We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous start to Kenya”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Nanyuki Town
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous start to Kenya”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We started off our Kenya safari here and had a lovely time! Traveled with another family 5 kids total (ages 7-12). Wonderful place for families! Visited the animal orphanage where the kids rode Speedy the turtle and fed monkeys. Riding horses to breakfast at the base of Mt Kenya was a highlight for everyone! A bit pricey but worth it. One person in our party didn't want to ride so they accommodated her and drove her to the spot. So much to do for the kids! They have adorable labs on the grounds that you are can take out for walk. I suggest passing on that no matter how much your kids beg. The dogs are really strong and can drag even an adult. One our our kids sprained an ankle during the walk because the dogs were so out of control. The staff was SUPER helpful and took care of her and provided her with crutches and care but I would suggest avoiding the dog walk.
Great service, loved the details of warming our beds with hot water bottles and started a fire in our fire place each night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liltravelmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review of the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club.
We really do appreciate your feedback, and we are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.
It is always wonderful to hear from our guests that the best part of everything was the service and our team - we pride ourselves on offering true Kenyan Hospitality.
I am delighted that you enjoyed our slopes breakfast by horseback, on your next visit I would also recommend a bush dinner beside the River Likii; guests reach the location by 4x4 and it truly an amazing experience in the bush– it is our mission to turn moments into memories for every single one of our guests during their stay with us.
I am sorry that Tusker and Grammy (our hotel Labradors) had been a too overpowering for your daughter; we have now put into place greater control as to handling and age restriction during their walks. Whilst the dogs are very friendly and non-aggressive, they can get over excited at times due to our unique location and ‘exciting’ scents of the other wild animals. My most sincere apologies once again for your daughter’s discomfort and the inconvenience.
Your kind words regarding our colleagues and hotel are greatly appreciated and will be most eagerly passed on.
We look forward to welcome you and your family back, once again, to Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club in the near future.
Kind Regards

Niall P. Cowan MIH
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    203
    62
    25
    12
See reviews for
277
238
17
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Fairmont Mt. Kenya Nanyuki is a beautiful, romantic, elegant, and classy resort Hotel at the slopes of Mount Kenya. It is serene and very beautiful. The lawns, the golf pads, the gardens, the grounds, staff, restaurants etc. It's worth the visit. The rooms are like homes - They are cottages. they have everything except the kitchen. Unless you wana sneak a pot on the fire place!! :-) I'd like to say more but the photo's will speak for them selves. If your luck you get to see the Mt. Peaks early in the morning. They have mountain trails. losta water bodies with a wide variety of flora + fauna. It's Awesome and Romantic. You also get to dine or share your weekend with very affluent people who prefer this Hotel for it's privacy. You can get there by Road, personal vehicles of hired ones or you can hire a helicopter. there is plenty landing base. Mt. Biking, golf, swimming, jogging, table tennis, birdwatching. horse riding .. etc are some sports available.

Down side:
1. They don't give free water at the table for Lunch or Dinner - you have to buy it for about $5.5 You can skip this and carry your own and drink in your cottage room or enjoy those free bottles in your room.
2. They dont wash your car as would be the case in many other lovely hotels I have visited. You have to pay for this service too.

Otherwise: pack up your generous bag - this place is very costly but worth it. You virtually have to spend on everything when there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeueAngy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for taking the time to share your valued feedback with regards to your stay.
Guest feedback is so important to our operation and it is always gratifying to know that we have exceeded the expectations of our valued guests.
Your kind comments regarding our team, activities and hotel are greatly appreciated and will be eagerly passed on.
Please take the time to enroll in our Fairmont Presidents Club before your next visit – this will allow us to offer you the highest level of personalized service with an array of benefits through the membership program.
We all look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club - thank you for allowing us to turn your moments into memories.
Kind Regards

Niall P. Cowan MIH
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had a great time, the staff are friendly, the nature trail, bird watching among other activities are exiting and the view is breathtaking!!

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend or spend a weekend here.

Room Tip: Highers floors make great views to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay at the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I think you summarized, essentially, what we try very hard to deliver every day - exceptional, memorable service which goes hand-in-hand with all of the wonderful facilities our hotel has to offer.
We look forward to welcome you both back, once again, to the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club in the near future.
Kind Regards

Niall P. Cowan MIH
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Right on the equator, which bisects the hotel and pool, the elevation of about 7000 ft makes the climate moderate. The grounds are beautiful and extensive. The resort started out as actor William Holdens private game retreat. The rooms are generous in size and have a wood fireplace they light if you want to take the chill off the night, The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. We went horseback riding and saw many species just from the hotel including a rare albino Zebra. The food and beverage are very good - up to all Fairmont standards despite the remote location.

Room Tip: I think they all face Mt Kenya but ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you so much for your valued review of the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, received on the 16th March 2014.
We really appreciate you taking the time to review our property, it is always gratifying to hear from our guests that they enjoyed the service & product - we pride ourselves on turning moments into memories for our guests.
We look forward to welcome you back, once again, to Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club in the very near future.
Kind Regards,

Niall P. Cowan MIH
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

If you want a get away with a fabulous view of Mountain Kenya, if you enjoy golfing, nature trails, and bird-watching, or just simply a quiet weekend, you will not be disappointed. Nice ambience and great standards as always, pamper yourself to a luxurious weekend or day out. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smwelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay at the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I think you summarized, essentially, what we try very hard to deliver every day - exceptional, memorable service which goes hand-in-hand with all of the wonderful facilities our hotel has to offer.
We look forward to welcome you both back, once again, to the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club in the near future.
Kind Regards

Niall P. Cowan MIH
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed two nights at the Safari Club in late February. The hotel is beautifully landscaped and maintained. Our room, which was in one of the standard cottages, had a comfortable sitting room area, a king-size bed, and a fantastic marble bathroom with shower.

While the staff were friendly, we found the service to be somewhat lacking. The first night, we requested a fire in our fireplace, and returned to find a barely smoldering piece of wood that never lit up. Despite our own efforts to get the fire going, we ended up with a smoky room and lots of torn newspaper. A bit more effort in making a pleasant fire would have been appreciated, especially since we left a generous tip for this specific purpose.

We also found the bar and restaurant service to be uneven at best and disorganized and very slow most of the time. Orders for drinks did not arrive until after our first course had been served on the first night, and they mixed up gin for vodka and provided a flat tonic water (which was eventually replaced on request). So on the second night, we decided to have a drink in the bar first. We did not fare much better in terms of wait times. In the dining room, at each meal, it was never clear who our main server was and who was simply there to clear dishes, or whatever. So we ended up asking any member of staff whose eye we could catch, and then hoping the message would be relayed to the appropriate person. It was frustrating. This was the case at each meal, and not just dinner.

We really enjoyed the pool, and the grounds are lovely. The horseback riding was a lot of fun, with the guides being very helpful and vigilant about our safety and comfort.

The animal orphanage should NOT be missed, especially if you have children with you.

We would stay here again, despite the service challenges in the dining room and bar.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for choosing the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club and for taking the time to compile your review of your stay.
We strive to ensure the every guest is provided with the very best quality and standards of service. The Food & Beverage leadership team and I are all very disappointed that we let you, and ourselves, down on this occasion. I'm very sorry to hear about the frustrating F&B service delays you describe in your review. I have met, and discussed your comments in great detail, with the Bar & Restaurant management team, and have reiterated our service standards and customer expectations. Your experiences are not indicative of the service promise we take pride in delivering to our guests every day.
Thank you also for your wonderful feedback regarding our facilities, activities and grounds.
I will most certainly pass on your comments to all of our team here and until we meet again, we look forward to welcoming you back once again.
.
Niall P. Cowan MIH
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

You've got to appreciate good service, and this hotel dishes it out in spades. Mary, Jane, Okoth, Fred, Faith, Francis, Hassan and Niall thank you for the good service.

The rooms have got a good view of the lawns and mountain. If you dont catch the peak during sunrise, the poolside is a good place to view it.
Cottages ideal for family and friends. Try out the Deck dining experience outside the cottages.

Plenty of activities. Mountain biking topped the list.

Psst: ahem avoid vacationing if there is wind of high level state funtions at the hotel:-)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review of the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club.
We really do appreciate your feedback, and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is always wonderful to hear from our guests that the best part of everything was the service and our team - we pride ourselves on offering true Kenyan Hospitality.
I work with pride alongside a very proud and engaged team, who delight in turning moments into memories for our guests – I am ecstatic that we succeeded in achieving our mission.
Thank you for your understanding and flexibility during your visit – I appreciate that the retreat coincided with your family vacation and the added security may have been somewhat daunting for you and your family. We take our guests privacy and security very seriously; thank you for your kind comprehension.
Your kind words regarding our colleagues and hotel are greatly appreciated and will be most eagerly passed on.
We look forward to welcome you and your wife back, once again, to Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club in the near future.
Kind Regards

Niall P. Cowan MIH
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
24.3 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
23.6 mi away
Lions Court Lodge
Lions Court Lodge
#16 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
13.0 mi away
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
#1 of 9 in Mount Kenya National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Serena Mountain Lodge
Serena Mountain Lodge
#2 of 9 in Mount Kenya National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
6.1 mi away
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
#2 of 14 in Nanyuki Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
26.1 mi away
Porini Rhino Camp
Porini Rhino Camp
#2 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club

Property: Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
Address: | Mount Kenya, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality 10400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Nanyuki Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With magnificent views of majestic Mount Kenya, the Fairmont Safari Club's 120 luxuriously appointed guest rooms, set in over 100 acres of landscaped gardens, offer a unique blend of comfort, relaxation and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club Hotel Nanyuki
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Hotel
Mount Safari Club Kenya
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing