is their family cottages& grounds which are good for a family and the kids love the space.Food-ok. Service-generally ok. Had an experience once with the kitchen staff on what is a cappuccino and espresso.....he had no clue! Just kept on insisting......left the black coffee that he was calling cappuccino untouched. In the last occasion, we waited for milk for tea for the entire duration of dinner....our queries were all answered ...."5 more minutes!". It took over an hour! What irked me on this last stay there in June was the lack of telephone in the cottage and the TV channels (the hotel touts to have satellite TV!) which are all controlled from one decoder for a cluster of rooms! You have no control over what to watch-all at the mercy of the people with access to the decoder! I remember raising this up at a past visit and the word was that they were sorting it out....months later, NOTHING! even local channels are unavailable! In this age,WiFi is no longer a luxury but a basic amenity in an establishment of such caliber. and please....some extra blankets would be appreciated especially in the timber cottages! Nanyuki is never blistering even in the hottest season...at least at night.
This hotel continues to be a great place to be but they'd better up their game to current standards lest someone comes over and tips the scales....more so with the opening up of the Mt. Kenya circuit.

Room Tip: If you want the cottages,please ask for the stone ones(timber ones can be quite cold!). For those no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I had a good time in town but the hotel needs serious managers the penth house had licks all over to my bed n no apologies when it rains u must move the bed to come off your room pool of water but u must pay to swim out of the room no sympathy thanks

Room Tip: Don't eat there for any meal apart from bf
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macliz holding M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I spent 2 nights with my family and will certainly go back. The setting is very nice for expeditions to Mt. Kenya and the nearby game reserves. It is also near the the town mall where you can shop and take delicious Dorman's coffee as you mingle with other tourists and the locals. The hotel has a swimming pool, well-equiped gym, lively disco and other activities for all ages. Very reasonable cost especially for a budget holiday. The service is exellent and the food is okay.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main block and the newer cottages are fine but the old cottages need some refurbish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanyuki Town hotels
4.7 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
0.4 mi away
Sere Enkang House
Sere Enkang House
#5 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lions Court Lodge
Lions Court Lodge
#16 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kirimara Springs Hotel
Kirimara Springs Hotel
#9 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Rustique
Le Rustique
#4 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
8 reviews
0.8 mi away
TIN CANTINA @PENGUIN HOUSE.
TIN CANTINA @PENGUIN HOUSE.
#3 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sportsman's Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sportsman's Arms Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 3, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality 10400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Nanyuki Town
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
The Sportsman's Arms Hotel Kenya/Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing