We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breath Taking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Nanyuki Town
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“breath Taking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

I dint know what to expect during my two night stay...now i know i want my destination wedding here. it ended up being one of the most remarkable holidays of my life.our suite opened up to the breathtaking view of mt. Kenya from a distance. There was lots of activites to take part in and the meals whether buffet or a la carte was ravishing. Iam in love with this propert, amazing friendly service and i look forward to coming back again soon. Excellent service

Room Tip: the suites have a great view of the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaitsu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback with regards to your stay, we are ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are most appreciative for your fantastic comments especially your thoughts on our culinary offering and attentive food and beverage service and the overall service that you experienced during your stay at the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club.
We are a popular destination for ‘destination’ weddings – did you know that we offer a selection of amazing wedding locations within the club; from the rose garden (on the equator), to our deck on top of the River Likii. We pride ourselves in turning your wedding day into a wonderful lifetime memory for you and your guests.
Please do contact us for further information – we would be delighted to assist with any information or questions you may have.
Your kind words regarding our team and hotel are greatly appreciated and will be eagerly passed on.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club - thank you for allowing us to turn your moments into memories.
Kind Regards

Niall P. Cowan MIH
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    203
    62
    25
    12
See reviews for
277
238
17
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

My sons and I took a break at the Mt. Kenya Safari Club during a lengthy trip in Kenya. The grounds and views at the hotel are awesome. Very few rivals in Kenya, in my opinion. This place was first built as a mountain getaway for Brits living in Nairobi, and it's still got a cool colonial vibe. I know it has a strong game hunting heritage too, especially from the days when William Holden entertained his Hollywood friends here, but the hunting motif seems overused and a bit dated.
I shared one of the "cottages" with my two sons. Two bedrooms connected by a sitting room with a fireplace. Spacious, luxurious and, most of all, very comfortable.
The hotel has a nine-hole golf course. I played it - if you're after a serious golf experience, this isn't your place. But it's quick, a lot of fun and you have the unique distinction of teeing off on one hole where the green is across the equator. Who comes to Africa for the golf anyway?
I've seen a few comments about slow or poor service. In terms of speed, I think some people forget that they've traveled outside of America or western Europe. Service is at an African pace, which I like. And in terms of friendliness, that's at an African level too, which means it's warm, gracious and helpful. I met the GM, Niall, and he was the same.
The food is good. Not great, but then again, Kenya isn't well known for its cuisine.
The hotel offers a lot of activities. I didn't take advantage of any, but the list was extensive.
There's a famous animal orphanage on the grounds. I found it over-priced and dull, but then I don't like zoos of any kind. You do get up close to a lot of animals, including rare Bongos, and if you have kids they'll likely love it.

Room Tip: Choose one of the cottages. Fireplaces and living rooms, nice views of the grounds and great views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club!
We are most appreciative for your fantastic feedback especially your thoughts on our warm, gracious and helpful service offered by our staff to our guests.
Please take the time to enroll in our Fairmont Presidents Club before your next visit – this will allow us to offer you the highest level of personalized service with an array of benefits through the membership program.
It was wonderful to personally meet you – thank you for the kind words.
I will of course share your feedback with the team – who I know will be delighted to hear your feedback on their service delivery and product.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club - thank you for allowing us to turn your moments into memories.
Kind Regards

Niall P. Cowan MIH
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Fairmont for 2 nights quite recently. We had booked a superior view room and were shown to a riverfront cottage on arrival. This was corrected quickly after we pointed this out and were invited to join the buffet lunch as we waited. The food was nice, however, there was a large amount of Indian Asian food at all sittings. I was unable to eat certain items on the buffet and it was no problem to ask for something off the menu.

Lunch and dinner was quite busy with a lot of people coming and going.

The facilities were excellent and I highly recommend the Breakfast on the Slopes horse ride. What a magnificent way to start the day!

The onsite animal orphanage is definitely worth a visit if you're an animal lover, as they take a hands on approach with you and the animals.

Overall, a nice getaway, but I'll be sure to avoid the winter months if I go back to avoid the high number of tourists.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skrossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
108 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This property is very well done up. Views are superb and the infrastructure is good. However it is the service that is a big let down here. Check in was painfully slow and rooms were not ready even at 3pm even though we arrived at 1pm and had lunch and then got to our rooms. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The sunday brunch spread is massive and delicious. The response time to the requests made in the room were very slow. Check out was much better. Fairmont has to really pull up their socks if they want to match the benchmarks they have set world over.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiddharthVasudevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This rating may have been higher if the bar wasn't set so high by attaching the Fairmont name to the property. The property is beautiful and is in a great setting. Our room, the Equatorial Suite, was large with a bedroom, living room and office area. The equator runs right through the bathroom with one sink in the southern and the other sink in the norther hemisphere. We had a great view from our balcony of Mt. Kenya when the weather cleared. The one downside to our room is that it's right over the bar and looks out onto the pool. Most afternoons there was a lot of noise which made it hard to relax. Luckily things cool down in the evening forcing people inside so it wasn't loud at night.

There's a lot to do including the on property conservancy (orphanage) which should not be missed and was the highlight of the stay for us. The Sunday brunch was tasty and had a lot of choices. We were very impressed with the management team but only some of the staff.

When staying at a Fairmont our expectations are high when it comes to service and food and this is where things broke down. One night at dinner our entrees were delivered 15 minutes apart and there were just 3 of us. The last one to arrive was pasta which should have been the easiest to time. At breakfast on our last morning my wife asked for hot tea and bottled water. 15 minutes later nothing. We asked again and 5 minutes later as we were finishing breakfast we had two bottles of water and hot tea for two. These were just two of many examples of inconsistent service in the dining room. The issue seemed to be that management couldn't translate their knowledge to the staff. There were several occasions where someone from the management team would just step in and do the job of server because they could tell things weren't going well. I would also say that while some of the food was very good some was just average.

In the evenings one of their claims to fame is a cozy in room fire because of cool nights. They even give you a little sign to put in front of the fire so that the person doing turndown service knows whether to light the fire or not while you're at dinner. Two of our three nights the fire was not lit and we had to call down to the front desk to have someone come and light it. Turndown service in general is not something I usually care about but since they highlight the evening fire as a feature my expectations go up.

Our game drive at Sweetwaters arranged through the hotel was also our least favorite of all the drives we did. Part of the issue was Sweetwarters itself which seemed far too staged compared to other parks. Our guide was friendly and was able to spot some things but wasn't nearly as knowledgable as our guides in the Mara or Amboseili. He also consistently pointed out animals a mile away while there were interesting things just 40-50 yards away.

I would like to highlight the gentleman who played the guitar during the evening meals (he was a member of the serving staff during the breakfast and lunch meals.) We stayed at 5 different places during out trip and he was far and away the best we heard. His voice and song selection were fantastic.

To sum up you can have a great time at this property if you lower your expectations of the service and food.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We are a family of four and we unanimously elected The Mt Kenya Safari Club to top our ' best of Kenyan' hotels. The gorgeously landscaped 100 acre property, the beautiful room with fireplace et al overlooking a lazy river, the giant maze and the delectable sit down dinners were only a few of the many wonderful memories we have from there. Lunch comprised a very thoughtfully chosen Quesedia and Sandwich Bar besides the many other hot meal options. The William Holden Animal Orphanage which is part of the premises should be a 'must visit' for all guests. My daughters and I spent a good two hours at the Orphanage.. Had the Duiker and Colobus eating out of our hands ...literally! The Orphanage staff are very well informed, never rushing you but instead giving you informative snippets about all the animals there. Over all the service in the entire resort was exemplary ...a perfect balance of friendly and efficient. We left Mt Kenya with v heavy hearts but vowing to return soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CallmeAl_399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed one night and was blown away by this place.

To start with the accommodation is first class from the furniture to the fittings everything is of the highest standard its a place that caters for your every comfort.

The food is excellent and you will be spoilt for choice whether it is the a la carte dinner or the buffet breakfast and lunch their varieties are plentiful and the food is truly delicious (best food I have had in any hotel I have stayed).

Activities: there is everything for everyone to do; cycling, horse riding, walking, just lazing about, visiting the animal orphanage, game viewing at Ol Pejeta Game Reserve (only 30kms away). I did the horse riding it was amazing got up close with elephants, zebras and buffaloes quite the experience.

The service: to put it in simple words everyone smiles and they do everything they can to make your stay pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fayaz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
24.3 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
23.6 mi away
Lions Court Lodge
Lions Court Lodge
#16 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
13.0 mi away
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
#1 of 9 in Mount Kenya National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Serena Mountain Lodge
Serena Mountain Lodge
#2 of 9 in Mount Kenya National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
6.1 mi away
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
#2 of 14 in Nanyuki Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
26.1 mi away
Porini Rhino Camp
Porini Rhino Camp
#2 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club

Property: Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
Address: | Mount Kenya, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality 10400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Nanyuki Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With magnificent views of majestic Mount Kenya, the Fairmont Safari Club's 120 luxuriously appointed guest rooms, set in over 100 acres of landscaped gardens, offer a unique blend of comfort, relaxation and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club Hotel Nanyuki
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Hotel
Mount Safari Club Kenya
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing