We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Nanyuki Town
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed there for a couple days and enjoyed our quiet time there. The prices are high especially for non residents of Kenya but worth it for the history of the place. Our favorite portion of the stay was the adjacent animal orphanage.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    226
    68
    27
    12
See reviews for
295
253
20
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

If you are tired and really want a rest without much worldly interruption - then this is the place. Next to Mt Kenya forest with an awesome view - with the birds the only music you will hear. Was here for two nights with family and loved it, despite the afternoon rain. The fire in the evening - awesome. No Spa and not missed. Building a Gym.

Room Tip: Standard room do not have a view of the mountain and forest so choose from the others if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kibata G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback on Tripadvisor.
Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding our facilities, rooms and grounds. We strive to achieve the highest levels of product and service and I am delighted to hear that we lived up to your expectations.
The gym and spa will be completed in February 2014, I am sure it will be a great addition to the property.
I will most certainly pass on your kind comments to all our team here and until we meet again, we look forward to welcoming you back once again.

Kind Regards

Niall P. Cowan MIH
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The hotel is located near Nanyuki with an amazing view at Mount Kenya. The service is excellent and the staff very friendly. They have amazing and cozy rooms. You should try one of the cottages. They have an beautiful view over the gardens and nice small private gardens with a terrace. A private dinner on the cottage terrace at night is a wonderful experience. Other activities like horse riding in the nearby forest is absolutely fantastic. One of the most amazing hotels where I have been.

Room Tip: The private cottages are wonderful with fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikno_Ph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic review of the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club.
We really do appreciate your feedback, and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is always wonderful to hear from our guests that the best part of everything was the service and our team - we pride ourselves on offering true Kenyan Hospitality.
I am delighted that you enjoyed our deck dinner outside your cottage, on your next visit I would recommend a breakfast on the slopes of Mt Kenya; guests reach the location by horseback and it truly an amazing way to start your day – it is our mission to turn moments into memories for every single one of our guests during their stay with us.
We look forward to welcome you both back, once again, to the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club in the near future.
Kind Regards


Niall P. Cowan MIH
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antiguo Cuscatlan, El Salvador
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed for the night. The rooms were very big and the view wonderful. The hot water bottles in the bed were very needed and a nice touch. The staff were friendly. Just one issue-the pool was not heated as listed. They have very good deals for residents.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acebo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you so much for your valued review of the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, received on the 4th December 2013.
We really appreciate you taking the time to review our property, it is always gratifying to hear from our guests that they enjoyed the service & product - we pride ourselves on turning moments into memories for our guests.
Our pool is heated to 26 degrees Celsius; I will however review the temperature with our chief engineer to ensure that the temperature is appropriate for the cooler weather we have been experiencing of late.
We look forward to welcome you back, once again, to Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club in the very near future.
Kind Regards,

Niall P. Cowan MIH
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The lodge is beautiful, We had a cottage viewing a small lake viewing the beautiful mount Kenya. Staff is very friendly and willing to help always. There is a wide range of activities to kids and adults. The animal orphanage is very unique with variety of animals and birds from different parts of the world. Food was great and you can leave your kids taken care of in the special restaurant dedicated for kids. It is highly recommended to stay in.

Room Tip: Cottages is a unique experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mansi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I am reviewing this property again as I believe it is important for Tripadvisor readers to know about the consistency and excellence of a property...none would be more true and applicable than Mount Kenya Safari Club. From the time we decided to book Mt Kenya for a 40th birthday celebration, one of the manageress' had been so helpful and co-operative - Esther was amazing for everything that she did to make this the most brilliant and memorable weekend outing.

The team of people at the Club, from Niall (GM) to Florence to Robin (both Reception) to Killion (guest service) to George (our waiter) to Jack (head chef), we were treated to the highest level of service, and the warmth and sincerity with which each member of the team attended to our large party will be remembered for a long long time. The evening was truly special and the attention to detail by the team was impeccable. I am proud as a Kenyan to see this level of world class service and accommodation, as offered by Mount Kenya Safari Club - Well done!!

For all in our group it was a memorable trip and we will be back to this magical and heavenly property...to the readers of this review, be sure to visit heaven on earth if you are lucky enough to get the chance!

Room Tip: The remarkable William Holden Cottages!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NIA1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club once again!
We are so happy that you chose to return back to the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, and thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback on Tripadvisor.
It is always wonderful to hear from our guests that the best part of everything was the service and our team - we pride ourselves on offering true Kenyan Hospitality.
Your kind words regarding our colleagues and hotel are greatly appreciated and will be eagerly passed on.
Please take the time to enroll in our Fairmont Presidents Club before your next visit – this will allow us to offer you the highest level of personalized service with an array of benefits through the membership program.
I will of course share your feedback with the team – who I know will be delighted to hear your feedback.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club - thank you for allowing us to turn your moments into memories.
Kind Regards

Niall P. Cowan MIH
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Best december holidays ever. very peaceful and tranquility of the view of mount kenya was priceless.The food was amazing and I enjoyed the food more than anything else. This trip was awesome. The service was a true five start!

Room Tip: If planning to go in December, do carry warm clothes, u might be in for a surprise if u dont
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThuleN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback with regards to your stay, we are ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are most appreciative for your fantastic comments especially your thoughts on our culinary offering and attentive food and beverage service and the overall service that you experienced during your stay at the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club.
Your kind words regarding our team and hotel are greatly appreciated and will be eagerly passed on.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club - thank you for allowing us to turn your moments into memories.
Kind Regards

Niall P. Cowan MIH
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
24.3 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#2 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
299 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sovereign Suites, Nairobi - Sun Africa Hotels
13.0 mi away
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
#1 of 8 in Mount Kenya National Park
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Serena Mountain Lodge
Serena Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Mount Kenya National Park
351 reviews
4.0 mi away
Le Rustique
Le Rustique
#5 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lewa Safari Camp
Lewa Safari Camp
#2 of 56 in Laikipia County
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club

Property: Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
Address: | Mount Kenya, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality 10400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Nanyuki Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With magnificent views of majestic Mount Kenya, the Fairmont Safari Club's 120 luxuriously appointed guest rooms, set in over 100 acres of landscaped gardens, offer a unique blend of comfort, relaxation and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club Hotel Nanyuki
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Hotel
Mount Safari Club Kenya
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing