We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The food is only one reason to visit.”

Morani's Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 22 Restaurants in Nanyuki Town
Price range: US$7 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The food is only one reason to visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

As a few other reviewers have written, the Morani Burger is excellent, but then so is the Fried Chicken. The Spiced Chicken Salad had some of the freshest and crunchiest vegetables we've had. The service was friendly and relaxed.
Even if the food wasn't as good as it is, you would still want to visit. The view of Mt. Kenya is brilliant and the plains behind the restaurant are teeming with wildlife. We had brunch at Morani's Restaurant on our last morning at Ol Pejeta, and so didn't have the time to go back for a relaxed drink but must do so the next time we visit the conservancy.
It just seems like that kind of a place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NirmalyaKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair M, Manager at Morani's Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a generous review of your visit to Morani's. We are very glad that you enjoyed the selection of dishes that you had - I will pass the compliments on to the kitchen team. We strive to source our food locally to keep it as fresh as possible - the beef for our burgers even comes from the Conservancy itself!

Thanks once again for your kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back here on your next visit to Ol Pejeta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Morani burger, please.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Service a little slow if it's busy, but decent drinks and a tasty burger in a really nice, remote location.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OdysseanTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair M, Manager at Morani's Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time share your experience at Morani's. Our Morani burger is a firm favourite of all who taste it! We agree with your sentiment that our location, with views of Ol Pejeta's plains, Mt. Kenya and the Aberdare range, is spectacular.

We apologise for the slightly slower service you received when you visited. The team at Morani's strives to provide excellent, personalised service at all times, and we regret that we fell below the high standards we set ourselves when you dined with us. I hope that we can exceed your expectations the next time you visit!

Thanks again for your generous review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Morani's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

While visiting ol pejeta a safari park outside nanyuki in kenya i had lunch at morani's restaurant. The staff were really friendly from the outset greeting me on arrival and helping me to find my table. The service was fast and efficient throughout. What added to this 5 star service was the extra touches the waiter looked to give. Whilst waiting for my food he pointed out a rhino in the distance and also answered my questions about the many birds playing around the grounds. The food was of real quality and was more than enough to satisfy my hunger. In terms of price i was pleasantly surprised by how reasonable it was. I've visted other restaurants in the area and paid 50% more. Overall the grounds set in an eyewateringly beautiful location, outstanding, personalised service and top notch food at very good prices all ensure a 5* rating from someone who has never bothered to rate before.

Helpful?
Thank Jude W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair M, Manager at Morani's Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Many thanks for your very generous review of Morani's, and also for taking the time to write your first review. We constantly strive to provide food and service to match our fantastic location, and we are delighted to hear that we did exactly this for you!

Our staff here are always keen to share their knowledge of the wildlife in and around our grounds, which we hope adds to the dining experience.

Once again, we are very grateful for such a kind review, and hope to see you back at Morani's soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great outing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

As someone that lives in Nanyuki, we tend to fall short of things to do at the weekend... but trips to Morani's in Ol Pejeta are certainly a treat! My boyfriend and I have been there a couple of times since it first opened... and have only seen it improve with age! Not only is it located in the park, so one can spend the morning out in the bush and game-viewing (a nice retreat from the town) but the food is delicious!! I am vegetarian and try to avoid wheat - and the chef went to extra lengths to provide my [scrumptious] chick-pea veggie burger with a gluten free bun! The presentation is also amazing. We always get a good glimpse of the blind rhino Baraka from the verandah... and who knows what other game might decide to pass by whilst we're having lunch! We also love the 'themed' days at the restaurant... like Easter and Valentines... Morani's is definitely our favourite place on these days as we know the effort and length they will go to, to make the day even more memorable!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair M, Manager at Morani's Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you so much for such a great review of Morani's. We are pleased to hear that we have improved with age - long may this continue! As you say, Morani's is the perfect spot for lunch while on a day's safari in Ol Pejeta - a fantastic getaway from the increasing hustle and bustle of Nanyuki, yet just a 20 minute drive down the road!

We are delighted to hear that the specially-made gluten free bun was a hit - I will pass on your compliments to the chef.

Thanks once again for taking the time to give such positive feedback from your visits to Morani's, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stopped here after visiting the Chimp Sanctuary and just loved the place. The setting is exquisite with great views of the Ol Pejeta Conservancy. They had a modest menu but the selection included several vegetarian and meat options. My husband had a burger, my son had the bruschetta and I had a delicious chickpea burger. We were all licking our lips after the meal. The staff was really lovely and cooed over our son, always a plus, for a proud mama. They are located right next to the Ol Pejeta Visitor's center, which is a perfect place to visit while you wait for the meal to be prepared. They also have a small gift store with a nice selection of curios. It's definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saf97b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair M, Manager at Morani's Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you very much for such a generous review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your meal with us - I will pass on your kind comments to our kitchen team, who are always so pleased to hear that their food goes down well!

Thank you once more for your feedback with regards to the setting. With over 40 bird species and many animal species observed from our grounds, we aim to continue the safari and wilderness experience even when not in the vehicle!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Morani's in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Morani's Restaurant also viewed

Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality
 
Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality
Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality
 
Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality
Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality
 

Been to Morani's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing