We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most beautiful hotel in Kenya”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Nanyuki Town
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi
1 review
“The most beautiful hotel in Kenya”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is the most beautiful hotel in Kenya! The staff are so kind and warm and the location is perfect. It is peaceful and serene and gave my husband and I the perfect opportunity to rest and celebrate six months of marriage! I would definitely return and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a serene and beautiful holiday destination. They have a powerful telescope through which you are able to see the snow-capped peak of Mt. Kenya (the only place in Kenya where you get to see snow)

p.s. The bathrooms are beautiful, and the shower is excellent! The rooms get very cold at night though because of its proximity to Mt. Kenya and the very high elevation (7000 feet above sea level). The fire that they lit for us was very weak and died out quite quickly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Daisy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club.
We are thrilled to hear that you both enjoyed your time with us and were able to celebrate your six month anniversary with us – Congratulations!
Please take the time to enroll in our Fairmont Presidents Club before your next visit – this will allow us to offer you the highest level of personalized service with an array of benefits through the membership program.
I will of course share your feedback with the team – who I know will be delighted to hear your feedback.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club - thank you for allowing us to turn your moments into memories.
Kind Regards

Niall P. Cowan MIH
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    203
    62
    25
    12
See reviews for
277
238
17
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-avon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

An incredible place, the geographical location of the hotel is enough reason to visit the hotel alone. The hotel is both well managed and stylish. The Reception staff are friendly and efficient, and create and immediate welcoming "feel" to the establishment. The Interior is unique and is worth the time to explore, the grounds are well kept and are regularly visited by the local birdlife. Tusks Restaurant offers great views of Mt Kenya whilst enjoying an excellent Buffet Breakfast. The staff are friendly and very capable of ensuring all catering needs are met. Zebar is the only place to be introduced to Tuskers beer , although they offer a good selection of Scotch also. Sunday Brunch is an event it itself, watch out for the opportunistic Peacocks. The Dinner Bell, is a local tribal dance group, performing at on the lawn. the tribal dances change daily, trust me when your waiting for colleagues in the bar and the dancing starts, it is a bit of a suprise.
Located within the Hotel grounds is the Aninmal Orphanage which well worth a morning touring. The Rooms were laid out well but beware the local monkeys will enter uninvited and chance a rumage in your belongings, so close your patios when you leave your room.
Overall it was a memorable stay and I look forward to returning to the Safari Club in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club!
We are so happy that you chose the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, and thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback on Tripadvisor.
It is always wonderful to hear from our guests that the best part of everything was the service and our team - we pride ourselves on offering true Kenyan Hospitality.
Your kind words regarding our colleagues and hotel are greatly appreciated and will be eagerly passed on.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club - thank you for allowing us to turn your moments into memories.
Kind Regards

Niall P. Cowan MIH
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our "Trips" tour group stayed here for only one night during our Kenyan safari, and it just wasn't enough. We were upgraded to one of their wonderful bungalows, which had firesplaces, amazing beds, huge modern bathrooms, a sitting room and a little patio all your own. It is right next to the Stephanie Powers animal orphanage and sometimes a stray monkey would find its way to our roof... just priceless! We participated in their silly yet very fun Equator Ceremony and were treated to native dancers in their original costumes. We enjoyed their excellent breakfast and lunch buffets and savored each in settings that included a hedge maze, beautiful pool and wandering peacocks. My only regret is that we could not have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeighTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for taking the time to share your valued feedback with regards to your stay.
Guest feedback is so important to our operation and it is always gratifying to know that we have exceeded the expectations of our valued guests.
Your kind comments regarding our team, activities and hotel are greatly appreciated and will be eagerly passed on.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club - thank you for allowing us to turn your moments into memories.
Kind Regards

Niall P. Cowan MIH
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This charming property with its amazing views and beautiful gardens was let down by the service received from staff. The rooms were not great quality (these are the rooms situated outside of the main hotel) and the service levels of staff was poor with no attention to detail or sense of urgency.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is an exceptional property and relaxing escape. The service is extremely attentive and welcoming from beginning to end. I spent 5 days here basking in the landscape, exceptional meals, cozy in-room fireplace, and gloriously peaceful grounds. The scenery, nightly bonfire, and unique ambiance make it a true escape. While I worked during much of my visit, I found time to appreciate the wildlife refuge and soak in everything about the surroundings. My only two little gripes -- the gym closes very early, around 6pm; and one of the nights I was there SafariCom had a phenomenally loud party on the grounds, disturbing the peace and my sleep. However, I absolutely recommend this for those needing an escape and looking for a launching pad to hikes and safaris, or even business in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WWDC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I would go to this hotel alone or with company over and over again. I loved everything..waking up to breathtaking Mt.Kenya, sunrise, perfectly manicured lawns.... Its is glorious and heavenly. Talking of food - its amazing, a wide variety available - even for the health conscious. They have the best of the best products that are available in the Kenyan market. Loved the herbal lotions/hand liquid in the common bathrooms. One peculiar feature in the hotel is the availability of two adorable Labradors that are eagerly wait for guests to take them for walks at their leisure. As an animal lover this was a huge plus for me. Great companions while taking a walk in the vast grounds. Did I mention the peacocks - The beautiful birds are all over the place, freely mingling with guests trailing their gorgeous extended feathers. WOW! love it.

Room Tip: The Cottages closer to the hotel reception area are more easily accessible at night. Those looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Mt. Kenya is breathtaking and the resort is well positioned. The service is impeccable and a great place for a family vacation. We went for a long weekend and my kids keep asking when we will go back. The kids program during the long holiday was a life saver for me as I went with three kids aged 4,3 and 6 months. They have a nanny service that works very well and well priced. Lots and lots of activities for all. I cannot wait to make this a place I come with the kids at least once a year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Regina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall C, General Manager at Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you so much for your amazing review of the Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club!
We really do appreciate your feedback, and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is always wonderful to hear from our guests that the best part of everything was the service and our team - we pride ourselves on offering true Kenyan Hospitality.
I work with pride alongside a very proud and engaged team, who delight in turning moments into memories for our guests – I am ecstatic that we succeeded in achieving our mission.
Your kind words regarding our colleagues and hotel are greatly appreciated and will be most eagerly passed on.
We look forward to welcome you and your wife back, once again, to Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club in the near future.
Kind Regards

Niall P. Cowan MIH
GENERAL MANAGER

FAIRMONT MOUNT KENYA SAFARI CLUB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
24.3 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
23.6 mi away
Lions Court Lodge
Lions Court Lodge
#16 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
13.0 mi away
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
#1 of 9 in Mount Kenya National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Serena Mountain Lodge
Serena Mountain Lodge
#2 of 9 in Mount Kenya National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
6.1 mi away
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
#2 of 14 in Nanyuki Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
26.1 mi away
Porini Rhino Camp
Porini Rhino Camp
#2 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club

Property: Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
Address: | Mount Kenya, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality 10400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Nanyuki Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With magnificent views of majestic Mount Kenya, the Fairmont Safari Club's 120 luxuriously appointed guest rooms, set in over 100 acres of landscaped gardens, offer a unique blend of comfort, relaxation and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Jovago.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club Hotel Nanyuki
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Hotel
Mount Safari Club Kenya
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing