We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventure every day!”
Review of Suyian Soul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanyuki Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Suyian Soul
Reviewed 30 June 2013

When I arrived at Suyian Soul I felt like I'd been transported to a different world, one that I didn't want to leave. Dec 2012 was my 2nd time and I'm sure I will be back. The bandas are so comfortable and well thought out and built out of materials from the land. The food is amazing, so good and fresh. Everyday is different from visiting local communities to walking with the camels. Some mornings we started with a bit of yoga. And of course always finding animals and birds to watch and photograph. Anne and her team are so much fun to spend time with, I'm already ready to go back!

Room Tip: All the bandas are great, lots of privacy, lots of room great views of the salt lick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaviGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

I stayed at Suyian Soul for 5 nights and it wasn't enough to enjoy all it has to offer. The rooms are so comfortable, and private from each other. The staff are attentive and friendly, the food excellent, and plentiful, and the game drives interesting. We also got to see the cattle being dipped and branded, as well as all the wild game you could want. Al this in a very tranquil atmosphere. I will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Suyian Soul is, in every sense of the word, Paradise.
The serenity, beauty and tranquility is hard to describe. Breath taking landscapes, wildlife, stunning walks and game drives, and if you so wish you can also see the other side of the ranch with its beautiful cattle, sheep, bee keeping and camels. . At Suyian you quite literally have it all without ever being disturbed by other people or vehicles.
Anne Powys, owner, manageress and hostess of the lodge is an inspiration. She built this simple, extremely comfortable, homely eco lodge. Each room is a seperate private rondavel looking on to a spring used by animals for hundreds of years. Suyian blends into the environment and becomes one with its surroundings.
Anne makes you feel totally at home, will take you out on botany walks, offers yoga plus much more. I highly recommend looking up her website http://www.suyian.com which has all the information you could possibly want.
I have been to Suyian many many times and I continue to return when ever I can. It is definitely one of the most special places left in this world and together with Anne's exceptional hosting, amazingly good food and wonderful staff, I simply can not recommend it enough - especially if you love the more simple, down to earth bush experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique and totally private - some a few minutes walk from the main living area, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank himayahouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I have now been to Suiyan Soul three times since it opened and felt as if I was coming home even the first time. The cottages are totally private from each other, each very comfortable and in complete harmony with the surrounding environment. Suiyan Ranch has been extremely well managed for many years thus attracting many species of wildlife - including wild dogs and a growing large pride of lion - as well as being a working farm with great looking boran cattle, sheep, camels, bee hives producing Suiyan's renowned acacia honey, and the gardens and workshops necessary to run a thriving farm and wildlife conservancy. As a frequent traveler to East Africa, I can attest to the fact that Suiyan Soul is unique and special among many wonderful small lodges in Kenya!

Room Tip: They're all wonderful with amazing views - each different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Suyian Soul is the only place we have visited in Kenya (and we have visited a lot!) where you can see 4 of the Big Five, withiut encountering any other cars or hordes of people. The scenery is spectacular, the lodgings are exactly want you expect when getting off the beaten path....very comfortable and unique....think "pampered bandas". The hostess and her staff are just wonderful....they go out of their way to make you feel like a longtime friend. The games drives were excellent and so much more than just animal viewing. Anne, the owner and hostess, is an accomplished botanist and will eagerly educate you on the indigenous plants and herbal remedies. Samson, the driver/guide, has eyes like an eagle and can spot the elusive species of animals and birds without difficulty. There is no swimming pool, but if you feel the need for a dip, you may swim in the crystal clear water of the dam. Suyian has become our favorite go-to conservancy in Kenya.....planning trips 3 and 4 as I write this!

Room Tip: Banda #2 is our favorite....a bit of a hike from the main lounge, but it has wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Suyian has the traditional safari experiences awaiting. But add to that the owner and staffs knowledge and hospitality and unique offerings such as yoga with elephants nearby; botanical hikes; regular classes regarding natural and cultural history; and the privacy!!! No mini buses or huddled masses around the animals here! Treat yourself. Go to Suyian Soul!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: banda's 1,2 en 3 beste uitzicht
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wouter1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanyuki Town hotels
0 mi away
Ol-Tome Laikipia Camp
Ol-Tome Laikipia Camp
#22 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
3 reviews
42.5 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
0 mi away
Moof Africa Organic Hostel / Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.8 mi away
Sere Enkang House
Sere Enkang House
#5 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
19 reviews
0 mi away
Lions Court Lodge
Lions Court Lodge
#16 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suyian Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suyian Soul

Address: Suyian Ranch, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality 10400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Nanyuki Town
Also Known As:
Suyian Soul Kenya/Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing