We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, comfortable rooms”
Review of Kongoni Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanyuki Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kongoni Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, comfortable rooms”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

After fleeing from the nightmare that is Sportsman's Arms, this was an oasis of peace for us. We could finally take a shower in a clean bathroom and breath in without fear of catching something and airborne diseases.

The food is fabulous and the F&B supervisor there is particularly great.

The rooms are simple but clean and the staff are polite and helpful.

The price is rather steep for the simple rooms.

Room Tip: Room no. 1 is noisy especially on weekends because there are people coming in upto 3am in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jannynjesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    30
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
10
7
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I have to say that I was a bit skeptical about the town but once I got to the Kongoni, all was perfect. We were in a hut which was 'rustic' but perfect for what we needed, and a novelty; I have never been in a round detached hotel room before. Add to this the really good price (there are others that are way over the top and not as good in the area!) and you can't go wrong. The staff are very friendly, attentive and when you add this to the superb food, what more could you ask for! (we tried the safari club and were not as impressed as we were with the Kongoni food)

Slight niggles - 8 mins on the complimentary WiFi, 15 or 20 before it chucks you out (and you have to sign in again) might be nice and turn the shower on a little to get the heaters working, if you put on full it will not work. These are miniscule, only for information and should not put you off in the slightest. The other is the spa and by all accounts, the girl in there really knows her stuff - the top treatment is £17 - now that is service you can afford and enjoy.

The Kongoni is a perfect base, at a great price, to launch into the hinter land. Sleep here and travel to the safari. I really recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for the huts, authentic and fun - you can also camp if you prefer. Totally safe as fully guarded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 557Jim557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Kongoni has very well cooked food especially the breakfast. Very good service too. Rooms are simple but nice and not chilled as expected. The bar is stocked and well done with beautiful paintings. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JemKiiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nairobi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Accommodation was quite cramped for a family and a bit pricey. The rooms were very close together and there was no outdoor seating area unless you went to the bar/restaurant. Otherwise food was reasonable and staff were friendly. Would not recommend for people with a young family.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2013

if you are in nanyuki and you are looking for a nice place to stay then that place is kongoni camp. remember to try their t-borne stake!! the rooms are nice and simple and their break fast is so good. you will not regret your trip

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauricemacharia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2012

My friends and I stopped @ Kongoni Camp for dinner after a long day road trip from Nairobi. Great food, reasonable prices, friendly staff. I loved the lamb chops, couldn't have enough! Will definitely come again.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sallie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ullswater
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

A great place for all whatever you fancy, food is great and prices reasonable. Edwin the owner is a great guy and has time for all his guests. The restaurant has amazing artwork to admire and some nice secluded tables for those quiet dinner dates. Its great for groups of friends, and thats us in picture! Thanks guys will see you again many times I'm sure.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loggy_Shopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kongoni, Owner at Kongoni Camp, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Thanks! we are all really happy to hear our guest enjoyed there stay at Kongoni Camp. We look forward to welcoming you again.
All the best wishes from all at Kongoni Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanyuki Town hotels
4.7 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
0.0 mi away
Ol-Tome Laikipia Camp
Ol-Tome Laikipia Camp
#22 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
3 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lions Court Lodge
Lions Court Lodge
#16 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Porini Rhino Camp
Porini Rhino Camp
#2 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
206 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Rustique
Le Rustique
#8 of 14 in Nanyuki Town
1 reviews
5.8 mi away
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
#1 of 14 in Nanyuki Town
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kongoni Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kongoni Camp

Property: Kongoni Camp
Address: Meru Road | Nr Nanyuki, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality 10400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Nanyuki Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated northwest of Mt Kenya, Kongoni Camp is a piece of paradise set in a cedar cypress forest glade, with Mt Kenya as an iconic backdrop. With a good range of facilities on offer, Kongoni Camp offers quality accommodation in an informal atmosphere, a grill pizzeria menu, bar and coffee shop. Kongoni Camp is an ideal jump off spot for mountain enthusiasts, those who want to tour Laikipia or those looking for a weekend getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kongoni Camp Kenya/Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing