We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Nanyuki Town
Certificate of Excellence
Baghdad, Iraq
1 review
“A must visit”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

You will not go wrong with this resort,best best best of the best,great service,great staff,great view to Mt Kenya.the landscaping of te place is magnificent,a lot a lot of activities.best meals as well.This is a home away from home.i recommend the cottages a must stay!

Room Tip: Go for cottages!you will not regret this.spacious .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Thanks for the wonderful feedback – it’s much appreciated!
I am so pleased that we have managed to turn your moments into memories during your stay with us.
We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the very special place again soon.
Kind Regards

Niall P. Cowan
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    206
    62
    25
    12
See reviews for
281
241
17
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

A place for one to go to, to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. I will surely recommend it to my pals who are looking for a serene gateway in a lush and mountainous location. The surrounding area and game parks is to die for...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oyaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed in this property for 2 nights over a weekend. It’s just a 2 ½ hr drive from Nairobi passing through the equator.

The landscaping of the property is beautiful. Well manicured gardens, lots of activities to keep one busy…The animal orphanage is a sight to see with the breeding of one of the endangered species Bongo. Peacocks and peahens roaming around the places. Lots of activities to keep oneself busy. 9 hole golf course, horse riding, walking in the maze, a kids play area, animal orphanage visit etc. The pool was not a heated one and the water was cold.

Having said that, the service was slow and not professional. Our rooms were not cleaned until 3 pm one day and the reply from the staff was - They had a heavy check out. I was surprised that a property managed by Fairmont do not have enough housekeeping to manage the guests arrival and planning. People were friendly but lack the five star quality service. We felt they lack proper training. The caddy Antony was knowledgeable and new his job well.

The upholstery and the carpets in the dining area and reception are so old, they need a change. When we asked for cutlery - we were told you can take from any table rather than bring a set.

Our little boy wanted a horse ride . The horseman agreed and said he will go to the stable and get the helmet for the kid. The shocking part was he just left us on the grounds stranded asking us to hold the reins and left. It was very unprofessional to leave the client/guests at such a situation. We are not people who have ever handled a horse before. The horseman came happily getting the helmet. When we expressed our concern, he said that if we show our tension, the horse will react the same. He was so naïve and lacked training.

We still had a pleasant stay as our expectations were not too high. This place is beautiful and well worth a visit but for the price we pay, the service could improve better.

Room Tip: Take the suites or cottages with the mt kenya view. Riverside cottages and suites are very far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UsHarish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2012

My husband, two year 9 months old son and I recently visited the hotel for a weekend gateaway. We were pleasantly welcomed by the staff upon arrival and also happily found out that we had been upgraded to a garden cottage suite. The room was wonderful and gave a great posh homely ambiance that of course is 5 Star!

The meals were equally exquisite, timely and tasty. What I liked the most about the hotel, is the fact that it is quite friendly to the needs of toddlers and children in addition to that of grown ups. It is quite beautiful and caters for all.

I would recommend it to anyone in need of pampering and relaxation and look forward to my next visit.

Claude

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback with regards to your stay.
We are most appreciative for your fantastic feedback especially your thoughts on our warm, sincere and engaging service offered by our staff to our guests of all ages – especially our younger guests!
The grounds, activities and facilities are perfect for families and our William Holden Cottages offer comfortable and spacious accommodation that families simply love, and keep returning to!
Claude, we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club - thank you for allowing us to turn your moments into memories.
Kind Regards

Niall P. Cowan
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Brilliant property, just amazing grounds. A peacock rules the reception area and the bar – funny to see him cross through the bar from reception to the back lawn. He poses for pictures often. There are a number of birds on the property, incluidng the Marabou Storks, who look like little wairters in tuxedos and bow ties. They made me laugh every time I saw them. The rooms are upscale and heated by fireplace which housekeeping will light for you when they turn down the bed. Nice fluffy towels and bathrobes. The staff was responsive, and when our fire had petered out, they came up to relight for us without hesitation.

This is close to Sweetwaters Reserve where you can take a ½ or full day safari. This is home to the chimpanzees that have been orphaned or were abused. The Fairmont also advertises some other excursions like a 3-hour nature walk with an armed warden and a naturalist; however, they couldn’t pull it off for us which was very disappointing. Instead they pushed the one-hour horse ride which was also disappointing – most uncomfortable saddle I’ve ever been on, no real scenery or much wildlife to see. And our guides didn’t know anything about the history or flora or fauna of the area. One must-do is the Animal Orphanage – you can feed the orphans, see the only Bongos remaining, and have several monkeys climb all over you if you like getting close. Bring your video camera.

The food is good and dinner service is top notch. Breakfast and lunch service is a bit inattentive (not five-star) - we’d already finished our first buffet plate before being asked about beverages. The food is quite good, and service at dinner is high level. As with all the resorts in Kenya, your beverages (outside of tea and coffee) are extra and not included in your board. Dinner is late at 7:00 pm. When you are getting up for 6:30 safaris or tours, you like to get to bed early. By this time, you are starving, and it is not a great going to go to bed on a full stomach.

The views and grounds are beautiful. It is a great place to sit back and relax either in the courtyard or on the back lawn.

They advertise wi-fi in your room, but no one was able to connect except in the bar. The funny part is that the staff would not acknowledge this, and kept insisting that we just keep trying. While we had a view of Mt. Kenya – nice – our room backed onto heat/air conditioning units which left us with a constant hum all night. I couldn’t figure out what the noise was until we were woken from a nap by workers banging on the ducts – that prompted me to open the shutters to see what was going on.

Overall, the rooms were very clean and well maintained except for the windows. They really needed some cleaning - alot of smudges both inside and out. And the inside window in the entry way outside our door were covered with bugs and ants. On the second day, I saw them cleaning it up, but our windows were never cleaned.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Mt. Kenya rather than courtyard/garden. And if you get put in room that backs up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This property was started by the actor William Holden many decades ago. It is a very classy resort with beautiful gardens, fabulous restaurants and bars and great accommodation in permanent cottages.
Everything about this property exudes class - including the excellently trained attentive staff.
It is hard to fault the place - perhaps lack of WiFi - which these days I find difficult to understand why hotels don't provide a WiFi service all over their properties and FREE. I actually select accommodation on the basis of WiFi available but some managements don' seem to get it.

Room Tip: Self-contained cottages seemed better than hotel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pottsy747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for taking the time to share your valued feedback with regards to your stay. We are grateful for your fantastic feedback regarding all the various aspects of your stay especially regarding our attentive staff, we strive to make each and every guest's stay with us a special memory.
I am sorry that you experienced problems with the WiFi signal during your stay. Our WiFi service has always been offered to our guests on a complimentary basis; however, the signal we receive from our provider can sometimes be inconsistent due to our location. This is something we are working on with the provider and we are confident that we will be able to offer our guests an improved WiFi experience in the near future.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards

Niall P. Cowan
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My husband, myself and a few friends stayed at this hotel in late August. From the moment we arrived, the grounds and views were breathtaking. Mt. Kenya was visible at a distance and the grounds with the pool, maze and all the lush greenery was so pretty. The different species of birds wandering around the grounds also added to the beauty of it. Upon arrival, the staff were very nice and welcoming. After checking in we all went to our cottages and they were just amazing. Each cottage has a living space and a two way fireplace which has one side facing the living space and another facing the bedroom. Everything about the cottage was nice and it was super clean. We went to the animal orphanage that is located on the grounds and they had some great animals in there. Best part was all of the animals wandering free that we were able to pet and feed. We even went to the art gallery and bought some jewelry and scarves (they were having a nice sale!). We loved it so much that 2 of the friends we went with ended up staying an extra night (unfortunately, my husband, myself and 2 of our other friends had a flight to catch).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chonee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
24.3 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
6.0 mi away
Lions Court Lodge
Lions Court Lodge
#16 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
13.0 mi away
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
#1 of 8 in Mount Kenya National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Serena Mountain Lodge
Serena Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Mount Kenya National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
6.1 mi away
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
#2 of 14 in Nanyuki Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
26.1 mi away
Porini Rhino Camp
Porini Rhino Camp
#2 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club

Property: Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
Address: | Mount Kenya, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality 10400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Nanyuki Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With magnificent views of majestic Mount Kenya, the Fairmont Safari Club's 120 luxuriously appointed guest rooms, set in over 100 acres of landscaped gardens, offer a unique blend of comfort, relaxation and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Jovago.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Fairmont Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club Hotel Nanyuki
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Hotel
Mount Safari Club Kenya
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing